Website Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 30, 2015, 10:58:20 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Dimscreen support of multi monitors  (Read 2703 times)

Brakkar

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Dimscreen support of multi monitors
« on: July 01, 2011, 08:18:47 AM »
Hi,
is it possible to have the original dimscreen support multi monitors ?
Cause current version, will only affect principal.

Thanks,
Brak'

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,390
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Dimscreen support of multi monitors
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2011, 10:28:04 AM »
Please try the DimScreen mod I made awhile back.  Let me know if it works for you.  Thanks.

http://www.donationc....msg202081#msg202081

Brakkar

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Dimscreen support of multi monitors
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2011, 10:46:26 AM »
Thanks a lot, works really well.
I prefered the % settings accessible like the other version though: this version seems only allow to set at start or with hotkeys.

Cordially,
Brak

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,390
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Dimscreen support of multi monitors
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2011, 11:01:40 AM »
I prefered the % settings accessible like the other version though

I was afraid of that.  Here's a version with just the multimonitor change:

http://skwire.dcmemb...ks/DimScreenMod2.zip

Make sure you delete your DimScreen.ini before running this...

Brakkar

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Dimscreen support of multi monitors
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2011, 11:08:49 AM »
Thanks, I just made a donation

Brakkar

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Dimscreen support of multi monitors
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2011, 11:23:05 AM »
Also, just to know: how does this software works exactly ? It doesn't change real screen brightness right ?

Is there any risk of screen calibration modification ? Or damage ?

Anyway, it does the job better than anything that adjust real screen brightness setting.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,390
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Dimscreen support of multi monitors
« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2011, 11:42:16 AM »
Thanks, I just made a donation

Thanks a lot.   :D

Also, just to know: how does this software works exactly ? It doesn't change real screen brightness right ?

All it does is create a black GUI window the size of your entire desktop.  The GUI is set to always on top, disabled, and click-through.  Then, it makes that black GUI transparent to the level you choose.  This is what creates the "dimming" effect.  You're actually clicking through a transparent window.  Make sense?

Is there any risk of screen calibration modification ? Or damage ?

It doesn't change or mess with your monitor calibration at all.