Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 03, 2015, 03:54:27 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Macro Express Pro user, anyone?  (Read 3111 times)

tslim

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 211
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Macro Express Pro user, anyone?
« on: May 18, 2011, 02:08:01 PM »
Hi,

I plan to upgrade my Macro Express 3 to Pro version but few posts in Macro Express forum scare me... (those posts are from WinVista and Win7 users who run Macro Express)

Is there anyone using Macro Express Pro here? Do you find it OK with WinXP?


cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,302
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Macro Express Pro user, anyone?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2011, 02:42:44 PM »
I am. It's rock solid for what I do.
Of what problems do the forums speak?

MrZebulon

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Macro Express Pro user, anyone?
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2011, 02:52:24 PM »
Hello tslim,

btw. - have you ever had a look to http://www.quickmacros.com/ ??
the advantage ist among others, that you can convert macros to exe files with it's own compiler.
you can access dll files and and and - do nearly everything.
It's worth a try!

Kind greetings
Roland

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,323
  • "In my dreams, I always do it right."
    • View Profile
    • wraith808
    • Donate to Member
Re: Macro Express Pro user, anyone?
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2011, 05:53:33 PM »
I've used it too, and haven't found any problems.

mwang

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 205
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Macro Express Pro user, anyone?
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2011, 09:11:26 PM »
I ran into unicode-related issues when I tried it (v.4.1.5.1). Can't say more than that as I uninstalled it quickly. I really wish software authors would be more up-front on unicode comparability.

tslim

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 211
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Macro Express Pro user, anyone?
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2011, 11:24:13 PM »
I am. It's rock solid for what I do.
Of what problems do the forums speak?

I have read these:
http://pgmacros.invi...x.php?showtopic=4477
http://pgmacros.invi...x.php?showtopic=4875

and they are quite recent, that scares me.

tslim

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 211
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Macro Express Pro user, anyone?
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2011, 11:39:32 PM »
Hello tslim,

btw. - have you ever had a look to http://www.quickmacros.com/ ??
the advantage ist among others, that you can convert macros to exe files with it's own compiler.
you can access dll files and and and - do nearly everything.
It's worth a try!

Kind greetings
Roland

I just flip through QM on-line help, its schedule function seems to be limited.
I want to upgrade to Macro Express Pro, partly because of its improved scheduling function.

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,323
  • "In my dreams, I always do it right."
    • View Profile
    • wraith808
    • Donate to Member
Re: Macro Express Pro user, anyone?
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2011, 07:26:59 AM »
I am. It's rock solid for what I do.
Of what problems do the forums speak?

I have read these:
http://pgmacros.invi...x.php?showtopic=4477
http://pgmacros.invi...x.php?showtopic=4875

and they are quite recent, that scares me.


Don't they have a money-back guarantee?  If so, I'd say trial it... if no problems, then try the purchased one.  I haven't used it on my Win7 machine, only on XP (and for a couple of years now), but haven't seen any problems on XP.

tslim

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 211
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Macro Express Pro user, anyone?
« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2011, 03:09:03 PM »
I haven't used it on my Win7 machine, only on XP (and for a couple of years now), but haven't seen any problems on XP.

Are you sure?
I just tried it in WinXP+Sp3, its macro explorer is quite buggy.

I can tolerate problem due to version incompatibility, i.e. I understand that since commands have been changed in PRO version, so some old macro might not work correctly.

However, my macro (about 80 of them are not that complex) all run fine after being converted to PRO format. I just can't Open some of my macro with script editor (it just crashes) or after opened one macro that immediately place macro explorer into a "crash ready to go next" status... i.e. if I touch anything else, it crashes. It is buggy... sigh!


cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,302
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Macro Express Pro user, anyone?
« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2011, 03:49:03 PM »
I just can't Open some of my macro with script editor (it just crashes) or after opened one macro that immediately place macro explorer into a "crash ready to go next" status... i.e. if I touch anything else, it crashes. It is buggy... sigh!


I'm sorry to hear that you're having touble. My own transition to the Pro version (a long time back) was trouble free, nor have I encountered problems with it since.

Just to ask the obvious, did you try wiping ME from your machine and starting over (after first saving your macros elsewhere)?

Anyway, good luck. Let us know if things improve for you.

tslim

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 211
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Macro Express Pro user, anyone?
« Reply #10 on: May 19, 2011, 05:11:51 PM »
Just to ask the obvious, did you try wiping ME from your machine and starting over (after first saving your macros elsewhere)?
I didn't.
As long as only either is running, I don't see how the other can't just sit there on the harddisk...

wraith808

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,323
  • "In my dreams, I always do it right."
    • View Profile
    • wraith808
    • Donate to Member
Re: Macro Express Pro user, anyone?
« Reply #11 on: May 19, 2011, 07:21:32 PM »

tslim

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 211
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Macro Express Pro user, anyone?
« Reply #12 on: May 21, 2011, 05:50:20 PM »
My main problem in upgrading to the PRO version is really strange...

I have assigned different icon to almost all my Macro Express 3.x macros and those icons are stored in few ICL files.
I place those ICL files either:
1. In a HDD folder or
2. In a folder on my RamDrive. (Created with QSoft RanDrive, http://members.fortu...download_and_003.htm)

Macro Express Pro crashes or become unstable if it tries to open/access a macro (converted from ME3) which has been assigned an icon from a ICL file sit on my RamDrive (case 2. above). If the assigned icon is from a HDD (case 1. above) then there won't be a problem.

Macro Express 3.x, True LaunchBar, Axialis IconWorkShop all have no problem openning icon in those ICL files that sit on my RamDrive, except for this crazy Macro Express Pro...

Anyone here care to help me confirm my findings?
Just grab a copy of QSoft RamDrive from the above address and place the attached ICL file on the RamDrive created by it then try to assign your Macro Express Pro macro with an icon from the ICL (particularly icon#3, you should see it crashes...