Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 31, 2014, 01:00:26 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the Practical Guide to DonationCoder.com Forum Search Features
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: format Trout StatusBar?  (Read 5488 times)
AEN007
Participant
*
Posts: 74


Imagination is more important than knowledge

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: June 16, 2012, 05:27:29 AM »

16June2012

Greetings.

How about users being able to set some Trout StatusBar formatting?
I would like to BOLD the TE, TR, CPU% & PL# sections and
set the font/background colors to lime on black
(like the/my SeekBar items ... for reference
 see one of my previous postings with upload images ...)

Also the final field with the pathed item playing is not wide enough (for my items).
Maybe the PL# section is too wide?
Also maybe users could be able to select how much (if any) of the path to show there?
... like maybe only the filename without any path or with just the last subdir name?
Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,119



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2012, 02:18:39 PM »

Font formatting of the status bar isn't going to happen.  However, your comment about the path section is something I can do work around.  Each status bar section can only hold around 127 characters so that's the limit you're running into.  I can try to make it so that all paths fit within 127 chars...something like this:

c:\really\long\path\...\parent\folder\song.mp3
Logged

skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,119



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2012, 03:37:25 PM »

http://www.donationcoder....16157.msg291085#msg291085
Logged

AEN007
Participant
*
Posts: 74


Imagination is more important than knowledge

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2012, 12:42:33 PM »

17June2012

Greetings ...

well I hope you will reserve some space in the back of your mind to consider some way(s)
to make the StatusBar TE, TR, CPU% & PL# sections more readable.
Simply giving an option to BOLD them might be easy/enough ...
foobar (of which you are a fan) allows various formatting of the StatusBar ...
as I'm sure you know.
foobar also allows hiding buttons (& menus ...)
My opinion is still that those Trout playback buttons eat up valuable
screen real estate that could be put to better use - like for the SeekBar display ...

Putting $time_t and/or $time_e in the SeekBar ...
... is redundant;
... requires extra CPU usage (20-30 "basis points" on my MultiMedia XP PII);
... causes the seekbar display to flash every second with each token update;

For the last few years I have been running my MM XP PII in 16bit
(instead of 24bit) color because of the reduced CPU usage when running MM apps.
I have made some config changes to the XP install on my MM PII
and find that it can now handle 24bit color - except that CPU usage
for Trout (with $time_t and/or $time_e) & SpecLab runs around 90% ...
Trout&SpecLab without $time_t and $time_e runs around 60% ...
as does foobar&SpecLab ... even with the foobar Peak Meter also running.

What is the diff between the foobar VU & Peak meter?

What about some kind of fix for the Trout local hotkey bugs/problems?
Logged
AEN007
Participant
*
Posts: 74


Imagination is more important than knowledge

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2012, 01:56:07 PM »

12June2012

Greetings.

I just "installed" Trout 1.0663 (portable) but
do not see any change in the StatusBar Path section.
That section still displays the full path from left to right,
which means I see only the partial full path with no filename ...
Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,119



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2012, 02:01:19 PM »

Screenshot, please?  Also, which OS are you using?
Logged

AEN007
Participant
*
Posts: 74


Imagination is more important than knowledge

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2012, 06:59:43 PM »

18June2012

OK ... well, I now see a difference now that I have tested a long enough path;
however, I still see only a partial filename (with a partial path).
My point was/is that the filename without any path or with just the last subdir name
is more important (to me (alone?) or to everyone in general?) than the drive and/or toplevel dirs.
A partial path & partial filename gives rather limited info ... less than a full filename alone ...
How about c:\ ...\folder\song.mp3?

Why is is the PL# section so/too wide?
Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,119



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: June 17, 2012, 07:21:13 PM »

I still see only a partial filename

I'm using the PathCompactPathEx API method for this so you should always see the full filename (unless the filename is over 64 characters).

Why is is the PL# section so/too wide?

It's that wide so it can handle two six-digit numbers and the slash e.g. 888888/888888
Logged

AEN007
Participant
*
Posts: 74


Imagination is more important than knowledge

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: June 18, 2012, 09:27:06 AM »

18June2012

Well, I am not seeing the full filename of Da=19651103a06-EMRain.mp3
...
I am loading "relative path" m3u files - if that makes any difference ...
except for maybe the drive and the final directory name,
none of the path seems worth showing/seeing ...
seems to me it would be best to allocate most of the 127 chars to the filename ...
« Last Edit: June 18, 2012, 09:40:33 AM by AEN007 » Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,119



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2012, 09:45:14 AM »

Which OS are you using?  Also, that screenshot has been reduced in size making it very hard to see the path at the bottom.
Logged

AEN007
Participant
*
Posts: 74


Imagination is more important than knowledge

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: June 18, 2012, 10:19:29 AM »

Why is is the PL# section so/too wide?
It's that wide so it can handle two six-digit numbers and the slash e.g. 888888/888888
how often does anyone load more than 999 items into Trout? I never do ...
Which OS are you using?
... see previous post(s) ...
Also, that screenshot has been reduced in size making it very hard to see the path at the bottom.
... well zooming with an image viewer/editor makes it clearer ...
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,711



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: June 18, 2012, 10:46:01 AM »

Which OS are you using?
... see previous post(s) ...

