Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 03, 2015, 06:31:21 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: diagnostic tool  (Read 1534 times)

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
diagnostic tool
« on: July 29, 2014, 05:55:33 AM »
hello!

I play an online game and I get extreme lag. I know for sure that there isn't a network problem or my hardware being weak or something. So I assume there is a software conflict, like some software (antivirus? backup? anything else?) access the files of the game and causes this problem.

How can I find it, instead of by trial and error, ie. disabling software and testing?

Is there a tool that will list all the processes that access particular files or a particular folder?

any other idea?

thanks! 

eleman

  • Spam Killer
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 342
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: diagnostic tool
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2014, 06:03:50 AM »
hello!

I play an online game and I get extreme lag. I know for sure that there isn't a network problem or my hardware being weak or something. So I assume there is a software conflict, like some software (antivirus? backup? anything else?) access the files of the game and causes this problem.

How can I find it, instead of by trial and error, ie. disabling software and testing?

Is there a tool that will list all the processes that access particular files or a particular folder?

any other idea?

thanks! 

Yeah, that happens when I download too much porn while playing online games. :)

4wd

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,975
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: diagnostic tool
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2014, 06:15:11 AM »
It always helps to mention what OS you're talking about ...

Resource Monitor, (7 onwards), will show what processes are using what resources.

For XP onwards, Process Monitor from SysInternals, (Microsoft).

40hz

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 11,530
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: diagnostic tool
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2014, 06:25:39 AM »
There's tons of software that will list processes and show CPU/RAM utilization for them.

But that won't identify a conflict, or a process causing a "lag" in another process.

About the only thing that will identify it (if that's really what the problem is) is going through a tedious process of elimination using msconfig. The procedure is discussed here if you don't already know how to do it.

Luck! :Thmbsup:



skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: diagnostic tool
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2014, 09:05:20 AM »
I know for sure that there isn't a network problem or my hardware being weak or something.

How do you know this?  What steps or tests have you taken to eliminate these two things?

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,197
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: diagnostic tool
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2014, 09:53:45 AM »
If you are running AV while playing the game that would be the first application I turn off in the process of elimination.  If that's it then all you have to do is figure out an alternative method to protect your system while playing(perhaps something like ToolWiz TimeFreeze, assuming it doesn't have a performance problem.. the only way to know is try it.)

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: diagnostic tool
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2014, 02:17:28 PM »
I know for sure that there isn't a network problem or my hardware being weak or something.

How do you know this?  What steps or tests have you taken to eliminate these two things?

because the same problem happens even when I connect via different networks
and my hardware is well above the required specs

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: diagnostic tool
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2014, 03:36:35 PM »
because the same problem happens even when I connect via different networks

Assuming this is network-based lag, this doesn't rule out much.  Have you done traceroutes to the server(s) in question?  Any large latency jumps along the hops?

and my hardware is well above the required specs

So, the game runs fine by itself (or in a single-player mode)?