Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 19, 2014, 08:58:23 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Your Support Funds this Site: View the Supporter Yearbook.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Scrolling capture is not working  (Read 12257 times)
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,363



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #25 on: October 04, 2011, 10:14:41 AM »

One thing people could do to help me is see if scrolling capture works AFTER you go into your windows display settings and turn off Aero Glass theme (select something like Windows Basic theme).
Logged
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,170



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #26 on: October 04, 2011, 11:58:52 AM »

Quote
One thing people could do to help me is see if scrolling capture works AFTER you go into your windows display settings and turn off Aero Glass theme (select something like Windows Basic theme).
On W7-64 it's even more disturbing under Classic. The window just sits there flashing. Great if you want to induce an epileptic episode but otherwise...
Logged

Chris
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,363



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #27 on: October 04, 2011, 12:07:59 PM »

cranio, what application were you trying to scrolling capture? notepad?
Logged
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,170



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #28 on: October 04, 2011, 01:09:38 PM »

Firefox 7 embarassed

I'll try with notepad...
Logged

Chris
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,170



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #29 on: October 04, 2011, 01:29:18 PM »

Doesn't work with notepad.
Just captures what appears in the window, minus the last line

Logged

Chris
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,363



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #30 on: October 04, 2011, 01:34:49 PM »

ok no more tests needed, im going to have to rewrite scrolling capture from scratch. stay tuned.
Logged
J-Mac
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,864


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #31 on: October 04, 2011, 04:22:50 PM »

That is exactly what always happens to me when I try to capture a scrolling window in the browser - any browser. Notepad was the first time it didn't flash like that, though it messed up the numbers.

Thanks!

Jim
Logged

"I am getting so tired of slitting the throats of people who say that I am a violent psychopath."
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,363



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #32 on: October 04, 2011, 08:44:27 PM »

Ok i'm about 50% done with the rewrite of scrolling capture.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,363



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #33 on: October 05, 2011, 08:17:42 PM »

Ok so let me talk a little bit about my scrolling capture plans.

I have rewritten the scrolling capture code from scratch, and i currently have a FRAGILE version of it working with the new method.

I would appreciate those especially on windows 7 who tried the notepad test and it failed, to give this new alpha version a try:
http://www.donationcoder....lpha/ScreenshotCaptor.zip

NOTE: This zip contains a replacement exe that you need to copy into your existing SC folder over your existing exe file -- it will not work if you just try to run it on its own because it lacks the other files SC needs to run..



Now, do *not* expect this to work on all kinds of advanced windows like firefox, etc.  I'm more interested if it works on notepad and when/why not.

The old method used a windows api drawing trick to figure out where to stitch images; the new method uses what i believe most modern scrolling capture tools now use -- which is basically to align images based on overlapping content.

The current code does a reasonable job in lots of cases, but is not perfect.

So here is what I plan:

Rather than stitching on the fly with hard-to-configure options, I propose to add a serious best-in-class scrolling capture function to Screenshot Captor.

Basically when you select that you want to do a scrolling capture, a dialog will come up with some (remembered per application) options that will let you tweak various aspects of the scrolling capture attempt -- necessary since different programs need different techniques.  This will also allow user to customize some other options for the capture -- region area, max # of pages,

SC will then capture a large number of images to disk, and then stitch them together AFTER THE FACT, rather than on the fly.  This should enable one to do a much better job of automatic stitching, as well as allow post-capture tweaking of the stitching settings, which should let you tweak up any misalignment, etc. and choose to break up the stitched image into multiple images if it's too large, etc.



So anyway, i'm going to play with this new on-the-fly stiching for a bit, and then return to write the deluxe scrolling capture later.
« Last Edit: October 06, 2011, 07:30:19 AM by mouser » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,363



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #34 on: October 05, 2011, 08:46:12 PM »

Note:
The current code scrolls by pages when capturing -- which is very fast but can make alignment more difficult; i will probably be messing with this in upcoming test versions to try to balance speed vs accuracy.
Logged
CraigInDallas
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #35 on: October 05, 2011, 09:09:42 PM »

I'm a brand new user who downloaded Screenshot Captor on the strength of the recommendation by Gizmo's TechSupportAlert website.  I need the scrolling capability in order to capture application screens.  The first thing after completing the download (and donation) was a scrolling capture of Firefox.  The first time it was bad with duplicate images that didn't match up.  The second time it was worse -- it got hung and never stopped capturing. 

After reading the forum comments suggesting that scrolling was not a high priority, I was discouraged.  I'm glad to see that you're going to focus on this feature and I'd like to offer my encouragement to you in hopes that you'll get the scrolling working soon.  Good luck!

Craig
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,520



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #36 on: October 06, 2011, 05:37:59 AM »

(it's just a new exe, not a full setup).

so, should we simply replace the exe in a current install?
Or does this work on it's own? OK it works on it's own I think:

I tried to follow instructions on previous page
http://www.donationcoder....26648.msg260751#msg260751

With an Aero glass theme (win7 x64):
  • When I Ctrl+Shit+Click within the notepad window, I get no reaction from SC - depending on where I click, some of the text gets selected.
  • I also now cant get rid of the red-boxes. Escape doesnt seem to work - I even successfully did a regular screenshot (Ctrl+PrtScr) and they still showing.
  • None of the other shortcuts displayed in the red-box frame work either - in Notepad, FF, or Dopus.

Restart SC.
Classic theme:
exactly same results
Logged

Tom
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,363



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #37 on: October 06, 2011, 06:38:32 AM »

Quote
so, should we simply replace the exe in a current install?
Or does this work on it's own? OK it works on it's own I think:

no, it is a replacement exe -- it willonly work properly ifyou copy it over your existing installed version of screenshot captor.
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,520



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #38 on: October 06, 2011, 07:18:38 AM »

well then - I'm a great beta tester - if it can be done wrong, I'll do it wrong ;-)

here's the notepad test with a custom aero glass theme - looks good



Here's how it looked in Notepad2



and scrolling capture:



the numbers are perfect at least thumbs up (not sure why it got doubled up)
Logged

Tom
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,363



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #39 on: October 06, 2011, 07:26:27 AM »

Why it got doubled up:

Screenshot captor thinks the horizontal scrollbar is telling it that the image is multiple windows wide, so it's trying to scroll sideways and stitch horizontally as well as vertically.

But the line numbers are messing it up since those don't scroll.

The way to handle that is by giving the user more control to specify the region containing scrollable content.

That will come in the final Deluxe scrolling capture solution.
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,520



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #40 on: October 06, 2011, 07:33:37 AM »

^ yeah, not sure why horizontal scrollbar is there

But scrolling is looking good Thmbsup
Logged

Tom
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,363



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #41 on: October 06, 2011, 07:34:49 AM »

This is just the tip of the iceberg proof of concept.. The final scrolling capture will be top of class.
Logged
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,170



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #42 on: October 07, 2011, 09:56:16 AM »

Bad news from me.
Non Aero - notepad - loses the bottom line.

Sorry for delayed response, my ISP vanished for >24hrs — charming!
Logged

Chris
J-Mac
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,864


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #43 on: October 07, 2011, 10:08:10 AM »

....my ISP vanished for >24hrs — charming!

The scrolling capture ate them?!?!   ohmy      Cool

Jim
Logged

"I am getting so tired of slitting the throats of people who say that I am a violent psychopath."
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,363



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #44 on: October 07, 2011, 10:14:17 AM »

Quote
Non Aero - notepad - loses the bottom line.

do you mean it loses the bottom line from every page, or it does a successful scrolling capture but fails to grab the very last line in the file?
Logged
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,170



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #45 on: October 07, 2011, 12:13:21 PM »

Quote
Non Aero - notepad - loses the bottom line.

do you mean it loses the bottom line from every page, or it does a successful scrolling capture but fails to grab the very last line in the file?
Actually, it's worse than I thought.
From a file of 534 lines I get this and only this, i.e. no other pages at all.
« Last Edit: October 07, 2011, 01:15:00 PM by cranioscopical; Reason: Vacuum where brain should be » Logged

Chris
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,363



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #46 on: October 07, 2011, 12:14:55 PM »

right -- well it's clear from the window borders that it's incorrectly identifying the client region.
Logged
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,170



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #47 on: October 07, 2011, 01:13:09 PM »

I'm beginning to see why you had deferred this  Grin

I tried keeping SSC locked in place and moving the monitor up and down but that didn't work either.  ohmy
Logged

Chris
cathie28
Participant
*
Posts: 84

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #48 on: October 24, 2011, 05:40:12 PM »

Maybe Screeshot Captor is a fine program for many of its features.  By now, seems everyone knows scrolling capture doesn't work in browsers - esp. Firefox.  I'm using latest SC 2.102.01 in Vista x64.

Something has changed in late versions of browsers (FF), where screen capture prgms (even old last free ver of FastStone) that handled scrolling capture perfectly in FF v3.6x & maybe v4 , no longer can - even updated prgms that claim to.  Then FastStone stopped scrolling capture (so did other similar prgms), then w/ another FF release, FastStone scroll capture worked again, then quit for good w/ another FF release.

Re:  current SC - please don't say that it supports scrolling screen function- it doesn't.  List it as a beta feature, or something - up front, before users jump thru all hoops to use it.  I understand it may be difficult to write the code so it will handle scrolling browser screens, but as a matter of being up front on "features," don't advertise it will when it won't.  Scrolling capture in FF 7, it flickers, flashes, stands still, scrolls down a bit, flashes / flickers some more, then after ~ 1 min captures only the viewable screen.

I'm perfectly fine w/ having to get a license - eventually - to use SC.  But, the effort one must go through to install, sign up, get the license only to discover it doesn't  handle some advertised features at all, that I often need is, uh, disappointing.

Other dedicated FF plugins "more suited to scrolling screen captures" have been mentioned.  Didn't see names, but assume one may be FireShot.  Maybe others I don't know of.  FireShot will do scrolling capture.  But in some respects, the free ver is a PIA to use.  I guess you get what you pay for, so can't complain too much.  I may have to pay for a prgm to handle scrolling capture.

Thanks.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,363



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #49 on: October 27, 2011, 09:53:22 AM »

Quote
please don't say that it supports scrolling screen function- it doesn't.  List it as a beta feature, or something - up front, before users jump thru all hoops to use it.


i hear ya.. for a while it was a reliable feature.. then ff versions and win7 broke all that and it's been pretty unreliable for a while now.

i done much of the work for a completely new wonderful scrolling capture -- it's coming soon.
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.046s | Server load: 0.11 ]