Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 04, 2015, 08:16:31 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread  (Read 16621 times)

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,539
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #50 on: January 19, 2012, 04:34:03 AM »
I ran into memory issues
Please provide some specifics on your system and the Windows Virtual memory/swap-file settings

Svampen

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #51 on: January 19, 2012, 06:15:48 AM »
I ran into memory issues
Please provide some specifics on your system and the Windows Virtual memory/swap-file settings

Well it was an old laptop with like 1GB of memory. I would have split the capture up anyways, so would be awesome to have it done automatically.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #52 on: January 19, 2012, 03:11:36 PM »
Thank you very much for posting that walkthrough ewemoa!  :up:

One suggested modification to your workflow:

Hit guess margins, THEN manually tweak them, THEN hit "guess overlaps"

Overlap guessing is based on margins, so tweaking them manually before guessing overlaps is advantageous.

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,539
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #53 on: January 19, 2012, 03:18:45 PM »
Hit guess margins, THEN manually tweak them, THEN hit "guess overlaps"
Sounds like what I did, but I left the scrollbars in place to be able to find the stitch-seams ;)

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,524
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #54 on: January 19, 2012, 04:28:05 PM »
Thank you very much for posting that walkthrough ewemoa!  :up:

with ewemoa's help there I got a perfect shot of an email in Thunderbird.

The only thing I changed a bit was the margins but they would have been fine the way they were.
It looked initially like it was going to capture the window frame as well, but it didnt

scrolling01.pngScrolling Capture Deluxe Thread

(blurred my email address after in SC)
Tom

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,718
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #55 on: January 19, 2012, 07:08:09 PM »
One suggested modification to your workflow:

Hit guess margins, THEN manually tweak them, THEN hit "guess overlaps"

Overlap guessing is based on margins, so tweaking them manually before guessing overlaps is advantageous.

Thanks for the tip -- hope to try that soon :)

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,718
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #56 on: January 19, 2012, 10:15:08 PM »
The tip about tweaking margins between the guess margins and guess overlaps steps seems to work well here for FF and Chrome  :Thmbsup:

To get better results for IE 8.z, I used "Capture Now" from the gear menu and switched "Method" for vertical scrolling to "Simulate Keypresses".

Tested with Firefox 9.x, Chrome 14.y, and IE 8.z.

praise for...
Splicing functionality from SSC is great :)

On a related note, I get confused about which mode of splicing would work well -- horizontal or vertical...when I get the answer wrong, undoing seems to get rid of the selected region...


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #57 on: January 24, 2012, 04:51:13 PM »
Ok it's time for me to roll the scrolling capture code into Screenshot Captor itself.. Now i just have to decide how to deal with non-scrolling object capture..

In current SC, when you want to capture an object or scrolling object, you trigger object captor and then click differently if you want a scrolling capture.

I could keep that the same way, or i could have it pop up a dialog as soon as you say you want to do an object/scrolling capture asking which type.. But that could slow down the workflow.  On the other hand, I dont want to make it separate functions triggered by separate hotkeys..

I could have a multi-step process where first you select an object/region using a single method -- and then get asked whether you want to: 1) just copy the image of the object, or 2) begin a scrolling capture of the object, or 3) capture text of object.

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,539
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #58 on: January 24, 2012, 04:55:48 PM »
Why not keep the current selection method, and replace the old Scrolling capture with the New And Improved! Scrolling capture? Should leave any previous workflow the same, imho.

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,303
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #59 on: January 24, 2012, 05:00:12 PM »
^+1

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,539
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #60 on: January 24, 2012, 05:05:10 PM »
Quote
Ctrl-Click is apparently caught by IE to select text. Solution (by mouser) is to use the gear button, but that's kinda out of reach with a maximized window

the new beta should show the button even on maximized window now doesn't it?

This beta improvement that made it into Minicap would be "Nice to Have" on SSC too, btw, now that you asked :D

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #61 on: January 24, 2012, 05:10:01 PM »
Quote
Why not keep the current selection method, and replace the old Scrolling capture with the New And Improved! Scrolling capture? Should leave any previous workflow the same, imho.

Yeah i guess that's mostly what i was suggesting.. The only change would be like so:

OLD METHOD:

Trigger an object/scrolling capture, see red box, move red box to where you want it, click for object capture, or shift+ctrl+click for scrolling capture, or menu for text capture.

NEW PROPOSED METHOD:

Trigger an object/scrolling capture, see red box, move red box to where you want it, click to select.  Then get presented with a dialog with your 3 choices of copy object/region previously selected, or do a scrolling capture of the region previously selected, or do a text capture of the object selected.

ANOTHER POSSIBILITY:

Trigger an object/scrolling capture, then get presented with a dialog with your 3 choices of copy object/region, or do a scrolling capture , or do a text capture, then get shown red box to position.

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,539
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #62 on: January 24, 2012, 05:38:41 PM »
Hm, is it down to that gritty detail :huh: :)

Presenting a dialog before the capture start would be really disrupting to the workflow, as it would be the only SSC capture method that presents a selection dialog before starting the actual capture (fwik). Adding that selection after making the red box selection and starting one of the Capture methods would be less disrupting imho.

