Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site November 24, 2014, 12:46:48 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Check out and download the GOE 2007 Freeware Challenge productivity tools.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: CAPshift - Suggestions  (Read 12979 times)
Renae
Participant
*
Posts: 25


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: March 05, 2006, 02:25:18 PM »

- Suggestions
It would be really great to have global shortcut keys to cut, edit, and paste in the various forms (UPPER CASE, lower case, etcetera). Basically I select some text and press Ctrl+Shift+L for lower case for example and it does all the work.
Logged


btreloar
Participant
*
Posts: 11


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2008, 01:09:29 PM »

I thought Capshift was the answer to my dream -- I'd gotten to the point where I was considering gluing a thumbtack to my dreaded CapsLock key.

But it turns out, I have a behavior that foils CAPshift. When intending to use the left Shift key, I often strike both the Shift and the CapsLock key together. When I do that, the 0.5 second delay doesn't apply.

I would LOVE it if CAPshift could be modified to do exactly the same thing with the Shift-CapsLock key combination. Or even better -- to treat the Shift-Capslock key combination as equivalent to just a Left Shift key press.

Any chance for that?  Thanks for listening either way.

Bill
« Last Edit: May 19, 2008, 03:48:39 PM by btreloar » Logged

Bill Treloar
kartal
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,529


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2008, 01:30:31 PM »

You may want to check out powerpro. it is very powerful application with many keyboard mouse modifications. I use it everyday and I am in love with it. It even lets you program double taps etc.

http://powerpro.webeddie.com/
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,132



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2008, 09:43:20 AM »

I would LOVE it if CAPshift could be miodified to do exactly the same thing with the Shift-Capslock key combination. Or even better -- to treat the Shift-Capslock key combination as equivalent to just a Left Shift key press.

try this script, also by Skrommel:


http://www.donationcoder....ommel/index.html#ShiftOff
• ShiftOff v1.1 - Direct Link

Logged

btreloar
Participant
*
Posts: 11


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2008, 03:59:53 PM »

Boy, that seems to do the trick! Thanks for the suggestion!

Now if these two programs could be combined so as to reduce the number of things running in my SysTray, I'd be beside myself.

Bill
Logged

Bill Treloar
Ampa
Charter Member
***
Posts: 589


I am cute ;)

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2008, 05:24:12 PM »

Is there any reason why you couldn't combine the two yourself?

Scrommel provides the source script, so you should be able to copy and paste the two together (might require a tiny bit of tweaking), compile with AHK, and hey-presto job done.
Logged
btreloar
Participant
*
Posts: 11


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2008, 06:46:16 PM »

That's cool. I didn't know the source script was available -- I don't think it came with the app downloads.
Logged

Bill Treloar
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,132



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2008, 09:02:38 PM »

@btreloar: referring to the screenshot i posted, you can download the source by clicking on the 'H' icon. anyway, to make things easier (and since i had some time on my hands), i have copy-pasted the scripts together and maybe you'd want to give it a try. smiley

btw, i couldn't replicate the nice icons that appeared in the original Skrommel version's about-box. if someone has the earlier versions then maybe i can try again.

CAPshift-ShiftOff mod

Changes:
• merged both scripts together.
• both settings contained in one INI file (CAPshift-x.ini).
• because of the above, ShiftOff's settings dialog is now removed.
• compiled the script without compression. (to avoid AV false warnings).


* Caps-Shift-Off-mod.ahk (14.01 KB - downloaded 426 times.)
* Caps-Shift-Off-mod.exe (407.31 KB - downloaded 253 times.)
Logged

btreloar
Participant
*
Posts: 11


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2008, 08:01:50 AM »

Brilliant!!

Thank you.
Bill
Logged

Bill Treloar
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,132



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2008, 12:39:10 AM »

you're welcome, that's good to hear.. smiley
Logged

btreloar
Participant
*
Posts: 11


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: November 14, 2008, 10:32:06 AM »

Recent problem - hope I can tweak the settings to fix it.  Running on a wireless keyboard through a KVM switch, the CapsLock key doesn't trigger until I release it -- the time doesn't start on mouse down, but on mouse up.

The Scroll Lock key is still working fine -- I can see the little millisecond display and the acknowledgment of key state change happening on mouse down action.

But for Caps Lock, I don't see the little millisecond display until the mouse up action occurs, and of course the timer never advances.

FWIW, one of the computers this happens on is a laptop. When that laptop is off the docking station and I'm using its own built-in keyboard, the Caps Lock timer works just fine. The problem only happens with the new wireless keyboard.

Amy suggestions?

Thanks,
Bill
Logged

Bill Treloar
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,132



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2008, 10:56:40 PM »

one possibility is that the wireless keyboard comes with its own drivers/enhancement that interferes with the ahk script. anyway can you provide more details of the keyboard?
Logged

btreloar
Participant
*
Posts: 11


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: November 16, 2008, 10:25:21 AM »

Sure! It's a Microsoft Wireless Laser Keyboard 7000. The software for it lists only two options for the CapsLock key: Disable it (not selected) and show the caps lock status on the screen (enabled). I disabled the display option with no improvement in the behavior of the key.

Any thoughts?
Logged

Bill Treloar
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,132



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: November 16, 2008, 08:40:30 PM »

okay, iirc there should be an intellipoint software/driver coming with the keyboard. there has been an instance where the intellipoint software was interfering with the ahk script here.

so to solve this, you can try placing the following line in the AHK script and check if that rectifies the problem.
[copy or print]
#InstallKeybdHook

or you can also use a startup manager utility to start the ahk script before the intellipoint (ipoint.exe) software. something which cmpm did in the related thread.

give them a try & let me know the results smiley
Logged

btreloar
Participant
*
Posts: 11


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: November 17, 2008, 09:46:41 AM »

Thanks, but I'm a newbie to scripting. Is it enough to add this to the ahk script? Or do I need to recompile the executable. And if I need to recompile, how do I do that?

Thanks!
Bill
Logged

Bill Treloar
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,132



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: November 17, 2008, 11:27:01 PM »

if you already have Autohotkey, then you don't have to recompile, just the .ahk version. you only have to add that line on top of the script and restart the script.

btw, i'm away from my pc today. maybe i'll just add the modified .ahk & .exe tomorrow. what do you say? smiley
Logged

btreloar
Participant
*
Posts: 11


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: November 18, 2008, 08:53:32 AM »

Thanks - that would be very generous. I don't have Autohotkey .. but I'm growing unhappy with the macro program I've been using -- I think it's time to switch.
Bill
Logged

Bill Treloar
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,132



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: November 18, 2008, 08:58:42 PM »

@btreloar: sent you a PM with the above-mentioned changes included. smiley
Logged

btreloar
Participant
*
Posts: 11


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: November 19, 2008, 07:05:31 AM »

Thanks for that, lanux128 -- sadly it doesn't seem to maike any difference. I tried ending the ipoint.exe process, and saw no difference in keyboard behavior in general, but also no change in the behavior of the CapsLock key.

I find it very strange that the ScrollLock key works perfectly normally on mouse down, but the CapsLock key only registers on the mouse up action.

Anything else I can try? Is it possible the issue isn't with my keyboard but with my KVM switch? (Kind of far-fetched, but I'm grasping at straws.
Logged

Bill Treloar
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,132



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: November 19, 2008, 09:02:49 PM »

hmm... now it has me scratching my head. i wish i had a wireless keyboard to test this out but anyway, i'll try the AHK forums to see if anything comes up. smiley
Logged

btreloar
Participant
*
Posts: 11


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: November 25, 2008, 08:59:37 AM »

Thanks! And I'll check with my KVM vendor.
Cheers!
Bil
Logged

Bill Treloar
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.034s | Server load: 0.21 ]