Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 02, 2014, 01:30:11 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Free DonationCoder.com Member Kit: Submit Request.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: POSTING 101  (Read 6128 times)
crabby3
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


!!!... !!!!!! (face my... other left ?!?)

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: January 28, 2012, 06:36:21 AM »

Is there a Post Practice Area on DC where I can work on my posting ability but not actually post it?  Like a SANDBOX that nobody else has access to?   embarassed
« Last Edit: January 30, 2012, 01:25:44 AM by crabby3; Reason: typo,typo,typo » Logged

Windows Vista(TM) Home Premium-SP2   Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU    T6400 @ 2.00GHz    4GB RAM    64-bit        Windows(R) Internet Explorer 9
Renegade
Charter Member
***
Posts: 11,448



Tell me something you don't know...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2012, 07:01:05 AM »

Try here:

http://www.donationcoder....orum/index.php?board=55.0

Check at the very bottom of the forums list on the "Forum Home" page. You should see "My Personal Area".

HTH

Logged

Slow Down Music - Where I commit thought crimes...

Freedom is the right to be wrong, not the right to do wrong. - John Diefenbaker
crabby3
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


!!!... !!!!!! (face my... other left ?!?)

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2012, 07:44:29 AM »

Try here:

http://www.donationcoder....orum/index.php?board=55.0

Check at the very bottom of the forums list on the "Forum Home" page. You should see "My Personal Area".

HTH



Thanks, Renegade!   smiley  I have started a DC session many times, with the specific intent of exploring the whole site, but inevitably something catches my eye and I forget all about it.   embarassed

If by some chance I compose something I really like... can I post it from My Personal Area ?
Logged

Windows Vista(TM) Home Premium-SP2   Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU    T6400 @ 2.00GHz    4GB RAM    64-bit        Windows(R) Internet Explorer 9
kyrathaba
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 3,010



while(! dead_horse){beat}

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2012, 08:02:40 AM »

Quote
If by some chance I compose something I really like... can I post it from My Personal Area ?

When your post in Personal Area looks the way you want, click Modify, copy the source (the text that appears in the editing textbox) and then paste it into a new post on whatever thread is appropriate. I think only moderators can Move a post.
Logged

Win 7 Home Premium 64bit-SP1 AMD Athlon II X2 220 Socket AM3 (938) @ 2.1GHz 6GB RAM Firefox 26.0
_________________________________________________________________________________________

I'm fighting against patent trolls. Join me and tell your representative to support the #SHIELDAct: https://eff.org/r.b6JJ /via @EFF

My DC page: http://kyrathaba.dcmembers.com | My blog: http://williambryanmiller.com/ | Proofreading Service: http://bit.ly/1fQSqQP

Renegade
Charter Member
***
Posts: 11,448



Tell me something you don't know...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2012, 09:29:55 AM »

Try here:

http://www.donationcoder....orum/index.php?board=55.0

Check at the very bottom of the forums list on the "Forum Home" page. You should see "My Personal Area".

HTH



Thanks, Renegade!   smiley  I have started a DC session many times, with the specific intent of exploring the whole site, but inevitably something catches my eye and I forget all about it.   embarassed

If by some chance I compose something I really like... can I post it from My Personal Area ?


I have the same problem -- with blog posts as well...

Here's something that also might work for you --- try "TextEditorAnywhere". Do a search in the forums here to find it -- it simply ROCKS~! I use it all the time. It lets you use WIN+A to compose in your default text editor instead of the browser. You end up with a local file as well, so, if you forget and close your browser, you still have it.

Logged

Slow Down Music - Where I commit thought crimes...

Freedom is the right to be wrong, not the right to do wrong. - John Diefenbaker
rjbull
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,760

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2012, 12:02:48 PM »

Here's something that also might work for you --- try "TextEditorAnywhere".
+1.  It's here: Text Editor Anywhere – Edit Text Anywhere with Your Favorite Editor.  And it's free!  Thmbsup

It lets you use WIN+A to compose in your default text editor instead of the browser.
Hotkey is configurable  smiley

You end up with a local file as well, so, if you forget and close your browser, you still have it.
I periodically archive up these files, and delete the really old ones.
Logged
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,170



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2012, 05:22:44 PM »

Is there a Post Practice Area on DC where I can work on my posting ability but not actually post it?  Like a SANDBOX that nobody else was access to?   embarassed
You might also want to look at this editor that understands bulletin board code. With it, you can compose your messages while offline and polish them to your heart's content before posting them (just copy from the editor and paste into a new message or a reply. It was written by DonationCoder member fenixproductions. BBC Editor provides you with a text entry pane on one side and an output pane on the other, so you see a real-time preview of what you type and how it will look on, say, DonationCoder.
Logged

Chris
superboyac
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5,688


Is your software in my list?

