Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 05, 2015, 07:22:50 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: How to not show folders in results?  (Read 1837 times)

Scott_Y

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
How to not show folders in results?
« on: February 04, 2012, 07:10:57 PM »
I would like to not show folders in search results. For example, when I search for the string "mn" I get two results for Mnemosyne (the program I want to launch). The first result below shows the icon for the executable, while the second shows the icon for the folder containing the excecutable.

I never need or want to go to folders, just executables, documents, etc. So I would like to exclude results which point to folders. The difficulty is that both results shown below are  to a .lnk -- the first result is a .lnk pointing to C:\Program Files (x86)\Mnemosyne\mnemosyne.exe (the one I want), while the second result is a .lnk pointing to C:\Users\Scott\AppData\Roaming\Mnemosyne (the one I don't want).

Is there some way to directly exclude folders like the second result? I don't see a way to distinguish them, for example, by file extension restrictions in Search Folders. Thanks.

-------
Mnemosyne.lnk
C:\Users\Scott\Desktop\Shortcuts - Programs

Mnemosyne.lnk
C:\Users\Scott\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Recent
-------

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to not show folders in results?
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2012, 07:31:21 PM »
I think here:
Screenshot - 2_4_2012 , 7_30_01 PM.png

Scott_Y

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to not show folders in results?
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2012, 08:25:21 PM »
Thanks for a quick reply, Mouser. I already had that unchecked, so that isn't the solution. But I think what I have in mind would be something like that, i.e. a single setting on/off.

Any other ideas? If not, I'd like to submit that here as a wish.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to not show folders in results?
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2012, 08:47:35 PM »
There should be an option for it -- let me look again.

I've been remiss in not updating FARR in a while -- I've been very busy with my imminent release of Screenshot Captor v3.

Scott_Y

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to not show folders in results?
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2012, 09:01:52 PM »
There should be an option for it -- let me look again.

I've been remiss in not updating FARR in a while -- I've been very busy with my imminent release of Screenshot Captor v3.

Ok, thanks very much, Mouser. I'll check back when you have time. All your work is really appreciated.

Scott_Y

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to not show folders in results?
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2012, 09:36:02 PM »
Actually, "Show matching folders by default" sounds like the control I would want here. So perhaps it isn't working? Just a thought.

sakiskom

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to not show folders in results?
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2012, 04:45:40 PM »
I think here:
Thanx mouser, and i disable this option.  :Thmbsup: