Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site December 19, 2014, 04:50:09 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Check out and download the GOE 2007 Freeware Challenge productivity tools.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Repeat Region Capture and Numbering Files for Animation/Sequencing  (Read 2110 times)
Stephen66515
Animated Giffer in Chief
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,798



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: June 12, 2011, 07:07:33 PM »

Hey guys,

Recently I found myself in a bit of a dilema.  I was creating animations by modifying static images one layer at a time...now, to do this, I was using the only software I had to hand, which was Photoshop CS3.

Now, if you have ever used Photoshop, you will know that every single time you save an image, it trys to save as .psd, which isn't helpful if you want to create a load of PNG files.  Now...I know changing a file type and selecting if you want the image interlaced or not isn't that hard...but imagine having to do that a minimum of 600 times to create 1 short animated gif file.

Frustration and headache caused me to bang my head on my desk a whole bunch of times until it came to me..."omg, I could use SSC for this"

So, at that moment, I downloaded SSC, installed it and set to work.

My first 2 attempts at using SSC for this where complete failures, even after setting '#' as my quick snapshop key.  That was because I needed SSC to remember the region i had selected in the photoshop window.

After getting SSC to remember my region size ("Preferences>Saving and Loading Files> On Image File Load>Reselect Actie Region"), and setting up my hotkey, and setting it to stay minimized after capture, I thought I was away...so I had a quick look at the settings to try and get SSC to save my files in number order (If you have ever created a LOT of images to peice together as a gif file, you will know that having them numbered 1,2,3,4,5 etc... if much easier than long file names)...DAMN...no default option available in SSC to do such a thing...plenty of other options, but not that one...so I proceeded to bang my head on the desk again.  Then I made contact with mouser via IRC, he informed me that SSC could not do this by default, but there WAS something that it did, that could make this option possible!

To do that, all i needed to do was go to Preferences>File Naming Template and type '%num%' into the Default New File Name area!

So now...instead of spending 30 seconds saving each file and naming them, and making you get RSI a whole lot faster because your having to do more work than required, SSC will do all that for you with ONE button...My button of choice was '#', PURELY because I was moving items within photoshop 1 pixel per time using the Arrow Keys, and # is close enough to them to make life very very easy!

Now I save around 45 minutes, 4 pain relief tablets, and a sore head per project if im doing 750-1000 statics!
« Last Edit: June 12, 2011, 08:07:42 PM by Stephen66515 » Logged

No trees were harmed during the creation of this message.  Millions of electrons, however, were terribly inconvenienced

"Think left and think right and think low and think high. Oh, the things you can think up if only you try!" - Dr. Seuss
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,772



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2011, 08:27:33 PM »

After getting SSC to remember my region size ("Preferences>Saving and Loading Files> On Image File Load>Reselect Active Region")

Actually that's something different -- I think what you probably did was perform first a "Grab selection region" capture and then after that perform the "Grab repeat last size+pos" capture, both of which can have custom hotkeys assigned or be triggered from menu.

Also note that the new Screenshot Captor has a menu for reselected the last selected region from within the main interface, which is different but similar and may be useful to people when you have already captured a bunch of larger images (wheras the "Grab repeat last size+pos" option is more useful for repeatedly capturing a small area of the screen).
Logged
Stephen66515
Animated Giffer in Chief
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,798



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2011, 08:34:28 PM »

After getting SSC to remember my region size ("Preferences>Saving and Loading Files> On Image File Load>Reselect Active Region")

Actually that's something different -- I think what you probably did was perform first a "Grab selection region" capture and then after that perform the "Grab repeat last size+pos" capture, both of which can have custom hotkeys assigned or be triggered from menu.

Also note that the new Screenshot Captor has a menu for reselected the last selected region from within the main interface, which is different but similar and may be useful to people when you have already captured a bunch of larger images (wheras the "Grab repeat last size+pos" option is more useful for repeatedly capturing a small area of the screen).

Yeah your right...sorry lol, I went back to look at the menu and thats what looked right haha

Gotta say though, SC's newer features really make what im doing sooo much easier.
Logged

No trees were harmed during the creation of this message.  Millions of electrons, however, were terribly inconvenienced

"Think left and think right and think low and think high. Oh, the things you can think up if only you try!" - Dr. Seuss
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2011, 10:22:18 PM »

@Stephen66515: nice to see that SC is doing the heavy lifting for you.. thumbs up

btw, some images of the options dialog would be a very handy pictorial clue for anyone who may need this feature in the future.
Logged

Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,302



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2011, 04:28:02 AM »

using the Arrow Keys, and # is close enough to them to make life very very easy!
What kind of keyboard-layout do you use that has # near the arrow keys? (not an expert on keyboard layouts but on my 'standard' US layout, # is more than 3/4 keyboard size away from the arrow keys undecided)
Logged

lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,136



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2011, 06:04:24 AM »

What kind of keyboard-layout do you use that has # near the arrow keys?

this one comes to mind.. smiley

Logged

Stephen66515
Animated Giffer in Chief
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,798



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2011, 09:06:49 AM »

What kind of keyboard-layout do you use that has # near the arrow keys?

this one comes to mind.. smiley



yup yup, thats the one, then to the right of the hash key are 4 arrow keys...above them are the  'Insert/Delete/Home/End/PgUp/PgDn' then my NumPad =]
Logged

No trees were harmed during the creation of this message.  Millions of electrons, however, were terribly inconvenienced

"Think left and think right and think low and think high. Oh, the things you can think up if only you try!" - Dr. Seuss
Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,302



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: June 13, 2011, 11:03:11 AM »

yup yup, thats the one,
Ok thanks, I was just being curious embarassed
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.039s | Server load: 0.18 ]