topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Thursday March 28, 2024, 3:30 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: keyboard shortcuts  (Read 8821 times)

alexp

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 41
  • Is cheese the plural of choose?????
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
keyboard shortcuts
« on: March 16, 2006, 09:32 AM »
I don't know about anyone else but I hate installing the logitech drivers but I'm kinda forced to or I have a few keys on my keyboard which don't do much other than look pretty.

Does anyone know of any way (other than installing the drivers) to be able to map actions to these keys?
Why is it that writers write, but fingers don't fing, grocers don't groce, and hammers don't ham? If the plural of tooth is teeth, why isn't the plural of booth beeth? One goose, 2 geese. So, one moose, 2 meese? One index, two indices? Is cheese the plural of choose?

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: keyboard shortcuts
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2006, 09:45 AM »
www.autohotkey.com ;)
It can map any virtual key, so, that shouldn't be a big problem.

m_s

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: keyboard shortcuts
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2006, 10:06 AM »
I really like the on-screen volume display that's available through HotKeys (http://www.qliner.com/hotkeys/), but I haven't managed to map it to the volume control keys on my laptop keyboard - could I do this with AHK?

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: keyboard shortcuts
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2006, 10:13 AM »
map it to the volume control keys on my laptop keyboard - could I do this with AHK?
I myself have a laptop, and i used to use ahk for that (when i had an alternative shell that didn't do it), so, i guess it can be done.

m_s

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: keyboard shortcuts
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2006, 10:29 AM »
I've just been playing with it, and it certainly seems that the hardware keys can be mapped - but I don't understand how to link that input to the volume module in HotKeys...

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: keyboard shortcuts
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2006, 10:42 AM »
At the bottom of this page,there is an explanation on how to find the virtual key code you're looking for.
Then, make an hotkey with it, and give it the command soundset.
Hope this helps! :D

m_s

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: keyboard shortcuts
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2006, 11:10 AM »
Okay, I've got a key value for the hardware vol down: 174, and 175 for the hardware vol up.  That works fine for making an increment in the volume setting - but what I want to do is to link that to what happens when I hold down WinKey+PgDn (volume down) or WinKey+PgUp (volume up), which is definied by the Qliner HotKeys volume module. 

I'm certain this is very simple...  But I don't understand it!

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: keyboard shortcuts
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2006, 11:19 AM »
Oh, i think what you're looking for, is the Send command. You can send the key {volume_down}, or {volume_up}, instead of using the soundset command, which alters the volume directlly.

m_s

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: keyboard shortcuts
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2006, 11:54 AM »
I am extremely stupid, but I can't work this out...  I think I have understood that I need to have somehow got AHK to understand that when the particular hardware button is pressed, it should map that keypress to the key combination to decrease, increase, or mute the volume (Win+PgDn, Win+PgUp, Win+End respectively) - so I'm not trying to make it increase (or whatever) the volume, but just to simulate the keypress.  But I don't understand the syntax, and it's taking me ages of trying different combinations to get it...  Can someone tell me?

This is what I've got - but it doesn't work! - where am I going wrong?

SC174::Send #&{PgDn}
SC175::Send #&{PgUp}
Return

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: keyboard shortcuts
« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2006, 12:09 PM »
SORRY m_s!
I really shoud have informed myself before saying anything.
here's the solution for your problem (i think):

hotkey,SC174,down
hotkey,SC175,up
return

down:
Send,#&{PgDn}
return

up:
Send,#&{PgUp}
return
It seems that for creating a hotkey with VK/SC, this syntax has to be used.
Basically, on the first part, you declare the hotkeys, then, when each of one is pressed, the program goes to the label that it's designed to go.

Very sorry to have caused you so much stress.. ;)

m_s

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: keyboard shortcuts
« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2006, 12:19 PM »
Thank you!  I also had the incorrect value - I understand why, and it comes down to me not reading the instructions (as so often!).  Anyway, in case there are any other ZD7010EA users out there using HotKeys, here's the correct script:

hotkey,SC12E,down
hotkey,SC130,up
hotkey,SC120,mute
return

down:
Send,#{PgDn}
return

up:
Send,#{PgUp}
return

mute:
send,#{End}
return


Thanks so much, jgpaiva!
« Last Edit: March 16, 2006, 12:57 PM by m_s »

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: keyboard shortcuts
« Reply #11 on: March 16, 2006, 12:46 PM »
Good to know it works!

Hope it'll be useful to others. BTW, alexp did you solve your problem?


(ps: m_s please change your post, and put the code under the tag Code (the black # above the OK smilie), so as everyone understands it better)

alexp

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 41
  • Is cheese the plural of choose?????
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: keyboard shortcuts
« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2006, 12:47 AM »
It hasn't solved my problem yet, I need to try and find some time inbetween all my uni work to give it a shot.
Why is it that writers write, but fingers don't fing, grocers don't groce, and hammers don't ham? If the plural of tooth is teeth, why isn't the plural of booth beeth? One goose, 2 geese. So, one moose, 2 meese? One index, two indices? Is cheese the plural of choose?