Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 22, 2014, 10:05:45 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Check out and download the GOE 2007 Freeware Challenge productivity tools.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Macro Express Pro user, anyone?  (Read 2844 times)
tslim
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 209


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: May 18, 2011, 02:08:01 PM »

Hi,

I plan to upgrade my Macro Express 3 to Pro version but few posts in Macro Express forum scare me... (those posts are from WinVista and Win7 users who run Macro Express)

Is there anyone using Macro Express Pro here? Do you find it OK with WinXP?

Logged
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2011, 02:42:44 PM »

I am. It's rock solid for what I do.
Of what problems do the forums speak?
Logged

Chris
MrZebulon
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 24

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2011, 02:52:24 PM »

Hello tslim,

btw. - have you ever had a look to http://www.quickmacros.com/ ??
the advantage ist among others, that you can convert macros to exe files with it's own compiler.
you can access dll files and and and - do nearly everything.
It's worth a try!

Kind greetings
Roland
Logged
wraith808
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,417



"In my dreams, I always do it right."

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2011, 05:53:33 PM »

I've used it too, and haven't found any problems.
Logged

mwang
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 204

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2011, 09:11:26 PM »

I ran into unicode-related issues when I tried it (v.4.1.5.1). Can't say more than that as I uninstalled it quickly. I really wish software authors would be more up-front on unicode comparability.
Logged
tslim
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 209


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2011, 11:24:13 PM »

I am. It's rock solid for what I do.
Of what problems do the forums speak?

I have read these:
http://pgmacros.invisionz.../index.php?showtopic=4477
http://pgmacros.invisionz.../index.php?showtopic=4875

and they are quite recent, that scares me.
Logged
tslim
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 209


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2011, 11:39:32 PM »

Hello tslim,

btw. - have you ever had a look to http://www.quickmacros.com/ ??
the advantage ist among others, that you can convert macros to exe files with it's own compiler.
you can access dll files and and and - do nearly everything.
It's worth a try!

Kind greetings
Roland

I just flip through QM on-line help, its schedule function seems to be limited.
I want to upgrade to Macro Express Pro, partly because of its improved scheduling function.
Logged
wraith808
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,417



"In my dreams, I always do it right."

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2011, 07:26:59 AM »

I am. It's rock solid for what I do.
Of what problems do the forums speak?

I have read these:
http://pgmacros.invisionz.../index.php?showtopic=4477
http://pgmacros.invisionz.../index.php?showtopic=4875

and they are quite recent, that scares me.


Don't they have a money-back guarantee?  If so, I'd say trial it... if no problems, then try the purchased one.  I haven't used it on my Win7 machine, only on XP (and for a couple of years now), but haven't seen any problems on XP.
Logged

tslim
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 209


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2011, 03:09:03 PM »

I haven't used it on my Win7 machine, only on XP (and for a couple of years now), but haven't seen any problems on XP.

Are you sure?
I just tried it in WinXP+Sp3, its macro explorer is quite buggy.

I can tolerate problem due to version incompatibility, i.e. I understand that since commands have been changed in PRO version, so some old macro might not work correctly.

However, my macro (about 80 of them are not that complex) all run fine after being converted to PRO format. I just can't Open some of my macro with script editor (it just crashes) or after opened one macro that immediately place macro explorer into a "crash ready to go next" status... i.e. if I touch anything else, it crashes. It is buggy... sigh!

Logged
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,182



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2011, 03:49:03 PM »

I just can't Open some of my macro with script editor (it just crashes) or after opened one macro that immediately place macro explorer into a "crash ready to go next" status... i.e. if I touch anything else, it crashes. It is buggy... sigh!


I'm sorry to hear that you're having touble. My own transition to the Pro version (a long time back) was trouble free, nor have I encountered problems with it since.

Just to ask the obvious, did you try wiping ME from your machine and starting over (after first saving your macros elsewhere)?

Anyway, good luck. Let us know if things improve for you.
Logged

Chris
tslim
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 209


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: May 19, 2011, 05:11:51 PM »

Just to ask the obvious, did you try wiping ME from your machine and starting over (after first saving your macros elsewhere)?
I didn't.
As long as only either is running, I don't see how the other can't just sit there on the harddisk...
Logged
wraith808
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 6,417



"In my dreams, I always do it right."

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: May 19, 2011, 07:21:32 PM »

Are you sure?

Ummm... yes?  huh
Logged

tslim
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 209


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: May 21, 2011, 05:50:20 PM »

My main problem in upgrading to the PRO version is really strange...

I have assigned different icon to almost all my Macro Express 3.x macros and those icons are stored in few ICL files.
I place those ICL files either:
1. In a HDD folder or
2. In a folder on my RamDrive. (Created with QSoft RanDrive, http://members.fortunecit...load/download_and_003.htm)

Macro Express Pro crashes or become unstable if it tries to open/access a macro (converted from ME3) which has been assigned an icon from a ICL file sit on my RamDrive (case 2. above). If the assigned icon is from a HDD (case 1. above) then there won't be a problem.

Macro Express 3.x, True LaunchBar, Axialis IconWorkShop all have no problem openning icon in those ICL files that sit on my RamDrive, except for this crazy Macro Express Pro...

Anyone here care to help me confirm my findings?
Just grab a copy of QSoft RamDrive from the above address and place the attached ICL file on the RamDrive created by it then try to assign your Macro Express Pro macro with an icon from the ICL (particularly icon#3, you should see it crashes...

* ICL.rar (1263.18 KB - downloaded 77 times.)
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.034s | Server load: 0.18 ]