Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 01, 2014, 06:26:46 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2012! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: IDEA: move small dialog windows to cursor position  (Read 74191 times)
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #150 on: January 23, 2007, 04:13:00 PM »

i wondered if it was the 'don't move the window if it's already under the mouse' feature but it's not that.

i'm wondering if it's something to do with the list of name that i had in the 'move these windows' box. when there is only 'Save As' in the list of windows to move it appears to work okay. as soon as others are added to the list then it becomes a bit random.

i really haven't tested it enough yet to spot what's happening so when i say it works when there is only 'Save As' in the 'move this window' section then i could well be very wrong.

i shall try changing a few rules for size matching and see what happens.

(i'm about ready to fetch my big lump hammer out of the shed in a minute and smash the computer up into little pieces - it's being naughty again and i really have about lost my patience with it. i'm trying to think of what life i can live without ever having to turn a computer on again.)
Logged
ayryq
Participant
*
Posts: 41

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #151 on: April 13, 2009, 02:27:04 PM »

Is it possible to exclude the window that pops up when I press alt-tab (in Vista)? Hotkeys don't seem to be able to catch it.

Thanks,
Eric
Logged
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #152 on: April 13, 2009, 02:53:26 PM »

Is it possible to exclude the window that pops up when I press alt-tab (in Vista)? Hotkeys don't seem to be able to catch it.

Thanks,
Eric

i had the same problem. i don't think there is a solution other than using a different alt-tab program.

i'm using TaskSwitchXP http://www.ntwind.com/software/taskswitchxp.html so the standard alt-tab window nolonger appears. also, i think the standard vista alt-tab box is very annoying - it's very difficult to differentiate the icons and thumbnails.

if you do use TaskSwitchXP, you'll probably have to get the settings just right to make the most of it. if so, just ask and i'll go through the settings i'm using.

edit:
i probably should post my setting for dialogmove too. i don't think the default rules are quite right for the most enjoyable use.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2009, 02:55:56 PM by nudone » Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,477



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #153 on: April 13, 2009, 04:26:41 PM »

for those of us not in the know,
could you describe briefly - or link to a description of what this programme does? (& how it does it?)

JG has no home page for his apps but I know he's a busy man too... smiley
Logged

Tom
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,088



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #154 on: April 13, 2009, 09:07:36 PM »

for those of us not in the know,
could you describe briefly - or link to a description of what this programme does? (& how it does it?)

you can check out the link in jgpaiva's sig, which leads to this page and also here's the about box which also might help explaining about this program.

Logged

wreckedcarzz
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,620



Happy wolfie ^_^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #155 on: April 13, 2009, 10:57:12 PM »

Somewhat off-topic:

In the about box (above), there should not be a comma in the first sentence. Also, the word "customizable" is spelled "costumizable," the comma there should be a semicolon (";"), "informations" needs to drop the "s," the last "it's" should be "its," and there should be a "the" after "at" and before "donationcoder.com"

Fixed version:

I'm picky about that kind of stuff, so I thought I'd point it out... tongue

</offtopic>
Logged

New website! With a fancy domain name and everything! *gasp*
http://www.wreckedcarzz.com/
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,088



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #156 on: April 13, 2009, 11:12:12 PM »

i believe jgpaiva is aware of the omissions and what-not but he seems mighty busy nowadays. it must be the finals at school.
Logged

nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #157 on: April 14, 2009, 02:36:08 AM »

for those of us not in the know,
could you describe briefly - or link to a description of what this programme does? (& how it does it?)

JG has no home page for his apps but I know he's a busy man too... smiley

i'll try and get a screencast done of this program as i think it's undervalued. honestly, one day all operating systems will use this same dialogmove method - unless they're using a small screen.
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,477



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #158 on: April 14, 2009, 03:30:10 AM »

thanks - I guess the name says it all anyway - I'll try it out!
Logged

Tom
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,088



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #159 on: April 14, 2009, 07:20:13 AM »

i'll try and get a screencast done of this program as i think it's undervalued. honestly, one day all operating systems will use this same dialogmove method - unless they're using a small screen.

screencast is a great way to promote the program and create awareness of its usage.. thumbs up
Logged

nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #160 on: April 14, 2009, 12:15:19 PM »

i've been looking at what would best demonstrate 'dialogmove' when recorded in a screencast - and now i'm wondering if i'm losing my mind.

i thought i'd turn dialogmove off and record how things are without it, which would then make a good comparison with a second recording with dialogmove enabled; a before and after type of thing. the problem is, i can only find one regular dialog window that gets moved by dialogmove - all the others i thought were being moved by the util are actually just moved by vista by default: things like save and open dialog windows.

there are occasions when vista doesn't move the dialog; which dialogmove must then be catching - otherwise i would have noticed this non moving behaviour sooner. when i say vista, i mean the programs i'm using really.

now that i've looked at what i'm doing it seems that there are very few dialog boxes in vista that are annoying enough to need regularly moving. so far i can only find the 'do you want to empy the recycle bin' dialog. vista just doesn't seem to throw up many small dialog boxes.

so, what i'm trying to say is, until i can find more dialogs that need moving i can't justify doing the screencast. i'm even doubting the use of dialogmove now. i can't understand it. there must have been lots more annoying little dialogs in xp - or maybe the save/open dialogs didn't behave as well as they do in vista. maybe it was just the programs i was using back then on xp.

i shall investigate and make a list of annoying dialog windows that popup in vista over the next few days.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2009, 12:19:27 PM by nudone » Logged
AndyM
Charter Member
***
Posts: 616


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #161 on: April 14, 2009, 12:32:00 PM »

I couldn't live without DialogMove (using XP SP3).

