Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 19, 2014, 06:58:04 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Your Support Funds this Site: View the Supporter Yearbook.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Capture cursor?  (Read 2629 times)
x16wda
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 464


what am I doing in this handbasket?

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: March 16, 2012, 01:03:40 PM »

For some reason I can't seem to capture the cursor when capturing Selected Region.  Seems to be fine in other modes like Active Window or Current Screen, but I most often need to select a region.  The box for capturing the cursor is checked.

I understand you need to use the mouse to select the region, but can you grab the cursor when the PrintScreen is initiated so you can render it in the capture?

Thanks!


PS- just nitpicking here, I noticed that "Miscellaneous" is misspelled a couple places...
Logged

vi vi vi - editor of the beast
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,362



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2012, 02:52:03 PM »

This is a continuing frustration for users.. my problem is it's not clear WHEN to set the cursor location.  you're suggesting capture cursor location right when select region is triggered.  that would work but i can see that being frustrating.  or i could pause for a second or so after the region is selected but before capturing..
Logged
x16wda
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 464


what am I doing in this handbasket?

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2012, 03:07:14 PM »

Well, to my mind, you want to capture the screen when you press the key.  You get everything set up, cursor in the right place just like you want, then <snik> you hit PrtScr and you have your screen shot.  If you want delays, there are options for that (seems like there are options for almost everything! smiley).
Logged

vi vi vi - editor of the beast
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,362



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2012, 04:02:40 PM »

Ok let me add that, it's better than nothing!
Logged
Mattes57
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 9


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2012, 08:39:29 AM »

BTW, you can always insert a cursor afterwards by using the editing features of SSC.
The Clipart directory has a subdirectory 1\Cursors where all common cursors can be found.

Logged
x16wda
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 464


what am I doing in this handbasket?

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2012, 03:24:34 PM »

[MinorChange] Added longer delay after capturing selected region image with cursor, in order to give time to move cursor to desired position.

Thanks for 3.03.01! Thmbsup

This is an interesting way to attack the issue... the screen capture occurs when the hot key is pressed, then when the region is finalized there's a second or two delay to move the cursor into place before it gets captured.  However, once the region selection is finished, the screen is "unfrozen" so it can be changing while the cursor is getting into position!

I used a simple flash clock web page (http://edmullen.net/fclock.php) as a test since it showed slow, predictable movement, and it was a little disconcerting to watch but worked perfectly.  

Most of the other products I have tried just capture the cursor along with the rest of the screen.  This method adds more flexibility at the expense of a short delay (plus my fear that I can't get the cursor to the right place in time  Grin).
Logged

vi vi vi - editor of the beast
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,362



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2012, 03:26:39 PM »

I'm still going to be adding additional ways to get cursor into position, like capturing its position at START of capture, i just wanted to get out this new release first.  So i'll probably add an option that will let you choose whether to use cursor position at start of capture or end of capture.  if you choose start then there won't be the delay.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,362



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2012, 11:47:03 AM »

Ok I've got something considerably better implemented for cursor capture in region select mode..
Stay tuned for the next release.  Thmbsup
Logged
x16wda
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 464


what am I doing in this handbasket?

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: April 13, 2012, 12:16:47 PM »

awesome - can't wait to see what you have up your sleeve! smiley
Logged

vi vi vi - editor of the beast
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,362



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: April 13, 2012, 03:55:01 PM »

New version just posted should solve these issues.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2012, 10:28:13 PM by mouser » Logged
Stephen66515
Animated Giffer in Chief
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,556



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: April 13, 2012, 03:58:12 PM »

Anyone care to try a beta?

No...


 Grin
Logged

No trees were harmed during the creation of this message.  Millions of electrons, however, were terribly inconvenienced

"Think left and think right and think low and think high. Oh, the things you can think up if only you try!" - Dr. Seuss
TaoPhoenix
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 3,481



0 - 60 ... then back to 0 again!

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: April 13, 2012, 05:15:38 PM »

Yes. tongue

I posted my notes in the other thread.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,362



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: April 14, 2012, 02:47:54 PM »

To let the cat out of the bag -- now when you trigger a region capture, the cursor is shown where it was when you initiated the capture -- BUT, and here's the nice part -- you can hit the C key at any time to move it to be under the current position of the mouse. You can even use this to add the cursor when you don't have it set by default to capture.
Logged
x16wda
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 464


what am I doing in this handbasket?

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: April 14, 2012, 03:18:32 PM »

Yep, and it works great!  I posted kudos in the other thread (sorry I didn't find it before I started this new one Sad...)

You have so much great stuff in here, I should spend a day figuring it all out...
Logged

vi vi vi - editor of the beast
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.034s | Server load: 0.08 ]