Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site November 29, 2014, 01:30:30 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2010! Download 24 custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Version File (without opening)  (Read 1294 times)
Contro
Participant
*
Posts: 2,179

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: November 14, 2011, 03:36:40 PM »

Version File (without opening)

I use autocad 2002. The new dwg from newer versions are not opened with autocad 2002. Need conversion.

I would an utility to see, without open, what autocad version opens that dwg.

Best Regards
Logged
Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,269



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2011, 04:50:44 PM »

I found this shell-extension, but it's rather old and 32 bit only: http://www.cushat.co.uk/di/ (and there's another s.e. on that site adding a column in Windows Explorer)
And that link comes from this thread in the AUGI forums, that also reveals some interesting info on how to determine the version smiley

And this AutoCAD Blog entry shows all known release numbers, so we can guess/ interpolate the correct AC10xx numbers Cool and all file-identifiers are in a list a bit lower on the page thumbs up
« Last Edit: November 14, 2011, 05:12:48 PM by Ath; Reason: added/corrected blog entry info » Logged

Contro
Participant
*
Posts: 2,179

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2011, 07:32:27 PM »

Nice help indeed. I was trying myself.

DWGicon.dll from the first link for some reason don't give result on my pc under windows xp pro sp3 32 bit.

So, the simple and effective solution of : Open the file in Notepad (or some other ASCII or HEX editor) and read the first 6 bytes , offered by your second link is perfect.

I have tried two programs more from

http://www.cadstudio.cz/dl_file.asp?ID=111
(is not english, seems from Polland and the option to examine and browse to the dwg to study is : procházet
But for me is equal or less confortable than the simple and effective solution of the notepad and read the first 6 bytes)

http://www.jmsware.com/index.html

The AVE is perfect as a browser for the occasion. And with a look we can determine the version of several files.

and the other program
AcadPVI Shell Extension from the same web I am having problems just now because distort the contextual menu. .... :
A Screenshot :



Shutdown and enter again don't solve the issue.....

Thank a lot for your help.
Best Regards
 tongue
« Last Edit: November 14, 2011, 07:40:31 PM by Contro » Logged
Contro
Participant
*
Posts: 2,179

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2011, 07:42:08 PM »

Anyone knows how to solve that disfunction editing the options of the contextual menu or something ?

Best Regards
 embarassed
Logged
Shades
Member
**
Posts: 1,683


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2011, 12:27:05 PM »

When "hovering" the mouse pointer over a file in Directory Opus (v10), all kinds of info are shown about the file in a small pop-up box, including version. This is also shown in a column from the 'details view' inside DOpus if you want.

I assume that using any decent file manager will have this (basic) functionality covered.
Logged
Contro
Participant
*
Posts: 2,179

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2011, 01:23:49 PM »

I installed and make proof. For the moment, and inside Directory Opus I see the menu contextual correctly. As the programmer of the AcadPVI shell extension has a forum I have ask for join. Perhaps he can solves this little problem.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.026s | Server load: 0.01 ]