[helpful mode on]
I believe this refers to the OS, which I suppose is XP?
on my MultiMedia XP PII
[helpful mode off]


Also, that screenshot has been reduced in size making it very hard to see the path at the bottom.
... well zooming with an image viewer/editor makes it clearer ...
Actually, no it doesn't:
Logged

skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,119



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: June 18, 2012, 11:13:40 AM »

often does anyone load more than 999 items into Trout? I never do ...

You're not everyone.  The status bar isn't changing.

... well zooming with an image viewer/editor makes it clearer ...

Give me some credit here.  I did try to enlarge it but, as jgpaiva shows, it doesn't help much.

Which Service Pack of XP are you using on that computer?  My development computer is running XPSP3 and the path shortening works fine.
Logged

AEN007
Participant
*
Posts: 74


Imagination is more important than knowledge

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: June 18, 2012, 12:05:19 PM »

One can see in the enlarged image that the filename is truncated but the path is not.
I am running XPProSP3.

I make suggestions that would/could improve Trout.
You seem to be more interested in being the boss ...
No matter ... at one time Trout was the first/only audio option
I was able to make work on my PII XP MM laptop ...
but now (as I have previously posted elsewhere) I have multiple MM options ...
Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,119



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: June 18, 2012, 12:20:31 PM »

One can see in the enlarged image that the filename is truncated but the path is not.

Are you positive you're using the latest Trout?  Here's what I see when setting up a long path test folder and your filename:


Note that backslashes show up as Yen symbols on my setup.
 
I make suggestions that would/could improve Trout.
You seem to be more interested in being the boss ...

It's not about me being the boss.  It's about me striking a balance between adding code that is useful for a majority of people and code that is not.  It's also about a balance between the time and energy I would have to invest into writing that code.  Please realise that I have a regular job and family and that I do this in my spare time at a cost of nothing to you.

No matter ... at one time Trout was the first/only audio option
I was able to make work on my PII XP MM laptop ...
but now (as I have previously posted elsewhere) I have multiple MM options ...

If one of those other options suits your needs better than what Trout can currently do, that's great to hear.   No pun intended.  smiley
Logged

AEN007
Participant
*
Posts: 74


Imagination is more important than knowledge

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: June 18, 2012, 01:38:38 PM »

Are you positive you're using the latest Trout?
... No pun intended.
1.0663. what pun?

I suppose that maybe the problem is that I do not have Trout maximized,
so maybe that "field" could/should be right justified?

I really don't even need the info from StatusBar Path field at all.
I just initially mentioned this issue, because I noticed (long ago),
that all I could (usually ever) see in that field was a partial path and thought that ...
... the filename without any path or with just the last subdir name ... would look better ...
How about %drive%\ ...\folder\song.mp3?
I "see"/find no value in any of the intermediate filepaths ...
and presume I am not (always) the only one who would have such a thought ...

I have some #Persistent AHK scripts -
one of them manages the laptop(s) when MM apps are running.
For the fun of it I'll trying using StatusBarGetText and then maybe SplashTextOn
to make the TE/TR values visible when I do not have my face right up in front of the laptop.
Logged
AEN007
Participant
*
Posts: 74


Imagination is more important than knowledge

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: June 18, 2012, 02:45:17 PM »

... and here is how it looks in its 1st iteration ...
(1st time I've ever used the AHk "Progress" command ...)
Logged
Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,241



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: June 18, 2012, 03:00:33 PM »

... and here is how it looks in its 1st iteration ...
(1st time I've ever used the AHk "Progress" command ...)
Please attach any image to the forum using the forum posting tools, available after pressing the Preview button at the bottom of the Quick Reply area, or just press the Reply button at the bottom of the last message. It will result in a readable image, (when using 'inline thumb attachment' from the 'Link Inline Image' combo) instead of a still unreadable image, in an untrusted (by my browser) external domain.

And while you're at it, please create any screenshots in png format, and not crappy, obviously heavily compressed jpg. Our friend mouser's ScreenShotCaptor is just the tool for that.

TIA.
Logged

AEN007
Participant
*
Posts: 74


Imagination is more important than knowledge

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: June 18, 2012, 03:17:06 PM »

The post I made suited my purposes, and
I will continue to make posts as it suits me ...
Logged
Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,241



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: June 18, 2012, 03:41:56 PM »

I will continue to make posts as it suits me ...
Oh, you can ofcourse, but next to no-one will be able to help you because your screenshots are so blurred, they're useless.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.044s | Server load: 0.06 ]