Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 04:58:01 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Free (and opensource) Hotkey Tool - Tip!  (Read 4994 times)

crono

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Free (and opensource) Hotkey Tool - Tip!
« on: March 09, 2006, 08:21:32 AM »
Hi,

today (30 min ago) I found a really cool Hotkey Tool. Check out http://www.qliner.com/hotkeys/ ( http://qlinerhotkeys.sourceforge.net/ )

I love the concept of assigning Hotkeys to the [win]+X Button. Holding [win] for 5 Seconds will bring up a Software Keyboard with all assigned Shotcuts. I instantly fell in love with this feature :-). I'm going to write (at least a mini) Review when I gained more "hands-on" experience with the tool... The coolest thing since Screenshot CaptorĀ  :-*

bye bye
Andreas
« Last Edit: March 09, 2006, 11:20:20 AM by brotherS »

m_s

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Free (and opensource) Hotkey Tool - Tip!
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2006, 08:38:45 AM »
I've been using this for a few weeks - following a post on Lifehacker - and it's great!

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,927
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Free (and opensource) Hotkey Tool - Tip!
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2006, 11:02:43 AM »
I love the concept of assigning Hotkeys to the [win]+X Button.

None of the keyboards I use even has a Win key  ;)


brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Free (and opensource) Hotkey Tool - Tip!
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2006, 03:17:18 PM »
Thanks Andreas, I might wanna test it... since I'm using AutoHotkey I don't really *need* it, but it looks cool!
:D

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Free (and opensource) Hotkey Tool - Tip!
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2006, 04:56:45 PM »
since I'm using AutoHotkey I don't really *need* it, but it looks cool!
Actually, i don't share your point of view. Although i do like ahk, qliner hotkeys is not directed at the same ahk is. qliner hotkeys looks like much simpler, much easier to set up, and (vey important) graphical tool ;)

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Free (and opensource) Hotkey Tool - Tip!
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2006, 01:25:32 AM »
Sure, but I was thinking: "why use a program where I need to press a key down for 5 seconds when right now I can start programs in 1 second?"
That's all :)

crono

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Free (and opensource) Hotkey Tool - Tip!
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2006, 04:03:37 AM »
You don't have to hold down windowskey for 5 seconds in your daily work. This must be only done for configurations or if you forgot your shortcuts . If you know your shortcuts you can use them like any other Windows-Shortcut :) If I have to hold the Key for 5 seconds everytime I use it, I wouldnt  call it Shortcut ;)
« Last Edit: March 23, 2006, 04:05:36 AM by crono »

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Free (and opensource) Hotkey Tool - Tip!
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2006, 05:11:59 AM »
I installed it, it sure looks great! But 43 MB RAM just for this? :(

crono

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Free (and opensource) Hotkey Tool - Tip!
« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2006, 05:23:14 AM »
43MB? Hmmm... at my PC it uses "only" 19 MB ram (with a lot of Shortcuts assigned). I personally don't mind the 20 MB, as I upgraded my machine to 2GB RAM recently ;D

m_s

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Free (and opensource) Hotkey Tool - Tip!
« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2006, 06:38:59 AM »
I used this for awhile and was really keen on it - especially the Clock and Volume visual-display plugins, for which I've found no equivalent among other hotkey programs.  But I stopped using it this week, because I found that it was hogging the keyboard hook that allows Google Desktop Search 3's neat Quick Search Box, and frankly I would rather have that than HotKeys, especially since TrueLaunchBar can give me all the hotkeys I need.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Free (and opensource) Hotkey Tool - Tip!
« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2006, 07:04:07 AM »
43MB? Hmmm... at my PC it uses "only" 19 MB ram (with a lot of Shortcuts assigned). I personally don't mind the 20 MB, as I upgraded my machine to 2GB RAM recently ;D
Damn... Then, I wouldn't use it. That's just waaay to much for that kind of program :S

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Free (and opensource) Hotkey Tool - Tip!
« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2006, 08:27:42 AM »
I stopped using it this week, because I found that it was hogging the keyboard hook that allows Google Desktop Search 3's neat Quick Search Box, and frankly I would rather have that than HotKeys, especially since TrueLaunchBar can give me all the hotkeys I need.
Another thing I miss(ed) is the lack of options: it seems you can't change that "5 second period" to show the interface - and I'd also like to use a key kombination instead of the Windows key (which I prefer to use for AHK stuff).

crono

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Free (and opensource) Hotkey Tool - Tip!
« Reply #12 on: March 23, 2006, 11:14:30 AM »
You can rightclick on the Keyboard (on an empty spot) to change the reaction time. But I found no way to change the [win] key to something else...