Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site November 24, 2014, 02:16:02 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2012! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: How to remove Windows.old?  (Read 6040 times)
Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,349

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: March 04, 2012, 02:11:57 PM »

Restoring my documents from the cloud based backup, I noticed that my new Win 7 was running out of free space many days too soon, so to speak. I knew that the "overwritten" Vista still is around on my PC, because at boot-up I am offered to log in to it, (but it will only give me a black screen and send me on to Win 7), and I knew it is placed in a folder named Windows.old, but only now have I realized it is taking up a whopping 341GB. Not good!!

How can I safely get rid of Vista and Windows.old ?  tellme
Logged
Josh
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 3,345



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2012, 02:17:09 PM »

I would reinstall just to be safe. But that is just me. You never know what is tied in there.
Logged

Strength in Knowledge
Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,349

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2012, 02:26:29 PM »

-you may very well be right. Because at boot-up I am greeted by Fujitsu, which was the company behind the Vista, but the new Win 7 comes from a Dell disc. So I guess the old Vista still is some kind of command - giving weird situations if I remove Windows.old which must be including Fujitsu stuff.
 tellme
Logged
Stoic Joker
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 5,397



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2012, 02:38:48 PM »

According to MS Windows.old is safe to delete ... Assuming you recovered all of the files (and/or registry settings) from it that you may want to save.

Easiest option is to just rename it to basically anything, and then reboot to see if you get any complaints. No complaints = safe to delete.
Logged
Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,349

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2012, 02:46:06 PM »

-will try at once. If you don't hear from me, you'll know why...
 huh
Logged
Stoic Joker
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 5,397



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2012, 02:50:50 PM »

Joker experiences guilt in 5... 4... 3...
Logged
Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,349

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2012, 02:54:22 PM »

Easiest option is to just rename it to basically anything, and then reboot to see if you get any complaints. No complaints = safe to delete.

well, I must admit, you said "easiest" not "safest".

I renamed it, and rebooted, and now it is gone!!!   Sad

Why am I not happy? Because it is gone, but still taking up 341GB!!!!!!
Logged
Stephen66515
Animated Giffer in Chief
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,778



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2012, 02:58:54 PM »

Boot into a Live version of any Linux build, locate the folder, eradicate the folder, reboot into winblows windows?

Worth a shot if nothing else smiley
Logged

No trees were harmed during the creation of this message.  Millions of electrons, however, were terribly inconvenienced

"Think left and think right and think low and think high. Oh, the things you can think up if only you try!" - Dr. Seuss
Tuxman
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,498


OMG not him again!

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: March 04, 2012, 03:00:11 PM »

How can you know how big it is when it is gone?
Logged

I bet when Cheetahs race and one of them cheats, the other one goes "Man, you're such a Cheetah!" and they laugh & eat a zebra or whatever.
- @VeryGrumpyCat
Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,349

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: March 04, 2012, 03:01:27 PM »

Okay,one more reboot and it became visible. And shift+deleted. Now I will reboot again, and everything will be okay. Okay?

---
Free space, Tuxman
Logged
Tuxman
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,498


OMG not him again!

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2012, 03:03:06 PM »

So what makes you assume the folder which is gone is taking the space?
Logged

I bet when Cheetahs race and one of them cheats, the other one goes "Man, you're such a Cheetah!" and they laugh & eat a zebra or whatever.
- @VeryGrumpyCat
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,958



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: March 04, 2012, 03:08:19 PM »

Could still be marked as present in the disk bitmap - run chkdsk c: /f to check the bitmap.
Logged

Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,349

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: March 04, 2012, 04:30:20 PM »

wow, it took 50 minutes to delete that folder!
But I have now re-booted again, and all is well.

Thanks!