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2012, 07:17:14 PM »

 Grin at post practicing!

It's totally something I would do (and have done).
Logged

crabby3
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


!!!... !!!!!! (face my... other left ?!?)

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2012, 09:00:46 AM »

Is there a Post Practice Area on DC where I can work on my posting ability but not actually post it?  Like a SANDBOX that nobody else was access to?   embarassed
You might also want to look at this editor that understands bulletin board code. With it, you can compose your messages while offline and polish them to your heart's content before posting them (just copy from the editor and paste into a new message or a reply. It was written by DonationCoder member fenixproductions. BBC Editor provides you with a text entry pane on one side and an output pane on the other, so you see a real-time preview of what you type and how it will look on, say, DonationCoder.

Thanks to you, cranioscopical, I downloaded BBC Editor.   smiley   I really like the real-time preview idea and the offline use too.   Thmbsup  
« Last Edit: January 30, 2012, 06:25:04 PM by crabby3; Reason: grammar » Logged

Windows Vista(TM) Home Premium-SP2   Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU    T6400 @ 2.00GHz    4GB RAM    64-bit        Windows(R) Internet Explorer 9
crabby3
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


!!!... !!!!!! (face my... other left ?!?)

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2012, 06:36:57 AM »

Quote
If by some chance I compose something I really like... can I post it from My Personal Area ?

When your post in Personal Area looks the way you want, click Modify, copy the source (the text that appears in the editing textbox) and then paste it into a new post on whatever thread is appropriate. I think only moderators can Move a post.

Thanks for your info, kyrathaba, you've indirectly answered another question of mine.  smiley   I was wondering if I could totally screw-up and post something from My Personal Area and the answer is NO.  Because I have to copy/paste where I want it to be.   Wink

Sorry for the delayed response   Sad   and Thanks Again!   cheesy
Logged

Windows Vista(TM) Home Premium-SP2   Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU    T6400 @ 2.00GHz    4GB RAM    64-bit        Windows(R) Internet Explorer 9
crabby3
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


!!!... !!!!!! (face my... other left ?!?)

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2012, 10:27:01 PM »

Is there a Walkthrough Video or link to a step-by-step explaination, at DC, of how to insert a photo into a DC-PM ?   huh

I have inserted pics in Windows Mail emails before... but have never uploaded anything directly to the Internet.   embarassed
Logged

Windows Vista(TM) Home Premium-SP2   Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU    T6400 @ 2.00GHz    4GB RAM    64-bit        Windows(R) Internet Explorer 9
Target
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 1,407



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2012, 10:36:48 PM »

Is there a Walkthrough Video or link to a step-by-step explaination, at DC, of how to insert a photo into a DC-PM ?   huh

I have inserted pics in Windows Mail emails before... but have never uploaded anything directly to the Internet.   embarassed

sadly there is currently no facility to do that - you may have to go with 1000 words instead Wink
Logged

"Look wise, say nothing, and grunt. Speech was given to conceal thought" - Sir William Osler
crabby3
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


!!!... !!!!!! (face my... other left ?!?)

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2012, 10:56:15 PM »

sadly there is currently no facility to do that - you may have to go with 1000 words instead Wink

Thanks Target... but I have to supply actual proof... so even 10,000 words wouldn't help.   Sad
Logged

Windows Vista(TM) Home Premium-SP2   Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU    T6400 @ 2.00GHz    4GB RAM    64-bit        Windows(R) Internet Explorer 9
Renegade
Charter Member
***
Posts: 11,448



Tell me something you don't know...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2012, 11:05:11 PM »

sadly there is currently no facility to do that - you may have to go with 1000 words instead Wink

Thanks Target... but I have to supply actual proof... so even 10,000 words wouldn't help.   Sad

You could upload to one of the image hosting sites, e.g. imageshack.us or flickr.com, then send a link.
Logged

Slow Down Music - Where I commit thought crimes...

