Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 17, 2014, 07:21:08 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the full one-year retrospective report on DonationCoder.com.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Program not retaining configuration  (Read 1048 times)
Tinman57
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,697



Duck! It's another MicroSoft Patch!

View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: April 30, 2012, 08:23:07 PM »

  Got a mind twister that I'm working on and thought I'd post it here for any idea's.  I'm using XP SP3.
  I use a RAM and Cache optimizer called MemTurbo4.  For some reason, here lately it keeps resetting "Target Free RAM" to 707 Mb, when I had originally set it to 512 Mb.  On every boot it keeps going back to 707.  I uninstalled it, cleaned out my registry, then re-installed it, but it still keeps resetting to 707.  If I make changes, exit and restart it, it's back to 707 again.
  I went through the registry and every setting in there has 512, even when it's defaulted to 707.  I think it started doing this after the last MS update, which is pretty much normal, almost every update I have to go through the system and fix stuff like this.  Any idea's to why it keeps doing this?  I've used this program for years without a problem until recently.
  BTW, I went through the tech support for this software, which was bought out by another company, and they couldn't offer any help.  They didn't know their ass from a hole in the ground, but yet they still sell this program.  It is an awesome program, but I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND anyone buy MemTurbo4 just for this reason....No tech support  Angry
Logged

((((TINMAN))))
ha14
Participant
*
Posts: 262

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2012, 04:18:23 PM »

well if your system needs 707MB to be efficient without failing then this can explain why you revert back to 707. You can try to uninstall and reinstall MemTurbo4 to see if this can solve the matter.
Logged
Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,131



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2012, 04:45:03 PM »

It could also be beneficial to remove MemTurbo4 to see if the system is more stable without it. Software like this usually does a smoke and mirrors act, nothing useful.

There was another thread on this subject recently, with a better explanation, I'll try to find it. (edit: didn't find it, too many posts...)
« Last Edit: May 01, 2012, 04:56:28 PM by Ath » Logged

Tinman57
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,697



Duck! It's another MicroSoft Patch!

View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2012, 07:40:14 PM »

well if your system needs 707MB to be efficient without failing then this can explain why you revert back to 707. You can try to uninstall and reinstall MemTurbo4 to see if this can solve the matter.
  Uh.... My system can run all the way down to 0 Mb free and still work just fine, and I've used this program for years with it set at 512 Mb....
  And.....As stated in my first post, not only did I remove it from my system, I also cleaned out the registry of any mention of MemTurbo....
Logged

((((TINMAN))))
Tinman57
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,697



Duck! It's another MicroSoft Patch!

View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2012, 07:43:20 PM »

It could also be beneficial to remove MemTurbo4 to see if the system is more stable without it. Software like this usually does a smoke and mirrors act, nothing useful.

There was another thread on this subject recently, with a better explanation, I'll try to find it. (edit: didn't find it, too many posts...)
  Well, that's the whole reason I installed MT4, to improve the OS's handling of RAM and cache.  MT4 does an excellent job of this, has worked for years without a problem whatsoever.  Just recently it started defaulting to 707 Mb, I think sometime after one of those MS updates.
Logged

((((TINMAN))))
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,053



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2012, 04:48:52 AM »

It could also be beneficial to remove MemTurbo4 to see if the system is more stable without it. Software like this usually does a smoke and mirrors act, nothing useful.

There was another thread on this subject recently, with a better explanation, I'll try to find it. (edit: didn't find it, too many posts...)

Heven't seen anything about cache optimizing, but there was a very interesting & informative series of posts about memory use, by db90h, in this thread:
FreshMem
Logged

Tom
Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,131



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2012, 05:19:48 AM »

Heven't seen anything about cache optimizing, but there was a very interesting & informative series of posts about memory use, by db90h, in this thread:
FreshMem
TY Tomos, that's the post I had in mind Wink
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.038s | Server load: 0.31 ]