But I can still choose to try to boot into Vista
 tellme
Logged
Josh
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 3,345



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: March 04, 2012, 04:33:12 PM »

You have to edit boot.ini to remove that entry.
Logged

Strength in Knowledge
Stephen66515
Animated Giffer in Chief
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,778



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: March 04, 2012, 04:33:51 PM »

check in msconfig, see if its left a boot option in there
Logged

No trees were harmed during the creation of this message.  Millions of electrons, however, were terribly inconvenienced

"Think left and think right and think low and think high. Oh, the things you can think up if only you try!" - Dr. Seuss
Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,349

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: March 04, 2012, 04:36:07 PM »

Are you people speaking English?
 embarassed
Logged
Stephen66515
Animated Giffer in Chief
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,778



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: March 04, 2012, 04:41:50 PM »

Are you people speaking English?
 embarassed

Press Start, Type 'msconfig' (without the '') and hit enter...choose the boot tab...and if you see "Windows Vista" simply press "Delete" on it smiley - I dunno if this will cause any errors with your system though so, somebody else may wanna confirm this for you smiley
Logged

No trees were harmed during the creation of this message.  Millions of electrons, however, were terribly inconvenienced

"Think left and think right and think low and think high. Oh, the things you can think up if only you try!" - Dr. Seuss
Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,349

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: March 04, 2012, 04:50:03 PM »

if you see "Windows Vista" simply press "Delete" on it smiley - I dunno if this will cause any errors with your system though so, somebody else may wanna confirm this for you smiley

-I must admit I am nervous about this, because of:

at boot-up I am greeted by Fujitsu, which was the company behind the Vista, but the new Win 7 comes from a Dell disc.

 tellme
Logged
Josh
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 3,345



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: March 04, 2012, 04:52:51 PM »

DISCLAIMER: Stephen66515 assumes all responsibility and liability for your actions! ;-)
Logged

Strength in Knowledge
Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,349

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: March 04, 2012, 04:55:55 PM »

hahaha  Grin

I will probably try Stephen66515's suggestion just because of this.  undecided
Logged
Stephen66515
Animated Giffer in Chief
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,778



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: March 04, 2012, 05:02:13 PM »

DISCLAIMER: Stephen66515 assumes all responsibility and liability for your actions! ;-)

 huh  Sad  Angry  mad  nono2
Logged

No trees were harmed during the creation of this message.  Millions of electrons, however, were terribly inconvenienced

"Think left and think right and think low and think high. Oh, the things you can think up if only you try!" - Dr. Seuss
Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,958



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: March 04, 2012, 05:03:51 PM »

Neither vista not windows 7 use boot.ini.

They both use bcdedit from a command prompt to edit the boot process. Not for the faint hearted!
Logged

Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,349

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #22 on: March 04, 2012, 05:06:55 PM »

Press Start, Type 'msconfig' (without the '') and hit enter...choose the boot tab...and if you see "Windows Vista" simply press "Delete" on it

-perfect, Stephen66515, thank you  thumbs up

and Thank you all  Thmbsup

I am now free of the extra, black screen where I should choose between W7 and Vista.
Quite Interestingly I am still greeted by Fujitsu, not by Dell.
Logged
app103
That scary taskbar girl
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 5,327



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #23 on: March 04, 2012, 07:39:41 PM »

Quite Interestingly I am still greeted by Fujitsu, not by Dell.

Why would you be greeted by Dell? You don't have a Dell. Just because the disk you used to install Win7 came from a Dell, it doesn't turn your machine into a Dell. You will still display the Fujitsu stuff on boot because it's still a Fujitsu machine, still has the bios supplied by Fujitsu. That logo displays before Windows even begins to load.


If you really hate that logo, there might be an option in the bios to display post messages or extended post messages. Selecting that might get rid of it. If not, you'll have to replace the motherboard supplied by Fujitsu. I don't suggest you go messing around in the bios unless you know what you are doing, though. Great way to really screw up a computer if you don't.
Logged

Curt
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,349

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #24 on: March 05, 2012, 02:17:28 AM »

-thank you for the explanation, April. Yes, there are so many other ways I can screw up my PC... oh, dear, so many threads I have created, asking for help - this being one of them. No, I am actually pleased with Fujitsu displaying their logo,..., because I like Dell even less!
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.048s | Server load: 0.03 ]