Freedom is the right to be wrong, not the right to do wrong. - John Diefenbaker
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,102



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: March 30, 2012, 12:06:17 AM »

just a general note. if you're going to use an external image hosting site, please use a service like imgur, TinyPic and etc.. images posted at imageshack tend to turn into frozen frogs.



i've heard that the frozen frogs can be fixed by creating an account with imageshack. then again cookies go missing, your browser can't find your credentials and you're left staring at the frozen frog..
Logged

crabby3
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


!!!... !!!!!! (face my... other left ?!?)

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: March 30, 2012, 12:06:44 AM »

You could upload to one of the image hosting sites, e.g. imageshack.us or flickr.com, then send a link.

Thanks Renegade... but I think the key words here are never uploaded anything.  If I already knew how to upload to a hosting site... would I still need help with this issue?   Grin   Or maybe it isn't the same thing...   huh

That's okay............

I think I'll just forget about it.  I've been a member at DC for a little while now and have never needed to backup a claim I made... until now.  If the person 'needs proof' they'll have to either take my word or download the program and see for themselves.   No big deal...  smiley
« Last Edit: March 31, 2012, 05:18:41 AM by crabby3; Reason: too harsh » Logged

Windows Vista(TM) Home Premium-SP2   Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU    T6400 @ 2.00GHz    4GB RAM    64-bit        Windows(R) Internet Explorer 9
crabby3
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


!!!... !!!!!! (face my... other left ?!?)

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: March 30, 2012, 12:26:06 AM »

@lanux128

 Grin frozen frogs

Thanks for your warning!   Thmbsup   But I've chosen my most frequently used option... give up!
Logged

Windows Vista(TM) Home Premium-SP2   Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU    T6400 @ 2.00GHz    4GB RAM    64-bit        Windows(R) Internet Explorer 9
Deozaan
Charter Member
***
Posts: 6,371



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: March 30, 2012, 03:07:27 AM »

@lanux128

 Grin frozen frogs

Thanks for your warning!   Thmbsup   But I've chosen my most frequently used option... give up!

http://imgur.com/ makes it really easy to upload images. Simply click the image and drag it onto the website.
Logged

crabby3
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


!!!... !!!!!! (face my... other left ?!?)

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: January 25, 2013, 01:12:31 PM »

Thanks, I downloaded DuplicatePhotoFinder.
Great wedding photo!


Hey, IainB, could you please supply me with a How-To for the Click to Reveal/Hide box in your Reply #4 here?  I can't seem to figure it out by myself.   embarassed

Still a great photo   Grin   Renegade
Logged

Windows Vista(TM) Home Premium-SP2   Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU    T6400 @ 2.00GHz    4GB RAM    64-bit        Windows(R) Internet Explorer 9
app103
That scary taskbar girl
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 5,228



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: January 25, 2013, 01:56:39 PM »

Hey, IainB, could you please supply me with a How-To for the Click to Reveal/Hide box in your Reply #4 here?  I can't seem to figure it out by myself.   embarassed

That's called a "spoiler". Just select the stuff you want to hide behind the button, then click the little button that looks like this:
Logged

crabby3
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


!!!... !!!!!! (face my... other left ?!?)

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: January 25, 2013, 03:26:58 PM »

Hey, IainB, could you please supply me with a How-To for the Click to Reveal/Hide box in your Reply #4 here?  I can't seem to figure it out by myself.   embarassed

That's called a "spoiler". Just select the stuff you want to hide behind the button, then click the little button that looks like this:  (see attachment in previous post)

I'm a mess... I want to hide an image I have but... how do I get it from my machine to DC?    huh embarassed
Logged

Windows Vista(TM) Home Premium-SP2   Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU    T6400 @ 2.00GHz    4GB RAM    64-bit        Windows(R) Internet Explorer 9
superboyac
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5,688


Is your software in my list?

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: January 25, 2013, 03:36:10 PM »

Hey, IainB, could you please supply me with a How-To for the Click to Reveal/Hide box in your Reply #4 here?  I can't seem to figure it out by myself.   embarassed

That's called a "spoiler". Just select the stuff you want to hide behind the button, then click the little button that looks like this:  (see attachment in previous post)

I'm a mess... I want to hide an image I have but... how do I get it from my machine to DC?    huh embarassed
You still practicing??  You should get a degree or something.  How about a badge?
Logged

40hz
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 10,677



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #22 on: January 25, 2013, 03:57:27 PM »

Easiest is to first write your post without the images.

