Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 03, 2015, 12:13:19 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: ?Typing in arrow text boxes; no line wrap?  (Read 1824 times)

cathie28

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
?Typing in arrow text boxes; no line wrap?
« on: October 25, 2011, 03:15:49 PM »
I'm new to SSC (2.102.02).  Not exactly sure of main purpose of text box created w/ arrows.  Appears, can only type the text in tiny box in options area, rather than clicking / typing directly in created text box?  Are the boxes created w/ arrows (vs text boxes) intended to have only a few letters / couple words?  I must be missing something - if that's the only way to enter text, seems cumbersome.  Since no word wrap on it, leads me to think only intended for labels vs sentences. 

Text box font size can be adjusted in SSC, but FWIW, the font size selected in arrow options doesn't appear on screen anywhere near size chosen.  Font size of 20 in arrow text font size would be much larger than a 100% screen capture text.  It's not - it's smaller than my browser screen font - set at 16. 

Is there a way to automatically put a thin, colored border (line) around a caption "border" (which is really a blank, white box)?                       

I notice that if captured text from web page is reduced a moderate amt - 20% - image of text seems more degraded than some other screen capture prgms.  Is there a way to improve that?

Thanks.

ralfs

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ?Typing in arrow text boxes; no line wrap?
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2011, 12:11:11 PM »
In SSC this is no textbox but an arrow-endpoint-text. So you can only type in text in the menufield.

Line wraps are typed by "\n" (e.g. xxx \nyyy).

If the text size is much bigger than on the 100% captured screen, I think the dpi-value in preferences > image file format is not correct.
For most monitors 96 dpi works correctly.
Ralf

cathie28

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ?Typing in arrow text boxes; no line wrap?
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2011, 09:16:40 AM »
Thanks.  Again, given your explanation on certain usage of the arrow endpoint text (box), & it's limitations, tiny menu field & tiny font (while typing), manual commands for line wrap, etc., I'm not sure of its main purpose.  Just entering A word or label?

I think you misunderstood my statement.  In the "real" text boxes (not arrow end point), w/ 96 dpi (default) in prefs settings, & 20 font size, on a 100 % size screen capture, the ACTUAL SSC on - screen text box font appears barely as large than the screen capture font.  My MAX Firefox font size is 16.

Normally, 20 pt font would be quite LARGE.  The 20 pt text box font appears no larger than the assumed 16 pt from browser screen captures.

Also, Arial is (default) selected as font in SSC text box options.  The font actually shown in text boxes is obviously NOT Arial - more like Times New Roman, or something.  That would appear to be a bug.

When attaching files to posts here, after clicking Browse for attachment & selecting file, there is no "Add File" or "Attach" button on my screen.  It doesn't indicate the file(s) have been attached successfully until AFTER POSTING - not even during preview.  Once users have browsed & selected a file for attachment, should be another button on UI to add or attach it (& buttons to delete them).  

Most forums show file name that was attached immediately, after browsing & "Adding."  This is the 1st forum I can recall, that if allow attachments, doesn't actually have an "Add (selected) File" button, after or near the Browse button.

Re:  Help page on adding attachments.  Shows examples like "attachthumb=#", yet when attaching files, I don't see any numbering associated w/ them.  Another possible forum UI issue?

 SSC text box font ex. 2011-10-27.png?Typing in arrow text boxes; no line wrap?
« Last Edit: October 27, 2011, 09:34:42 AM by cathie28 »