Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 30, 2014, 07:05:14 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Free DonationCoder.com Member Kit: Submit Request.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: SOLVED: Copy Text From Error Windows  (Read 5654 times)
Nzyme
Participant
*
Posts: 78


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: January 12, 2012, 11:01:22 AM »

Hi there. Was wondering if there is any program / script (any other way) that can copy text from error windows (or any other message windows). Often while communicating over IM for technical troubleshooting, it is required to quickly copy and send the error message to the other party. Sending screenshots of the error window is one way that I am aware of but what I really need is a way to copy the error message from the window and send it to the other party instead of manually typing long error messages.

A sample image of an error window is attached. In this case normally, I cannot copy the text from this window. Is it possible to make a program that can copy the text from such windows???

Thanks!!

Nzyme


* Sample_Error_Window.JPG (10.87 KB, 377x152 - viewed 191 times.)
« Last Edit: January 12, 2012, 11:09:38 AM by Nzyme » Logged
yksyks
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 469


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2012, 11:20:10 AM »

On applications using standard Windows dialogs you can just press Ctrl-C and you get for example:

[copy or print]
---------------------------
Notepad2
---------------------------
Save changes to "Untitled"?
---------------------------
Yes   No   Cancel   
---------------------------

This doesn't work with MS Office 2003, though, which is probably your case. On MS Office 2007 it works fine.
Logged
Nzyme
Participant
*
Posts: 78


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2012, 11:26:05 AM »

Oh my god. This was built into the OS and I (& probably even others) never even knew of it. I tried it on a couple of windows and it worked. Thanks a million.
Logged
yksyks
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 469


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2012, 01:39:42 PM »

It seems just a few people know this quite old trick. It's not very logical, you wouldn't expect the copy shortcut to work on these dialogs. I'm glad I could help a bit. The MS Office 2003 is a lost case in this situation. Why would Microsoft use the standard Microsoft Windows dialogs...?  embarassed
Logged
tranglos
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,079



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2012, 04:18:48 PM »

Why would Microsoft use the standard Microsoft Windows dialogs...?  embarassed

...or menus, or toolbars, or even edit controls. In a normal "Open file" dialog box you can right-click the edit box and paste the filename. In Office, you can't. (You can still paste by Ctrl+V though).

It may be because some Office apps were initially designed outside of MS, but if that was the case, they've had more than enough time to standardize. Maybe MS thinks Office should behave and look slightly different from the rest of Windows, so that people know what they paid for, who knows. Certainly in the case of common controls there is less functionality in Office than in the OS itself.

As for the OP question: for those dialogs where Ctrl+C does not work, would it help to make a screenshot and paste it into Evernote or maybe OneNote? Can these apps OCR such a screenshot well enough? (It's probably faster to just type the text yourself most of the time anyway.)

Logged

Target
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 1,407



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2012, 04:59:37 PM »

I have no afilliation with the developer, nor can I vouch for it's suitability or functionality, but you you might also look at  GetWindowText

it's standalone and no install

Logged

"Look wise, say nothing, and grunt. Speech was given to conceal thought" - Sir William Osler
yksyks
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 469


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2012, 12:20:34 PM »

... would it help to make a screenshot and paste it into Evernote or maybe OneNote? Can these apps OCR such a screenshot well enough? (It's probably faster to just type the text yourself most of the time anyway.)
As for Evernote—you can't. It does some OCR, but only for the sake of searching, because it's rather ambiguous. You can't get the text back to copy it, or so.
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,547



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2012, 12:42:19 PM »

lots of people swear by the Abby Screenshot Reader http://www.abbyy.com/screenshot_reader/
which does OCR on screenshots (and takes screenshots) I havent used it myself (€30 in europe).
Logged

Tom
rjbull
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,760

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2012, 02:30:03 PM »

lots of people swear by the Abby Screenshot Reader http://www.abbyy.com/screenshot_reader/
which does OCR on screenshots (and takes screenshots) I havent used it myself (€30 in europe).
I use it sometimes, and think well of it.  But the price, in the UK at least, is "€ 9,95 / £ 8.99"

If you have Microsoft Office 2003 or higher version, you could try freeware JOCR.  I used it at work for a while.
Logged
Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,223



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2012, 02:35:57 PM »

Hm, you just missed it by 2 weeks: free ABBYY Screenshot Reader Pointing to the original post over here: ABBYY Screenshot Reader free Christmas promotion.
Logged

tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,547



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2012, 04:18:26 PM »

But the price, in the UK at least, is "€ 9,95 / £ 8.99"

odd
your price here
30 euro here - maybe it's a typo, the "box" version is the same price
« Last Edit: January 15, 2012, 12:19:21 PM by tomos; Reason: corrected second link » Logged

Tom
rjbull
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,760

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2012, 10:58:16 AM »

30 euro here - maybe it's a typo, the "box" version is the same price
Your URL is grunged?  Comes out as
[copy or print]
[url=http://]here[/url]
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,547



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: January 15, 2012, 12:18:54 PM »

30 euro here - maybe it's a typo, the "box" version is the same price
Your URL is grunged?  Comes out as
[copy or print]
[url=http://]here[/url]

sorry
http://buy.abbyy.com/cont...89-4069-812f-8b5f2d3fa347
Logged

Tom
rjbull
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,760

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2012, 03:00:58 PM »

How odd.  Perhaps you're right and it's just a typo.  I had to navigate to the right country from their main page, and wondered if they were playing that nasty trick of charging different amounts in different countries, but most likely not: when companies do that, they usually charge the UK most  Angry
Logged
vmars316
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 8

View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: March 21, 2012, 06:51:06 PM »

GetWindowText
It doesn't work for all windows messages.
See Attachment:
...vm


* FotoSketcher image-02.jpg (26.41 KB, 696x153 - viewed 144 times.)
« Last Edit: March 22, 2012, 01:33:41 PM by vmars316; Reason: add example pic » Logged

"All things in moderation, except for love and forgiveness."
rjbull
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,760

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: March 22, 2012, 05:17:41 PM »

@vmars316:
You might try Pete's Window Tool or SysExporter or CopyText or maybe CopyMessageBox, though the latter is getting rather old.

But, I still expect the OCR method should be most reliable.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.041s | Server load: 0.16 ]