Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 04, 2015, 12:50:22 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Launch farr  (Read 3980 times)

xpi3000

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Launch farr
« on: April 19, 2012, 11:11:30 AM »
That possibly is very simple, how to open farr (already started with windows) from a button and have it focused for text input?
Currently i do simply start farr with -show, but i always have to click on farr first in order to type in my search query.

And how to i make a button to open the LBC config dialog? I tried by using -config as argument, but that seems to open and close the dialog.
Thanks.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2012, 11:16:39 AM by xpi3000 »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,012
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Launch farr
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2012, 11:18:17 AM »
Quote
Currently i do simply start farr with -show, but i always have to click on farr first in order to type in my search query.

That sounds like a bug -- i'm not sure why you should have to click on it to start typing -- sounds like possibly an oversight on my part.
Does it have the same behavior no matter how you launch it from a dos box or is it only when you launch it from LBC that it does not get focus?

xpi3000

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Launch farr
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2012, 11:28:16 AM »
the latter, happens only when launching from LBC.

xpi3000

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Launch farr
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2012, 11:34:14 AM »
i assigned hotkey ^{F12} in farr for showing, so when using the new sendkey feature in LBC, then it is working as expected.

xpi3000

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Launch farr
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2012, 11:39:12 AM »
And how to i make a button to open the LBC config dialog? I tried by using -config as argument, but that seems to open and close the dialog.

i assigned as global hotkey ^{NUMPAD*} (control *) and now use a sendkey button with ^{NUMPAD*}  :)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,012
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Launch farr
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2012, 11:41:06 AM »
Great to see you making use of the new sendkeys function in LBC! Makes me happy I added it.

I will still check into the problem when launching the commandline version via LBC and it losing focus.  What I suspect is that LBC is trying to change focus to the newly launched program, but since it exists after triggering the existing running FARR, you get the result of no window having focus.

xpi3000

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Launch farr
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2012, 11:50:41 AM »
Great to see you making use of the new sendkeys function in LBC! Makes me happy I added it.

I will still check into the problem when launching the commandline version via LBC and it losing focus.  What I suspect is that LBC is trying to change focus to the newly launched program, but since it exists after triggering the existing running FARR, you get the result of no window having focus.

i really enjoy your fast support!
so you are closing the running instance of farr when -show is involved? why that? - misread  8)

One request, could you make the special key instructions textarea autosize?
« Last Edit: April 19, 2012, 11:56:06 AM by xpi3000 »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,012
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Launch farr
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2012, 12:01:53 PM »
Quote
One request, could you make the special key instructions textarea autosize?
oops, yes will do.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,012
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Launch farr
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2012, 04:20:52 PM »
re-download and you should have the autosize fix.

xpi3000

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2012
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Launch farr
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2012, 04:23:31 PM »
 :-*