Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 21, 2014, 04:42:48 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Your Support Funds this Site: View the Supporter Yearbook.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Error message when i restart my pc  (Read 1936 times)
hulkbuster
Participant
*
Posts: 210


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: April 19, 2012, 12:03:34 PM »

Hello folks, i am getting an error when i restart my pc i.e., ?8?^ Program not found. Skipping autocheck.
       
          I know when i had used DiskKeeper lite and i used it couple of times, and after i had uninstalled and then when i restarted i have been receiving these messages, i don't know what to make of it.
                 Is their any way to remove this error messages from my PC................



Many thanks......
Logged

Autorun Virus Remover.V.2.3 / Default Win7 Firewall / Shadow Defender.V.1.2 / Some Sense
Stephen66515
Animated Giffer in Chief
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,630



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2012, 12:13:53 PM »

Sounds like a virus I had a few years ago...

Not to worry you too much, but all I managed to do to fix it, was to secure all my important files onto another HDD (Try using a live CD of linux) - and then format Sad

Maybe something different, but certainly looks the same  Sad

**edit**

DO NOT FORMAT until you know the root of this problem, it may well be that it is something entirely different...Its unlikely that it is the same thing, as I am talking around 6 years ago.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2012, 12:28:12 PM by Stephen66515 » Logged

No trees were harmed during the creation of this message.  Millions of electrons, however, were terribly inconvenienced

"Think left and think right and think low and think high. Oh, the things you can think up if only you try!" - Dr. Seuss


kunkel321
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 391


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2012, 12:18:49 PM »

One thing to try...  Go to http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals and get Autoruns.  It will scan your system for any and all startup entries (not just the ones in your startup folder).  Look around for anything that could have been put there by DiskKeeper.  You might also install RevoUninstaller and then RE-install DiskKeeper, and uninstall it with Revo (Revo will check for left over orphaned files and reg data).
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,572



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2012, 12:18:56 PM »

It's probably not a virus, so don't get scared.  But do see if you can track down what it is.
Logged
hulkbuster
Participant
*
Posts: 210


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2012, 12:48:05 PM »

It's probably not a virus, so don't get scared.  But do see if you can track down what it is.

How do i start and what do i do,,,, and how do i find what it is....
Logged

Autorun Virus Remover.V.2.3 / Default Win7 Firewall / Shadow Defender.V.1.2 / Some Sense
Stephen66515
Animated Giffer in Chief
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,630



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2012, 01:56:28 PM »

Quickly googling the message you posted, I found the following:

http://www.computing.net/...ing-autocheck/189754.html

Quote
This error can come due to malicious entries in autocheck registry value.
To fix this you can follow below steps :
1) Open Registry editor by opening "regedit" from run box.
2) Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager , You will see a vaule name :BootExecute.
3) By default it should have below value. remove any extra values and hit OK.

autocheck autochk *

4) Reboot your computer to test, It should work now.

I honestly have no idea if this will do it, but the OP on that question replied that it did...worth a try I guess...Probably not a bad idea to do a virus scan anyway.
Logged

No trees were harmed during the creation of this message.  Millions of electrons, however, were terribly inconvenienced

"Think left and think right and think low and think high. Oh, the things you can think up if only you try!" - Dr. Seuss


kunkel321
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 391


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2012, 02:29:12 PM »

Also, if your pc came with a recovery cd (i.e. the copy of Windows) you can try running that and see if there is an option to "repair windows."   Be careful though... Sometimes there's not, and it just "reinstalls" Windows, thus erasing all your settings and stuff. 
Logged
Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,338

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2012, 02:52:11 PM »

<-much too drastic solutions, I think.

Re-install Diskeeper Lite, and uncheck all settings before removing again.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,572



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2012, 02:55:53 PM »

I agree that you should not run any repair windows or severe fixit tools for something like this.  The suggestion to look at autoruns and programs configured to run at boot time is your best bet i think.  Look for a line that is trying to run diskeeper on windows bootup even though you've uninstalled it.
Logged
hpearce
Charter Member
***
Posts: 132

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2012, 03:23:57 PM »

I agree with trying AUTORUNS first .... it will show all startups including devices and boot startup .

Those not found on your system are highlighted.

Was there a startup program that ran ?  Could belocated in the MBR.
Logged

Windows 7 SP1 (TM) Home Premium 64-bit .. Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26 GHz / 2.27 GHz .. 4GB RAM .. NVIDIA GeForce 9800M GTS .. Gateway P-7805u FX
hulkbuster
Participant
*
Posts: 210


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2012, 04:34:20 AM »

Quickly googling the message you posted, I found the following:

http://www.computing.net/...ing-autocheck/189754.html

Quote
This error can come due to malicious entries in autocheck registry value.
To fix this you can follow below steps :
1) Open Registry editor by opening "regedit" from run box.
2) Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager , You will see a vaule name :BootExecute.
3) By default it should have below value. remove any extra values and hit OK.

autocheck autochk *

4) Reboot your computer to test, It should work now.

I honestly have no idea if this will do it, but the OP on that question replied that it did...worth a try I guess...Probably not a bad idea to do a virus scan anyway.

Thank you for this tip it really worked check the snapshot:




Again thank you for this advice all the members of the donation coder, it really is mind boggling to see how  complex Operating system is how to fix a simple problem : which we sometimes don't even fathom it would exit.Even after all the antivirus and updates and tweaking we do to keep the system up and running.
Thank you Stephen66515thumbs up thumbs up
Logged

Autorun Virus Remover.V.2.3 / Default Win7 Firewall / Shadow Defender.V.1.2 / Some Sense
Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,232



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: April 20, 2012, 04:58:16 AM »

@hulkbuster, did you understand what Stephen66515 wrote there? The 'autocheck' stuff actually belongs there, or did you remove other stray stuff we can't see any more?
Logged

hulkbuster
Participant
*
Posts: 210


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: April 20, 2012, 07:12:53 AM »

yeah actually i removed the other stuff i removed which later removed the problem,,,,that is after i deleted the other crap i deleted.
Still donation coder members recommendation is a go go....smiley
Logged

Autorun Virus Remover.V.2.3 / Default Win7 Firewall / Shadow Defender.V.1.2 / Some Sense
Stephen66515
Animated Giffer in Chief
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,630



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: April 20, 2012, 07:30:14 AM »

Quickly googling the message you posted, I found the following:

http://www.computing.net/...ing-autocheck/189754.html

Quote
This error can come due to malicious entries in autocheck registry value.
To fix this you can follow below steps :
1) Open Registry editor by opening "regedit" from run box.
2) Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager , You will see a vaule name :BootExecute.
3) By default it should have below value. remove any extra values and hit OK.

autocheck autochk *

4) Reboot your computer to test, It should work now.

I honestly have no idea if this will do it, but the OP on that question replied that it did...worth a try I guess...Probably not a bad idea to do a virus scan anyway.

Thank you for this tip it really worked check the snapshot:




Again thank you for this advice all the members of the donation coder, it really is mind boggling to see how  complex Operating system is how to fix a simple problem : which we sometimes don't even fathom it would exit.Even after all the antivirus and updates and tweaking we do to keep the system up and running.
Thank you Stephen66515thumbs up thumbs up

This is what we do here at DC! cheesy

Your very welcome  embarassed
Logged

No trees were harmed during the creation of this message.  Millions of electrons, however, were terribly inconvenienced

"Think left and think right and think low and think high. Oh, the things you can think up if only you try!" - Dr. Seuss


Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.039s | Server load: 0.02 ]