Once your text is done, switch to preview by hitting button at the bottom of the box.

Next - decide what type of image you want to display. Most times it will either be an image or a thumbnail.

Position your cursor where you want the picture to go.

For a full size image hit the little picture button between the YouTube and globe icons up above on the second line.

That will put an anchor in place where the image will eventually be loaded

Wherever the anchor is will be where your picture gets displayed in your post. You can't see the picture until you actually post it to the forum because it also needs to be uploaded before the forum software can display it..

You do that by scrolling down to the bottom of the posting form to where you see Attach:

Click the browse button and locate the picture you want to post.

You'll see the file name is now shown in the box.

Hit post - and when it finishes loading you'll see it on the forum page.

« Last Edit: January 25, 2013, 04:03:48 PM by 40hz » Logged

Don't you see? It's turtles all the way down!
Paul Keith
Member
**
Posts: 1,982


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #23 on: January 25, 2013, 04:27:16 PM »

This may be a little bit overboard depending on what you are practicing and if you know this already, I apologize.

Some software I think like Latex and it's WYSIWYM cousin Lyx, holds this concept of never use bold, italics, underline until you have typed all your text.

Some novel writing concepts also hold this minimum, no working/editing on your header and chapters until you have written out all the stories and filled all the section.

For images, you can slow down the necessity of worrying about the anchor by creating a placemark instead. If you can Ascii art it, I guess it helps but mostly instead of [ ERROR: SPECIFIED ATTACHMENT MISSING ] you can type in:

[mood: warm]

Every prolonged bloody war gets to a point where a dad must appreciate the birth of their only child before the sunset drops hours after the red hot noon.

[face: bearded] Athalaxix the warlord:

How goes the siege?

[face: young] ???:

It goes...ACK!!! [spurt: blood]

It's not really advisable but if you really have a hard time grasping the attach and the browse box, placemarking without attaching an image helps disassociating yourself from the task and hones you in on how everything in a forum editor is essentially an anchor concept.

For example, you attach an image from browse (which opens your machine) and so once you are in the link inline image box stage instead of thinking this attach thing goes here or image 1 should be in attach 1, you already have a concept that attach 1 should replace placeholder x.

For example [face: young] will be deleted for an image.

When you start getting this consistent world view of forum editors, everything churns in a singular pattern of placemark -> attach.

Insert quote button once clicked attaches a placemark of the quote.

Titles above posts once clicked attaches a jump towards the post you are talking about.

Example, Hey, IainB, could you please supply me with a How-To for the Click to Reveal/Hide box in your Reply #4 here?  I can't seem to figure it out by myself.

Try clicking the blue link in that sentence and see where it loads differently from when you did it.

When you can do that, concepts like tables, permalinks, attaching images versus pasting image urls...they all start to function the same mechanically i.e. they are all one and the same. Clicking a button like SP and writing [spoiler] has the same role as typing [url] or writing
Quote
. It's all anchoring something inside and it's all replacing what's inside and turning it into what you want it to be turned.

There are no real differences. The boxes are all the same. The anchors all hook something.
plus image is image hooked and pulling anchor to the center while image is in turn hooked to [ ERROR: SPECIFIED ATTACHMENT MISSING ] .

Sometimes (apparently not in the case of spoilers), you can even cheat because when you quote someone's post, the editor is forced to unhide the newly born image and roll back to all the formatting that you see when you or that person is typing. Like if you quote my text here now, you'll see in the posting window how things were written. Where things were messed up. Where things formatted correctly. It's like you have an editor for the thing I wrote even if you didn't type it.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2013, 04:32:49 PM by Paul Keith » Logged

<reserve space for the day DC can auto-generate your signature from your personal PopUp Wisdom quotes>
crabby3
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


!!!... !!!!!! (face my... other left ?!?)

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #24 on: January 26, 2013, 04:23:10 AM »

Does anyone know the approx. time of day that DC runs the forum backup?

I think the Trigger is: Whenever crabby3 clicks reply/quote/new topic/or anything   Grin
Logged

Windows Vista(TM) Home Premium-SP2   Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU    T6400 @ 2.00GHz    4GB RAM    64-bit        Windows(R) Internet Explorer 9
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.072s | Server load: 0.01 ]