I started using DialogMove just before or just after I upgraded to SP2, and before that none of the dialogs moved.  The best I could do was use the XP setting to move the cursor to the dialog box, an inferior approach.

I didn't know Vista duplicates some of the functionality of DialogMove, but using XP I find DialogMove essential for convenience.
Logged
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #162 on: April 14, 2009, 01:06:50 PM »

excellent. i'm glad it's not just me that appeciates the benefits of dialogmove.

as for vista. it's more a case of when using something like notepad the open/save dialog windows do try to open up close to where you want them, i.e. near the 'file' menu. it definitely doesn't do it correctly everytime - sometimes it just remembers the position of the dialog when it last appeared - which could be at the opposite side of the screen. meaing 'dialogmove' would have corrected it if it was enabled.

i'm compiling my list anyway. i've got four annoying dialog boxes on it so far. the quest continues.
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,477



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #163 on: April 14, 2009, 05:58:54 PM »

well, it's certainly useful for xp
Logged

Tom
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,477



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #164 on: April 15, 2009, 07:15:40 AM »

a word of warning to anyone trying it out for the first time - it has hotkeys on by default -
so it steals the F8 through to F11 keys from all apps
Logged

Tom
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #165 on: April 15, 2009, 08:00:28 AM »

good point, tomos. i always switch the hotkeys to include the winkey.

maybe a few of us can list what we think is worth mentioning to newcomers of dialogmove and i'll try to include them in the screencast(s).

i currently have about nine annoying dialog windows in my list that pop up on my vista system, a few more and i'll make the screencast.

UAC in vista also seems to prevent dialogmove from saving changes made in the options panel - i have a work around for that (i believe without disabling UAC) so i'll include that in the screencast too.
Logged
AndyM
Charter Member
***
Posts: 616


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #166 on: April 15, 2009, 10:25:01 AM »

I disable the hotkeys and add the occasional dialog box manually.

Once or twice I've used the hotkeys when I knew I'd have a number dialog boxes to add.
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,477



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #167 on: April 15, 2009, 03:48:12 PM »

more starting up stuff smiley

how do I exclude a particular popup window or is that possible?
it's from Filehamster -
it popups a notification that it's making a revision and I dont want it going to where the mouse is

Would it be one of the shortcut options:
> MakeNotDetectable
> MakeNotDetectableTitle

thanks for any help Wink

Logged

Tom
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #168 on: April 15, 2009, 04:06:23 PM »

is that a suggestion for the screencast or are you stuck with that problem, tomos?

if you are stuck, then yes, you'd try one of the shortuts - though, i can't remember now if some windows just won't behave.
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,477



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #169 on: April 16, 2009, 09:34:14 AM »

Well I enabled the shortcuts and clicked the one for
> MakeNotDetectableTitle
when the popup window was visible (& presumably had focus) and it's remained in it's corner since (good window!)

Re changing the shortcuts - it's difficult to know what works without doing a big experiment - I mean to say:-
I dont know how to type in e.g. Control key or Windows key - do you think should I use the Autohotkey shorthand for the different keys ?

thanks!
Logged

Tom
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #170 on: April 16, 2009, 10:02:31 AM »

Well I enabled the shortcuts and clicked the one for
> MakeNotDetectableTitle
when the popup window was visible (& presumably had focus) and it's remained in it's corner since (good window!)
that is the correct procedure. if that doesn't work - because the title isn't recognised you can then try just MakeNotDetectble (without title).

the shortcuts for the hotkeys are the same as autohotkey's so:

# is winkey
! is alt
+ is shift
^ is control

eg. you want to use the winkey plus F11 to initiate MakeNotDetecableTitle, so you put the following into the dialogmove options:

#F11

or if you prefer...

Logged
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #171 on: April 28, 2009, 03:29:05 AM »

i'm about ready to make the screencast. anyone want to add anything that they think i should mention.

i notice that the .exe version of dialogmove gets picked out as a virus (false positivie autohotkey again), but it looks like the script version isn't detected. has anyone had issues with this - i could recomment do use the script version in the screencast.
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,477



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #172 on: April 28, 2009, 03:46:50 AM »

i'm about ready to make the screencast. anyone want to add anything that they think i should mention.
no actually  smiley
I just wanted to say that I've been using it since (the script version), using AXEM to start it with windows along with a few other scripts - no problems, happy user thumbs up
Logged

Tom
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #173 on: April 28, 2009, 05:36:27 AM »

screencast postponed again. the dialogmove icon isn't appearing in my system tray when i run the .exe version - well, sometimes it appears and sometimes it doesn't (it isn't hidden).

maybe i'll just have to go back to using the script version.
Logged
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #174 on: April 28, 2009, 06:01:45 AM »

is there a way of running AXEM silently?

it looks like i can run AXEM as admin (on vista) and then DialogMove will be able to work properly with UAC enabled.

(i can't run the script directly with admin privileges - only appears to work with .exe files.)
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.048s | Server load: 0.17 ]