topbanner_forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Thursday March 28, 2024, 5:59 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Photography and Camera Related  (Read 12452 times)

tomos

• Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Photography and Camera Related
« on: May 02, 2018, 05:00 AM »
I'll chance starting a topic with some photography and camera related news that I think might be of interest here.

I'm no expert, but do follow a couple of sites, in particular www.dpreview.com and www.imaging-resource.com/
Feel free to contribute.
Not sure whether do it as one link per post, or multiple. (We'll see how it goes.)

EDIT// stripped 'News' out of the title, as the thread, so far, is some news, but also nice pics, and simply 'of interest' posts e.g. how camera sensors work below
Tom
« Last Edit: May 04, 2018, 05:58 AM by tomos »

tomos

• Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Photography and Camera Related News
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2018, 05:18 AM »
SmugMug snaps up Flickr, promises 'the future is bright'
Published Apr 23, 2018 -- not much info available as of writing; comments are of interest -- some discussion of alternatives, generally positive comments about Flickr as is.

Tiny micro-camera sensor is self-powered by light
As one of the commenters says: "What's the betting that there is a heat detecting version mooted that will power up as soon as a warm blooded creature is in the vicinity."

Casey Neistat has his own style which you may or may not like, but he does a lot of interesting stuff. Here compares a $35 smartphone zoom lens with a $7,000 super zoom lens (link starts video at 1:12)
https://youtu.be/oGxsEpRWgmg?t=1m12s

Tom

rjbull