Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 08, 2016, 04:05:15 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: sorting units of text  (Read 10095 times)

me_7834539

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: sorting units of text
« Reply #25 on: July 05, 2012, 05:59:01 PM »
hello, thanks a lot. I will be installing it on a test machine on sunday. I don't like overwriting (resp. later reinstalling) the vanilla version, due to the compatiblity warnings. (I can't understand why this replaces AHK. they should make a separate installtion and define a separate extension, like ".ahkl" or so. But I may be missing s.th.)

me_7834539

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: sorting units of text
« Reply #26 on: July 06, 2012, 08:20:02 AM »

hello,

i did tests with

(a) the vanilla install
(b) the l version, unicode
(c) the l version, ansi

and two snippets of text which are different only due to line breaks before and after the text;
text start immediately after/before the "<<<"/">>>" delimiters.

(1)
>>>>>>>>


qqq   aldkjf

baa   aldfkjad

abb   aldjfaldfj

<<<<<<<<

(2)
>>>>>>>>>>>qqq   aldkjf

baa   aldfkjad

abb   aldjfaldfj<<<<<<<<


results, reproducible:

(a)(1) wrong sorting
(b)(1) wrong sorting
(c)(1) wrong sorting
(a)(2) wrong sorting
(b)(2) correct sorting
(c)(2) correct sorting

wrong sorting = first line wrongly stays on top, following lines are sorted correctly

editor used = notepad.

personally, I am fine with the script as it is, despite the minor inconvenience. perhaps it would be more efficient
to ask for help in the ahk forums, at this point, really, if you are curious what the problem is...  

For the record, i am using a (German) Sony Vaio X.

(re)installing ahk l version / vanilla version seemed, and was in fact, very easy and unproblematic, so i didnt wait for the test machine. :)

ps. i might not find time to reply/do more tests these days. thx for understanding.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,668
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: sorting units of text
« Reply #27 on: July 06, 2012, 08:55:56 AM »
Right on.  That does confirm my hunch that the AHK_L Unicode version would work properly.  Thanks very much for testing.  =]

personally, I am fine with the script as it is

If you're happy, I'm happy.   :D

me_7834539

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: sorting units of text
« Reply #28 on: July 06, 2012, 09:26:07 AM »
the L ansi version works properly, too. and both unicode and ansi version do not work properly in described case...
I'd like to ask an important question: Do you think it's likely that your script will (on autohotkey vanilla) produce even more problems, other than the first-line-sorting bug? Would you find it interesing if i re-posted my tests in the ahk forum? I would do so, if you think it's a good idea.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,668
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: sorting units of text
« Reply #29 on: July 06, 2012, 09:36:08 AM »
The script is super simple so I don't foresee any future issues.  It doesn't matter to me, but you're welcome to post it on the AHK forums.

me_7834539

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: sorting units of text
« Reply #30 on: July 06, 2012, 09:41:43 AM »
great!!

i posted the "bug" here
http://www.autohotke....php?f=1&t=88471

so, let's see if anyone knows the answer!