ATTENTION: You are viewing a page formatted for mobile devices; to view the full web page, click HERE.

Main Area and Open Discussion > General Software Discussion

functional C# class/component to upload to my DC space via explicit FTP over TLS

(1/10) > >>

kyrathaba:
I have no problem doing this via Filezilla, but I need to figure out how to upload a file to my little corner of DC programmatically, from within my C# applications.  I've tried various things, from FTP classes I've both found and rolled myself, and using HttpWebRequest.  I also read about the winhttp.dll library, which some people say works whereas the internal C# stuff is not always robust (however, I have no experience with that library's functions).

The reason I need to be able to do this programmatically is that I've coded a game.  That game records the highscore, and updates that value whenever a player beats the previous high score.  I want the program to be able to upload the highscore.dat file (which contains not only the highscore, but also the name of the player who scored it) to a specific directory under http://kyrathaba.dcmembers.com

Does anyone have any working C# code that they've used successfully to upload a file to their DC webspace?  I know that DC uses explict FTP over TLS.  Perhaps the methods I've attempted aren't sophisticated enough to negotiate that.  At any rate, it'd be a real boon (not just to my current project, but also to future ones) if I could find a class or component that allows me this functionality.

I have used the code show here before successfully, on a non FTPES site, but can't get it to work here.

Renegade:
Have you looked at the Indy Project? I think there are C# bindings for it.

EDIT:

Yes -- here -- http://www.indyproject.org/SocketsCLR/index.EN.aspx

kyrathaba: