Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 12:18:46 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads  (Read 22126 times)

IainB

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 6,139
  • Slartibartfarst
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #50 on: December 18, 2011, 12:12:14 AM »
@mahesh2k: That's curious. I don't get any such adverts - none at all, in fact.
Maybe it is the ABP lists that I subscribe to - or NoScript? (I already mentioned above that NoScript  is complementary to ABP + ABP EHH).

IainB

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 6,139
  • Slartibartfarst
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #51 on: December 18, 2011, 12:17:15 AM »
@app103: Thanks. I did all those steps. No go.
So, if it's not a mistake, then maybe that CSS script has a conflict with something else in my add-ons and it just gets nullified.
I don't know anything much about CSS script (though it seems pretty straightforward).
I know nothing about relevant priorities or potential conflicts of these scripts and add-ons.

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,666
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #52 on: December 18, 2011, 01:40:56 PM »
@app103: Thanks. I did all those steps. No go.
So, if it's not a mistake, then maybe that CSS script has a conflict with something else in my add-ons and it just gets nullified.
I don't know anything much about CSS script (though it seems pretty straightforward).
I know nothing about relevant priorities or potential conflicts of these scripts and add-ons.

The file does not exist by default. You have to create it. There is a sample file included, which contains "sample" as part of the file name. Use that one, following the instructions inside the file about where to paste the code, then change the file name to userContent.css (Be careful, there is also another file sample for userChrome. Don't use that one for this!)

Also, make sure you are placing it in the correct profile. Each Firefox profile should have their own. I once made this mistake and wondered for the longest time what I was doing wrong.

IainB

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 6,139
  • Slartibartfarst
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #53 on: December 18, 2011, 08:20:26 PM »
@app103: Thanks again.
Well, I triple-checked, and I had (as I said) done it "by the book" - which was also exactly as you had directed, I think.
The file path is: C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\2vuv8r8c.default\chrome\userContent.css
That was where the example file was also, which I copied, renamed and edited to include the script you provided.
Couldn't be simpler - right?     :(

Content of that userContent.css file:
Spoiler
/*
 * Edit this file and copy it as userContent.css into your
 * profile-directory/chrome/
 */

/*
 * This file can be used to apply a style to all web pages you view
 * Rules without !important are overruled by author rules if the
 * author sets any.  Rules with !important overrule author rules.
 */

/*
 * example: turn off "blink" element blinking
 *
 * blink { text-decoration: none ! important; }
 *
 */

/*
 * example: give all tables a 2px border
 *
 * table { border: 2px solid; }
 */

/*
 * example: turn off "marquee" element
 *
 * marquee { -moz-binding: none; }
 *
 */
 
/*
 * For more examples see http://www.mozilla.o...nix/customizing.html
 */

  /* BEGIN Google ad tweaks */
 @-moz-document domain("google.com"){
 
     #tads{
         border:5px solid red !important;
     }
     .std{
         border:5px solid red !important;
     }
     #tadsb{
         border:5px solid red !important;
     }
 
 }
  /* END Google ad tweaks */

« Last Edit: December 18, 2011, 08:28:09 PM by IainB »

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,666
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #54 on: December 18, 2011, 09:18:27 PM »
@IainB: I can not see where the problem is. All looks good to me.

Perhaps Stylish might work.

IainB

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 6,139
  • Slartibartfarst
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #55 on: December 19, 2011, 04:39:01 AM »
A-hah! Some sort of success!? Found this quite by chance.
Why the red border works here and not on a Google search is a mystery.
19_641x456_AA37C29C.png

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,666
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #56 on: December 19, 2011, 05:03:24 AM »
Are you using a localized version of Google search by any chance? If so, the domain name needs to be changed in the code to match your localized version.

If you have done that and it still isn't working, the ID names may be different in the pages you are viewing.  If they don't match the list I gave, it won't work.

The one in Google Groups that is showing the red outline, the ID name must match one of the ones in the set I provided. That's why it is showing up there, instead.

IainB

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 6,139
  • Slartibartfarst
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #57 on: December 19, 2011, 09:15:34 AM »
@app103: Of course. It was right under my nose.
I am in New Zealand, and every time I send a search to Google, it gets transformed into google.co.nz.
It's very annoying. I can't see how to defeat it entirely in the awesome bar, but I read in a help forum that you could force the .com if you use:
http://www.google.com/ncr
- that returns you to google.com

How could I make the CSS script:
@-moz-document domain("google.com") OR @-moz-document domain("google.co.nz")
- or am I stuck with one domain only?

Could I fix this in the about:config instead? (Can't see how.)

Sorry to bother you.

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #58 on: December 19, 2011, 09:31:01 AM »
It's probobably your local DNS server translating .com to .co.nz - have you tired using alternative DNS servers?

Google have public DNS servers:

8.8.8.8
8.8.4.4

see http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/

4wd

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,474
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #59 on: December 19, 2011, 08:55:03 PM »
It's probobably your local DNS server translating .com to .co.nz .....

I run my own DNS server and it doesn't make a difference here, (even using Googles DNS servers).

I think it's more a case of Google reading your IP location and bringing up the localised version.  If I run a VPN into the UK or Germany then I'll get .co.uk or .de if I type in www.google.com

Alternatively, (in Firefox), if you have Google.com set as your search engine and click on the search icon in the input area, (with no text input), you'll go the Google.com page.
« Last Edit: December 19, 2011, 09:06:37 PM by 4wd »

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,666
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #60 on: December 19, 2011, 09:02:09 PM »
How could I make the CSS script:
@-moz-document domain("google.com") OR @-moz-document domain("google.co.nz")
- or am I stuck with one domain only?

You will have to create a set for each domain name by pasting the code into the file twice..

Use @-moz-document domain("google.com") for one of them and @-moz-document domain("google.co.nz") for the other. No promises that the ID names will match the ones used in the page of the localized version. Test it and let me know if it works, and if it doesn't, I'll take a look at the google.co.nz page and see what is going on.

mahesh2k

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,417
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #61 on: December 20, 2011, 01:05:57 AM »
Thanks app for the fix. By the way I do have issue like IanB with regional google domain. I'll see if i can fix that. In between ABP autoupdated itself and this message popped up.

http://img829.imageshack.us/img829/5816/29abp.jpg
AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads

IainB

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 6,139
  • Slartibartfarst
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #62 on: December 20, 2011, 06:14:05 AM »
How could I make the CSS script:
@-moz-document domain("google.com") OR @-moz-document domain("google.co.nz")
- or am I stuck with one domain only?
You will have to create a set for each domain name by pasting the code into the file twice..

Use @-moz-document domain("google.com") for one of them and @-moz-document domain("google.co.nz") for the other. No promises that the ID names will match the ones used in the page of the localized version. Test it and let me know if it works, and if it doesn't, I'll take a look at the google.co.nz page and see what is going on.

Done it. It now seems to work OK. Thanks.
The red border appears on adverts in both domains.
To be able to see the adverts in the first place, it looks as though I need to disable these FF add-ons: (requires FF restart)
  • AdBlock Plus
  • ABP Element Hiding Helper
  • NoScript
Thanks for all the tips folks!

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,327
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #63 on: December 20, 2011, 06:23:24 AM »
Thanks app for the fix. By the way I do have issue like IanB with regional google domain. I'll see if i can fix that. In between ABP autoupdated itself and this message popped up.

yeah, got that message too
Tom

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 8,406
  • "In my dreams, I always do it right."
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #64 on: October 27, 2012, 12:34:11 PM »
Adblock plus just upgrade on my Chrome installation.  It now blocks even less ads!  I had it set to not block ads from friendly sites, and it blocked intrusive video ads from facebook.  Now it doesn't.  And it was literally before upgrade (blocked) and after upgrade (same page didn't).  So I turned off the non-intrusive ads thinking that it had miscategorized, and they were still not blocked.

I think Adblock Plus is definitely selling out, slowly but surely.

Josh

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Points: -5
  • Posts: 3,395
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #65 on: October 27, 2012, 12:36:59 PM »
Seeing the same thing as wraith here.

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 8,406
  • "In my dreams, I always do it right."
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #66 on: October 27, 2012, 01:35:00 PM »
Even worse- I found out the domain the ads were coming from, and added them as rules.  They *still* are not blocked, even when I make them as simple as possible.  That would seem to mean that ABP has exceptions built-in the extension.

40hz

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 11,768
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #67 on: October 27, 2012, 02:49:57 PM »
Even worse- I found out the domain the ads were coming from, and added them as rules.  They *still* are not blocked, even when I make them as simple as possible.  That would seem to mean that ABP has exceptions built-in the extension.

Yeah ditto. I noticed that too and assumed I was just doing something wrong or not understanding.

Leads me to strongly suspect the developers may have backdoored their own extension.

« Last Edit: October 27, 2012, 02:55:05 PM by 40hz »

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #68 on: October 27, 2012, 03:22:01 PM »
adblock is not able to block the faint-yellow google ads on top of your searches now.  The explanation I've heard is that google has changed the default search protocol from http to https (you can see in your address bar).  Ad muncher is still able to block them, even though ad muncher doesn't yet support filtering https pages.

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #69 on: October 27, 2012, 03:35:46 PM »
So I turned off the non-intrusive ads thinking that it had miscategorized, and they were still not blocked.
Bad, bad, bad and FSCKING BAD!

Sounds like it's really something happening in the extension and not the filterlists. I can understand why it might be happening, money makes the world go round... but even I would have had the guts to at least make an announcement about selling my soul before I did it :/

So... does anybody have an archive of ABP .xpi files? Should be possible to diff the stuff and see what's happened.
- carpe noctem

J-Mac

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 2,913
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #70 on: October 29, 2012, 03:13:34 PM »
I've been using Ad Muncher for a couple years now and ALL the ads people have posted here that are getting through are blocked by Ad Muncher on my computer, in both Firefox and Chrome. I know it costs money but it is well worth it IMO.

Thanks!

Jim

Jibz

  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,126
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #71 on: October 29, 2012, 03:20:42 PM »
Ad Muncher has worked well for me too, and the authors have been quick to fix the few issues I've had -- but it is worth mentioning that it does not filter https connections, so you will get adds on sites like facebook.

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 8,406
  • "In my dreams, I always do it right."
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #72 on: October 29, 2012, 04:22:41 PM »
^ I found out that this is what is happening.  ABP used to block the https ads, but now it isn't, unless you block the whole domain.  I'm not sure of the reasoning behind this, but it was definitely not because of a lack of ability as they were blocked before the latest update.

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: AdBlock Plus To Not Block All Ads
« Reply #73 on: October 29, 2012, 04:29:17 PM »
^ I found out that this is what is happening.  ABP used to block the https ads, but now it isn't, unless you block the whole domain.  I'm not sure of the reasoning behind this, but it was definitely not because of a lack of ability as they were blocked before the latest update.
yup.  ad muncher also does NOT have formal support for https, but all those ads are still blocked.  ABP can do the same also if they wanted to...but seems like they don't want to.  Probably getting too big to care about what people actually want; that seems to be the story these days.