Can't you add semi-floating buttons to the red box border (green rectangles in the image) or change the Suggestion/Tip-text labels into buttons (dark-blue rectangles around the labels), beats a Ctrl-Shift-Click any day :-*
Screenshot - 25-01-2012 , 00_30_14.png

Putting the labels a bit more into view on maximized Windows would be required in that case.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #63 on: January 25, 2012, 10:36:10 AM »
Ath, that is a good idea, but my first instinct is to minimize the options and features of that red box window that follows the cursor around, just because i worry about it being confusing.  Let's see if my new version is adequate.

New beta of Screenshot Captor is up that uses the new Scrolling Capture system:

http://www.donationc...nshotCaptorSetup.exe

The new system is also used to capture "objects" even when you don't want to do scrolling.

In order to make workflow efficient, instead of the fun introductory dialog that was shown in the first scrolling capture implementation -- now you get the red box right away, and after you select an object you get a dialog.

whatnow.pngScrolling Capture Deluxe Thread

One improvement in workflow is that it's now easier to understand how to do multiple OBJECT captures in a row -- useful if you want to grab various regions of a window -- and there is natural place for me to add features on window objects -- like adding an option to "capture all children windows", on the post-object-selection dialog.

Let me know what you think!
« Last Edit: January 25, 2012, 11:31:55 AM by mouser »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #64 on: January 25, 2012, 11:52:12 AM »
Tip:  I've found that firefox (and maybe other tools) sometimes fails to scroll unless you click on the web page background before beginning the actually automatic scrolling process.  I'm going to try to figure out why and fix but just a heads up you may have to do this manually if you find it not scrolling.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #65 on: January 25, 2012, 01:01:38 PM »
Quote
like adding an option to "capture all children windows/controls"

I know this is something people have asked for before.. i wonder if there are people still want this?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #66 on: January 25, 2012, 09:32:33 PM »
Minor update -- function to grab all child controls now implemented.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #67 on: January 26, 2012, 02:23:51 AM »
New version uploaded; the previous one broke the scrolling capture margin and overlap detection functionality.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,524
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #68 on: January 26, 2012, 09:33:39 AM »
Wrks well on Dopus

FF worked well once I took the focus out of this quick-reply box :)

Looking good :D
Tom

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,539
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #69 on: January 26, 2012, 03:26:08 PM »
In order to make workflow efficient, instead of the fun introductory dialog that was shown in the first scrolling capture implementation -- now you get the red box right away, and after you select an object you get a dialog.
 (see attachment in previous post)
Let me know what you think!

Mouser, man!, you did a great job! I like it this way :Thmbsup:

The dialog is a bit intimidating, larger fonts on the buttons and all, but it's pretty useful.
Be aware that you can never have enough explanation-text on that dialog, as it's IMHO quite complicated for new users. A big tooltip for each button (and enough tooltip-time to read) or a specific help link or pop-up button next to each could be needed.

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,303
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #70 on: January 26, 2012, 04:00:26 PM »
Mouser,
Nice one!
That looks pretty damned good to me  :Thmbsup:

My first reaction to setting overlaps, scrolls, margins etc. remains one of mild shock. A few trips round the block will cure me of that but I'm with Ath — a first-time user will need all the help that you can provide (as will I).

Mouser-ish eyes only
First, if you're not mouser, why the heck are you reading this?  ;D

No doubt you'll soon be addressing more clipboard formats  ;)

Current read count = 57



Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,539
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #71 on: January 26, 2012, 04:52:17 PM »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #72 on: January 26, 2012, 04:56:33 PM »
I am going to make a video showing how to use the features -- and ill try to provide quick help from that dialog so people can learn more.


Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,539
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #73 on: January 26, 2012, 05:42:48 PM »
Just found another though cookie to scroll-crack: Visual Studio 2010. It's WPF based to start with, and when scrolling it tries to keep the last line as the first line of the next page :(

I did an 'autodetect' for the scrolling method, and the default seemed just fine, setting the number of pages correct (after a test-scroll) does definitely improve the steps of guessing margins and overlap, but I can't get it to do the actual overlap correct: the overlap is not correctly guessed, and manually changing something only corrects the one that you're looking at.
I made a few snippets after making a code screenshot:
Seam of page 1 and 2:
Screenshot - 27-01-2012 , 00_21_05-page1.png
The seam is a bit too wide, the red boxes are copies of the same size, the green box is about the diff
Seam of page 2 and 3
Screenshot - 27-01-2012 , 00_21_05-page2.png
There is some overlap to be resolved, as there is actually only one line saying that, not 2
Seam of page 3 and 4
Screenshot - 27-01-2012 , 00_21_05-page3.png
More of the overlap is resolved, but still no sigar.

If I manually adjust so the third overlap is correct, only about half of the second overlap is covered. The first overlap is quite hard to view/correct.

Tomorrow or Monday (don't know when/if I have enough time to be playing with this) at work I'll try to scroll-capture another WPF application, to see if that is working somewhat better.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Scrolling Capture Deluxe Thread
« Reply #74 on: January 26, 2012, 06:13:16 PM »
Ok so a few things to try:

1. remember the LAST page overlap may be different from rest -- so when you get to last page use the special last page overlap setting.

2. if you find that you cant get the overlap values to line up stuff -- it's possible your MARGINS for top and bottom are off. try tweaking those.