Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 31, 2015, 08:21:18 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: FARR Plugin: FProcs - v1.01.01 - June 11, 2011  (Read 10264 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,938
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
FARR Plugin: FProcs - v1.01.01 - June 11, 2011
« on: June 11, 2011, 02:10:58 AM »
This is a plugin for my Find and Run Robot program.

Download from: http://www.donationc...rProcs/FarrProcs.zip

This plugin is triggered by default with: fprocs

It shows a list of running processes -- with top-level windows (like you see with alt+tab) at the top of the list.

Screenshot - 6_11_2011 , 2_09_52 AM.png

Filter the list and hit enter or select any item to switch to that active window.

Or right-click for more options including the option to terminate the process.

See advanced options for the plugin to tell fprocs to always switch to an application if it is already running, no matter how it is launched.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2011, 08:50:09 AM by mouser »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,938
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: FProcs
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2011, 03:07:03 AM »
Note there are several other plugins that already do this kind of thing as well:

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,217
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: FProcs
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2011, 03:19:44 AM »
nice plugin, will come in handy.. :up:

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,938
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: FProcs - v1.01.01 - June 11, 2011
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2011, 02:45:25 PM »
If anyone has any feature requests let me know.

Ampa

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 592
  • I am cute ;)
    • View Profile
    • MonkeyDash - 2 Player strategy boardgame
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: FProcs - v1.01.01 - June 11, 2011
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2011, 06:22:37 AM »
If I use fprocs to kill a process it still remains in the list.

This is perhaps by design since it would allow for easy relaunch of the application (say after a crash) but also seems a little odd (the process is still listed despite being terminated)

Thoughts?

borisjg

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: FProcs - v1.01.01 - June 11, 2011
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2011, 09:31:59 AM »
Plugin is nice but important feature is missing.

If i have 5 ms word documents open, i.e. 5 ms word processes then plugin displays only a single entry for all 5. Instead of listing 5 entries in the results, each with the title of a document there is only one entry titled "Microsoft Office ...".

I would say this is critical bug.

mark_ninan

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: FProcs - v1.01.01 - June 11, 2011
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2011, 03:07:53 AM »
Hi Mouser,
the program works great when we type fprocs... but.. when we try to change the alias (alias(overide)) under the plugin section, it doesn't seem to work.

Could you also add a little tweak - perhaps add a configurable hotkey, which when used... shows the running programs immediately. (ie. without typing anything at all.)
Eg. when you hit Alt+Space all the programs that are running could immediately be listed and all we have to do is type the desired program and hit enter to bring it up.

And another hotkey could be used to bring up FARR the launcher...
I guess this is more of a program switcher than a 'program lister'.

   

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,938
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: FProcs - v1.01.01 - June 11, 2011
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2011, 09:01:16 AM »
Quote
Could you also add a little tweak - perhaps add a configurable hotkey, which when used... shows the running programs immediately. (ie. without typing anything at all.)

just go to farr hotkeys tab, add a new hotkey entry, and have it start out with fprocs in the search box.

mark_ninan

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: FProcs - v1.01.01 - June 11, 2011
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2011, 07:46:43 AM »
That's brilliant Mouser!!  Thanks!

Josh

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 3,365
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: FProcs - v1.01.01 - June 11, 2011
« Reply #9 on: September 11, 2012, 10:11:06 PM »
Mouser, is there any way to throw a switch in this to list processes by process image name, including non-window producing processes such as Windows services?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,938
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: FProcs - v1.01.01 - June 11, 2011
« Reply #10 on: September 11, 2012, 10:16:42 PM »
that's a good idea to add as an option.

Skrell

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: FProcs - v1.01.01 - June 11, 2011
« Reply #11 on: October 26, 2012, 12:14:08 PM »
I just wanted to add that FARRAltTab uses an INSANE amount of memory which is why this plugin is better.  I just wish you could have it ONLY display running processes with windows.

phitsc

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,094
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: FProcs - v1.01.01 - June 11, 2011
« Reply #12 on: April 24, 2014, 09:23:15 AM »
Is this supposed to work for 64-bit applications as well? (seems like it doesn't)