Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 03, 2015, 07:57:13 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Problem - Conflicts with simple Excel VBA code for pasting object  (Read 3079 times)

wideeyedguy

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
With CHS running in the background - when I try to run a simple VBA code to paste an object into an Excel worksheet, I get an error message pointing to one line of code - ActiveSheet.Paste.

on 11-02-2011.png

This macro has been working perfectly for several months now, but after installing CHS, it now fails. After I Quit CHS from running the macro will execute just fine as before.

I've been experimenting with CHS to see how I can incorporate in to my work flow, but this will be the killer for me being able to use this utility.

Can you help?

weg

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,999
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem - Conflicts with simple Excel VBA code for pasting object
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2011, 08:42:13 AM »
I think i remember this coming up beore.. doesn't anyone remember if we figured out what the problem was caused by and any workaround?

If you tell CHS to ignore capturing from exce (Capture Options tab), does that fix it?

wideeyedguy

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem - Conflicts with simple Excel VBA code for pasting object
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2011, 09:12:22 AM »

If you tell CHS to ignore capturing from exce (Capture Options tab), does that fix it?
That appears to allow the paste action (macro) to work in Excel. But, of course, now CHS will not
capture copy clips from within Excel. Not good since I use Excel 80% of my work time.

Thoughts?

weg

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,999
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem - Conflicts with simple Excel VBA code for pasting object
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2011, 09:21:10 AM »
i wonder if CHS is stopping further clipboard processing when it shouldn't..

anyone have experience with other clipboard tools -- does excel freak out with all of them?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,999
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem - Conflicts with simple Excel VBA code for pasting object
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2011, 09:29:16 AM »
See if you can find some option in excel to disable some "Office Clipboard" functionality or something similar.  It's so typical that *microsoft* does non-standard things that break their software from working properly with other programs.

rgdot

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 1,800
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem - Conflicts with simple Excel VBA code for pasting object
« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2011, 10:23:27 AM »
Some versions of office have 'Paste Special' (Edit--->Paste Special). Might be worth a look at its options.

Ampa

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 592
  • I am cute ;)
    • View Profile
    • MonkeyDash - 2 Player strategy boardgame
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem - Conflicts with simple Excel VBA code for pasting object
« Reply #6 on: November 02, 2011, 11:08:42 AM »
For me it is FARR (with KlipKeeper) that freaks out Excel.

I frequently get "The Clipboard cannot be emptied. Another program might be using the Clipboard".

I hit OK and the copy paste (or drag and drop) usually seems to work anyway... but it is a frustration none the less!