Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 06, 2016, 10:07:10 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Icon for alias group?  (Read 2703 times)

highend01

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Icon for alias group?
« on: September 27, 2011, 03:28:08 AM »
Hi,

I've defined two alias groups (inside myaliases.alias).

".s1" (without quotation marks) with:
OpenVPN | D:\Users\%USERNAME%\Tools\OpenVPN\_OpenVPN.exe
AdMuncher | D:\Users\%USERNAME%\Tools\AdMuncher\AdMunch.exe
Clipboard | D:\Users\%USERNAME%\Tools\CHS\ClipboardHelpAndSpell.exe

and
".s2"
XYplorer | D:\Users\%USERNAME%\Tools\XYplorer\xyplorer.exe
Chrome | D:\Users\%USERNAME%\Tools\Chrome\Chrome [%USERNAME%].lnk
Outlook | C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Microsoft Office 2010\Microsoft Outlook 2010.lnk

when I invoke FARR and type in "." or ".s" I can see both groups but (and that's the annoying part) the icon in front of the alias group name
is a "C:\" Dos command prompt window icon.

Is there any way to define a better icon for these two groups?

Regards,
highend

ali79

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Icon for alias group?
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2011, 08:14:09 AM »
Add the following to each of your alias

/ICON=Path_to_your_ico_file


for example, I have installed farr in c:\farr so to add a sysutils icon that comes with far:

OpenVPN | D:\Users\%USERNAME%\Tools\OpenVPN\_OpenVPN.exe /ICON=C:\Farr\AliasGroups\Installed\Core_Aliases\Core-SysUtils.ico

You need to do this for every alias in your group, and you can have different icons for each AFAIT.


highend01

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Icon for alias group?
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2011, 08:21:39 AM »
Assigning icons to all items in a alias group changes the icon for the whole group?

All entries inside a group are displayed with the correct icon when I write out the full alias groupname (like ".s1" or ".s2").

Unbenannt.png

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Icon for alias group?
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2011, 08:53:07 AM »
The other way to do this is to create a new .alias file for your alias groups (instead of using myalias.alias), and put your aliases in that file.
Easiest way is to just go in your file system and make a copy of myaliases.alias file and edit it with a text editor.

Then if farr finds a .ico file with same name as your alias file, it will use that as the default when displaying alias results.

So for example, if you created highend.alias file and put your aliases in that file, and then put a highend.ico file in that directory, it would use that icon.

highend01

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Icon for alias group?
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2011, 09:17:47 AM »
I did what you've suggested Mouser but now the .ico file ("highend_start[1].ico") for the alias group ("highend_start[1].alias") is used for all entries inside the group^^

Do I really have to append the /icon= for every icon in an alias group now to be able to use a different icon for the group (e.g. with your "make a new .alias file and provide an .ico file for it)?

E.g. I still have a different group in myaliases.alias file name ".editor"
It contains these three entries:
EditPlus | D:\Tools\EditPlus\editplus.exe
Notepad | C:\Users\%USERNAME%\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Accessories\Notepad.lnk
Word 2010 | C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Microsoft Office 2010\Microsoft Word 2010.lnk

If I unfold the group by entering it all three items have their own original .exe's icon AND the icon for the complete group is NOT a DOS Command prompt but it shows the icon from the first entry inside the group (in this case: the icon of EditPlus):

Unbenannt.png

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Icon for alias group?
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2011, 10:01:01 AM »
highend, can you check and confirm that the problem is related to the %USERNAME% in the result path.
If you change those to a pure directory without the variable does it pick up the icons ok then?
If so, i can fix.

highend01

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Icon for alias group?
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2011, 10:34:53 AM »
Quote
If you change those to a pure directory without the variable does it pick up the icons ok then?

Yes, I can confirm this.

Changing %USERNAME% in both .alias files to a real path will show the correct icon for all entries in each alias group again.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Icon for alias group?
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2011, 10:36:55 AM »
ok i will fix in next release; ill try to have that out before monday.

highend01

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2011
  • **
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Icon for alias group?
« Reply #8 on: September 27, 2011, 10:37:51 AM »
Thank you, Mouser.