Website Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 31, 2015, 03:53:53 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Include F13-F15 and/or CAPSLOCK  (Read 2508 times)

Fannon

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Include F13-F15 and/or CAPSLOCK
« on: June 03, 2012, 02:58:13 AM »
Hey there,

I've just discovered FARR and am absolutely amazed. Have been looking for something like that for years - found Executor - which is not bad. But this one looks really promising!

If you like I can give you some Feedback of Features I heavily used and are missing here.


For example, I'm using CAPSLOCK to trigger the program. To do that I've disabled/remapped the key to F15.
This is great, because CAPSLOCK does more harm than good IMHO and it's very reachable - so I prefer to use it with a Launcher.

Greets,
Simon

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,933
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Include F13-F15 and/or CAPSLOCK
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2012, 03:07:02 AM »
Hi simon, welcome to the site and thanks for the nice words!

You are absolutely right that I need to add the higher function keys.. i've actually been thinking about adding code to let farr use capslock key also, since i agree 100% that it's a useless key on the keyboard, so its a nice idea to have an option for FARR to use it.  I'll move it up higher on my todo list.

Check out the FARR videos to learn about more of the strange functions hidden in FARR.


Fannon

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Include F13-F15 and/or CAPSLOCK
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2012, 06:18:08 AM »
Thanks! Great, I'm looking forward to that!

(Still trying FARR out)

Fannon

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Include F13-F15 and/or CAPSLOCK
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2012, 08:05:41 AM »
Ok, FARR is now my default Launcher! Works great for me!

Btw. I'm using SharpKeys to reassign my Capslock:
http://www.randyrant...12/sharpkeys_35.html

I used to have an alias for every program and directory that I'm using. Now I've made a Directory with all the Shortcuts and let FARR scan this. Sometimes searching takes a little bit. Would it be faster/better to have a lot of aliases here too?

Greets,
Simon

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,933
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Include F13-F15 and/or CAPSLOCK
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2012, 09:02:09 AM »
Glad to hear you are liking it!

Making a shortcut of directories is a good idea; make sure it is at the top of the Search Directories list.
Also for max speed, go to General Options tab and choose "Stay in Memory Longer" for the Inactive Memory use settings.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,933
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Include F13-F15 and/or CAPSLOCK
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2012, 10:28:14 AM »
Fannon -- thanks for the tip about using SharpKeys to reassign Capslock; i've added a tip about that in the FARR help file for people who want to use CapsLock -- it seems like a good choice especially for laptop users.