Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 10:31:27 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Timed screen capture  (Read 3155 times)

jjerry

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Timed screen capture
« on: February 01, 2012, 12:23:12 AM »
I'd like to have a timed screen capture, which means it starts capture screenshot at time T1.
After each time interval Td it will capture another screen short, it goes on till it reaches T2.
Hopefully each file can be saved automatically.
However, I can't even find timed capture function anywhere.
Can what I described be performed?

Thank you.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,408
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timed screen capture
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2012, 12:28:20 AM »
you can set the interval, and the maximum screenshots to take, and then engage th auto capture timer.

the only thing you mention that you can't do it tell it not to begin until a certain time of day..

jjerry

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timed screen capture
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2012, 12:55:52 AM »
Thanks.
How can I set the parameters you described?
I could not find ways to adjust the auto capture timer in the most current version of the screenshot captor.
Mouser:
I am new here, pointers about instructions, online manuals regarding to the current version will be highly appreciated.
« Last Edit: February 01, 2012, 03:17:20 AM by jjerry »

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 2,845
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timed screen capture
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2012, 03:16:40 AM »
How about the following from the pre-capture options of the preferences dialog:

sc-precapture-options.pngTimed screen capture

and the tray icon menu:

traymenu_options.pngTimed screen capture

?
« Last Edit: February 01, 2012, 05:03:06 AM by ewemoa »

jjerry

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2012
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timed screen capture
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2012, 03:55:56 AM »
Thanks a million, ewemoa.
I found the pre capture options menu, but my tray icon menu does not show the same - many choices are missing.
I just downloaded this software, and it is v2.103.01.
I wonder if they changed something in this version.

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 2,845
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timed screen capture
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2012, 05:01:02 AM »
Ah sorry about that.  The tray icon menu image I posted was obtained from an older source of info -- I wasn't at a machine running Windows at the time.

I've updated the image to be what I see currently.

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,367
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timed screen capture
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2012, 07:50:48 AM »
the only thing you mention that you can't do it tell it not to begin until a certain time of day..
@jjerry There is all kinds of free stuff to launch an application at a given time. The built-in Windows Tasks (or Scheduler) is a good, safe, easy one.

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,927
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Timed screen capture
« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2012, 03:26:26 PM »
the only thing you mention that you can't do it tell it not to begin until a certain time of day..
@jjerry There is all kinds of free stuff to launch an application at a given time. The built-in Windows Tasks (or Scheduler) is a good, safe, easy one.
You beat me to that comment, but, does SSC support command-line operation?  If it doesn't, there's mouser's other screen capture program MiniCap :
Quote
MiniCap is a minimal screenshot capture app, with good commandline support, including the ability to launch (and then terminate) apps, capture windows by handle, processid, process name, or interactively.

MiniCap has a convenient interactive capture mode (based on Screenshot Captor's Redbox Capture mode) which may be useful if you don't want to have something like Screenshot Captor running in the background. But where MiniCap really shines is it's use as a non-interactive commandline tool.