Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 24, 2014, 01:49:34 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Learn about the DonationCoder.com microdonation system (DonationCredits).
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Dual boot FreeDOS with WinXP already installed !  (Read 2858 times)
hulkbuster
Participant
*
Posts: 194


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: June 04, 2012, 04:28:10 AM »

Hello folks ,
          i already have WinXP installed and i want to install Freedos in my second partition or logical drive. I know it has to be FAT32 formatted and only would the setup would proceed .
But what, i would like to know is: would i need to edit the bootini file in win XP .

Any suggestion is greatly accepted.
Logged

Autorun Virus Remover.V.2.3 / Default Win7 Firewall / Shadow Defender.V.1.2 / Some Sense
Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,134



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2012, 04:38:48 AM »

The FreeDos Wiki pagew does give a few hints, and yes, you'd have to edit boot.ini
Logged

hulkbuster
Participant
*
Posts: 194


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2012, 08:42:48 AM »

I just want to be on a fast track : going through all those manuals just to get what i want is a tedious work considering i am messaging from a mobile.
What if i edit the boot.ini file in the begining and proceed to make a secondary partition and then i install it.
I believe installing free dos would not write a seperate MBR since its pretty much like dos requiring only MSDOS.SYS or some files.
Would that work. . . . . 
Logged

Autorun Virus Remover.V.2.3 / Default Win7 Firewall / Shadow Defender.V.1.2 / Some Sense
40hz
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 9,872



A'Tuin

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2012, 09:26:44 AM »

I just want to be on a fast track : going through all those manuals just to get what i want is a tedious work considering i am messaging from a mobile.

Just to "fast track"  undecided your request - and assuming you know all the other things you should understand before you dither with your BOOT.INI - this is what the link Ath provided you with has to say about it:

Quote
Technical details
Booting


FreeDOS can be booted from a hard drive, live CD, USB flash drive or floppy disk. It can also be run using virtualization software like Virtual PC and VirtualBox or emulation software like Bochs and QEMU.

To use the Windows Boot Menu the following line can be added to 2K/XP's C:\BOOT.INI:

C:\FDOSBOOT.BIN="FreeDOS"



To boot using GRUB something similar to the following can be added to menu.lst:

title FreeDOS           # Anything you want
root hd(x,y)            # x = device and y = partition on which FreeDOS resides
chainloader /kernel.sys # Boots FreeDOS's bootloader



Luck!  smiley Thmbsup
« Last Edit: June 04, 2012, 09:33:43 AM by 40hz » Logged

Don't you see? It's turtles all the way down!
hulkbuster
Participant
*
Posts: 194


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2012, 07:22:33 PM »

thank you for your advice :i wasn't able to get to that link since i am messaging from my mobile.
And its kind of limited in its function.
And i an not near my computer so i cant see for myself :  I will message you again to see what happens . . . .
Thank you for your advice. smiley
Logged

Autorun Virus Remover.V.2.3 / Default Win7 Firewall / Shadow Defender.V.1.2 / Some Sense
hulkbuster
Participant
*
Posts: 194


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2012, 05:48:57 AM »


So i took the default bootini and gave a new entry, would that be enough to boot to FreeDos 1.0, i would install it in 2'nd partition.

[copy or print]
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="FreeDOS" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect

i don't think FreeDos would make a separate mbr.

Can anyone tell me this is right.

Right
Logged

Autorun Virus Remover.V.2.3 / Default Win7 Firewall / Shadow Defender.V.1.2 / Some Sense
hulkbuster
Participant
*
Posts: 194


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2012, 11:00:50 AM »

I just want to be on a fast track : going through all those manuals just to get what i want is a tedious work considering i am messaging from a mobile.

Just to "fast track"  undecided your request - and assuming you know all the other things you should understand before you dither with your BOOT.INI - this is what the link Ath provided you with has to say about it:

Quote
Technical details
Booting


FreeDOS can be booted from a hard drive, live CD, USB flash drive or floppy disk. It can also be run using virtualization software like Virtual PC and VirtualBox or emulation software like Bochs and QEMU.

To use the Windows Boot Menu the following line can be added to 2K/XP's C:\BOOT.INI:

C:\FDOSBOOT.BIN="FreeDOS"



To boot using GRUB something similar to the following can be added to menu.lst:

title FreeDOS           # Anything you want
root hd(x,y)            # x = device and y = partition on which FreeDOS resides
chainloader /kernel.sys # Boots FreeDOS's bootloader



Luck!  smiley Thmbsup


Hey man can you give me a heads up: would that meht
Logged

Autorun Virus Remover.V.2.3 / Default Win7 Firewall / Shadow Defender.V.1.2 / Some Sense
hulkbuster
Participant
*
Posts: 194


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: June 13, 2012, 12:59:48 PM »

I think i will leave this idea of Installing FreeDos , i do not have any work here, i read somewhere instsalling MS DOS and FreeDos were hard wired to stay in c:\ and i do not want to destroy the table just to install 300 MB OS, instead just be happy with what you have.

Anyways thanks:
Logged

Autorun Virus Remover.V.2.3 / Default Win7 Firewall / Shadow Defender.V.1.2 / Some Sense
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.03s | Server load: 0.11 ]