Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 31, 2015, 08:56:08 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: IDEA: Detect no audio input  (Read 5300 times)

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,122
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
IDEA: Detect no audio input
« on: March 17, 2006, 01:47:03 PM »
Hi,

I'm recording stuff from an external source. Since this is automated I'd like some very visible indicator that would warn me if something's wrong with the external devices, meaning there's no input to AUX at all for more than a minute. Maybe a tiny blue icon that would start to flash in red? Or a tiny (above all others) window in the screen corner? Or something else?

Could that be done? Any idea?
« Last Edit: March 18, 2006, 04:18:59 AM by brotherS »

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,122
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Detect no audio input
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2006, 06:47:11 AM »
If anyone knows a program that could do a part of this idea, please let me know.

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,122
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Detect no audio input
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2006, 02:54:55 AM »
I guess I'll just use a different setup to make it work better... :-/

noth(a)nk.you

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
  • More than meets the eye.
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Detect no audio input
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2006, 09:39:33 AM »
This is probably not what you're looking for, but:
You could wire up a multimeter to your AUX input.  When the readout stops going crazy, you're not getting any signal.    :-[