Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 31, 2014, 07:36:47 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Free DonationCoder.com Member Kit: Submit Request.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: IDEA: Program that'll allow you to change what pops up in place of Task Manager  (Read 7860 times)
Zero3K
Charter Member
***
Posts: 201


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: September 02, 2005, 10:01:44 PM »

*subject* (when you press CTRL+ALT+DEL/CTRL+SHIFT+ESC)

It'll allow people to use another taskmanager in place of the default one.
Logged
AbteriX
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 1,050


Member #520

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2005, 04:54:47 AM »

Hi Zero3k,

IMHO the best TaskManager replacement is ProcessExplorer from Sysinternals.com
And hi has already an option "replace Ctrl+Shift+ESC to oben ProcEx"

And the standard answer to remap your keys is AutohotKey.com


HTH U  Sad
Logged

Greetings, Stefan.
skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2005, 12:30:16 PM »

 Sad There is no way to capture the Ctrl-Alt-Del properly in AHK, but the following code comes quite close:

Download and install AutoHotKey from www.autohotkey.com. Save the script as ChangeTaskManager.ahk and doubleclick to run.

Skrommel


[copy or print]
;ChangeTaskManager.ahk
^!Del::
Run,Notepad.exe
Return

^+Esc::
MsgBox,Calc.exe
Return
Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
Zero3K
Charter Member
***
Posts: 201


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2006, 06:39:44 PM »

Sorry for bringing it back up, but I just recently learned of how to replace Task Manager. All you have to do is:

  • First, Open the Registry Editor
  • Navigate to HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Image File Execution Options
  • Create a new key there called taskmgr.exe.
  • In the newly created key, add a string labeled debugger.
  • Edit the debugger string with the path (in quotes if necessary) to the program that you want to replace the Task Manager with.
  • Finally, close the Registry Editor

BTW, I learned of the above from a MSDN blog post (http://blogs.msdn.com/shawnfa/archive/2004/10/06/238923.aspx)
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,614



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2006, 11:49:58 PM »

oh nice find zero! thanks for letting us know, could come in handy.
Logged
AbteriX
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 1,050


Member #520

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2006, 02:15:16 AM »

THX zero  Thmbsup
Logged

Greetings, Stefan.
bobsobol
Participant
*
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2006, 10:48:52 AM »

Wow! People on my level! This place is nice smiley

Related to this issue, I already knew how to change the TaskManager, but haven't yet found one with the functionality I want.

This is gonna sound like another version of the Text Editor request. But I actually need a Task Manager which filters certain Tasks from the list. This sounds like a Trojen or Spyware trick I know, but I run a network at a secondary school, and have to struggle between allowing the kids to kill Word when they search for clipard and it locks up for like 3hrs on the search not allowing them to do anything else till it's finnished, and stopping them from closing essential system processes, or worse, attempting to close the network monitoring and security tasks.

Does anyone know of a TaskManager with filtered Task List?
Logged
nudone
Cody's Creator
Columnist
***
Posts: 4,116



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: October 08, 2006, 12:28:07 AM »

i don't know of a taskmanager that will do what you are requesting - but that is mainly because i don't know about such things.

i'd just like to suggest an alternative: how about hiding the taskmanager completely from the kids/staff so they can't upset the machine BUT do provide a shortcut that will kill microsoft word. you could have a shortcut that ran an autohotkey script to kill word (or whatever other app that locks up frequently).

there's also a util that would allow you to create 'kill' shortcuts for specific applications but i can't remember the name of it at the moment.

perhaps my suggested alternative solution is pretty worthless - i don't know if you could get to the desktop or start menu when word locks up - so you wouldn't be able to run a shortcut anyway.

it's just a thought...
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,711



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: October 08, 2006, 05:53:38 AM »

Does anyone know of a TaskManager with filtered Task List?
I don't know of anything like that. But i could make you a TaskManager that would allow you to show only the processes from a given list.

I mean,having a program to which you'd pass a list of "terminable" processes and it'd allow you to close the ones from that list that exist at that moment. What do you think?
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.033s | Server load: 0.06 ]