Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 28, 2016, 03:47:35 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Entering Text  (Read 2145 times)

nofat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Entering Text
« on: December 22, 2011, 08:27:58 AM »
When I select an area to add text, then type it in, how do I get the select box to go away and the text to stay. It disappears if I left click outside the text box, but the box remains. Thanks, I'm a rookie at this.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,142
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Entering Text
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2011, 08:40:51 AM »
I'm not sure exactly what you are asking, but I wonder if this video will help: http://www.donationc.../dc/3ds/sc8/sc8.html

More videos here: http://www.donationc....com/screencasts/sc/

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,736
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Entering Text
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2011, 08:41:33 AM »
Did you activate the 'Text object' toolbar button to draw a text rectangle and type the text in there?

Screenshot - 22-12-2011 , 15_38_00.png

nofat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Entering Text
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2011, 10:27:05 AM »
Sorry, I'm new at this. I did activate the ext bar, set the colors for text, selected the size box, typed the text and everything looks great. What do I do next? If i click outside the box, the text is still there, but hardly visible. How do I finish the text entry to make it stay that way instead of getting dimmed out. What is the step to finish the text entry? Thanks, I'm an amateur trying to figure this out.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,142
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Entering Text
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2011, 10:38:06 AM »
No need to apologize -- you can bet that if you're having this problem, others are too.

If the text is barely visible -- it sounds like maybe you have a transparency value set low, or a strange blend mode.  And if you're still seeing the box around the text and don't want to, uncheck the "border color" box.

Bottom line: Select the text box and adjust the options in the panel that will show up on your right.

nofat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Entering Text
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2011, 11:06:38 AM »
Thx,
After I enter the text in the box, it looks great. I still have the text entry box visible and I want to leave the text the way it is. If I click outside the text entry box, the text goes dim. I don't understand how to keep the modification the way it is in the text entry box. I i hit enter, it just drops the cursor down a line. I just want to complete the text entry and keep it the way it is. After it goes dim, if I double click in the text entry box, it reappears in full brightness again. Thanks again.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,142
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Entering Text
« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2011, 11:29:48 AM »
Try setting:

Blend Mode: NORMAL
Transparency: 255

Does that do what you want?

nofat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Entering Text
« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2011, 11:47:45 AM »
Thanks so much for your time. The blend on mine was set to multiply, and when I changed it to normal and upped the transparency to 255, it worked. Thanks again. Your program is great and I'll be happy to donate if I can figure out how to do all this stuff.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,142
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Entering Text
« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2011, 11:50:04 AM »
Glad we could help -- and thank you for being so willing to ask questions and not get frustrated.    :Thmbsup: