Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 01, 2015, 07:09:43 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: word 2010 opening always in draft mode. Possible?  (Read 2405 times)

urlwolf

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,794
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
word 2010 opening always in draft mode. Possible?
« on: January 05, 2012, 02:47:26 PM »
I want word 2010 opening always in draft mode. Is this possible?
I'd also love a keyboard shortcut to create a new word doc (.doc) in explorer. If anyone has solved this problem, please let me know.
I'm leaving notetaking apps behind and working straight at the filesystem. I'm also abandoning fancy file managers; explorer's built-in search is very powerful.

Thanks!

Perry Mowbray

  • N.A.N.Y. Organizer
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,809
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: word 2010 opening always in draft mode. Possible?
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2012, 08:52:16 PM »
Is it the same as 2007: http://www.lifehacker.com.au/2008/07/get_word_2007_to_use_draft_mode_as_default?

Edit: You'll also need to save your Normal template in Draft View as well as "Allowing it to open in Draft View"
« Last Edit: January 05, 2012, 09:26:28 PM by Perry Mowbray »

urlwolf

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,794
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: word 2010 opening always in draft mode. Possible?
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2012, 03:35:38 AM »
Thanks Perry, this works.
Does anybody know the solution to the second problem?
Maybe the ahk forums have solved this...

Perry Mowbray

  • N.A.N.Y. Organizer
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,809
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: word 2010 opening always in draft mode. Possible?
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2012, 03:56:51 AM »
Thanks Perry, this works.
Does anybody know the solution to the second problem?
Maybe the ahk forums have solved this...

Why hasn't Word done it itself on installation? I have Word in my New Context Menu??

urlwolf

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,794
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: word 2010 opening always in draft mode. Possible?
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2012, 10:20:49 AM »
The new context is not a keyboard shortcut, is it?
And, even if I used the right mouse button, it does .docx. I need .doc (for gdocs to sync correctly).

Perry Mowbray

  • N.A.N.Y. Organizer
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,809
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: word 2010 opening always in draft mode. Possible?
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2012, 03:47:40 PM »
Would something like this help: http://www.lopesoft.com/en/index.html ??