Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 02, 2015, 02:01:56 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Directory Opus 10  (Read 42766 times)

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 6,761
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #50 on: May 04, 2011, 09:31:30 AM »
Let me guess: They still can't see a reason to provide lifetime updates?
Yes. Bummer.

I paid $50 for Windows 3.1 sometime back in the 19th century. It is outrageous that Bill Gates asks me to pay again every time he breathes on Windows.

Why did he ask me to pay for 98, ME, XP, Vista, Win 7? He probably did the upgrades while eating lunch at McDonalds.


I guess it was in the 20'th century, but other than that I know this feeling. My brother purchased a Volvo. Later on Volvo launched a new version of the model, and he wanted it, and guess what, he had to pay once more!

michaelkenward

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Broken monitor
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #51 on: May 04, 2011, 10:46:20 AM »
(i paid €40 - there's 19% vat also included in that price - I dont know if that's charged for all countries).
No VAT in the UK if bought direct from Oz.

MK

michaelkenward

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Broken monitor
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #52 on: May 04, 2011, 10:48:18 AM »
Out of curiosity, are you the same Michael Kenward as the Michael Kenward OBE found here and here?
Could be.
MK

Tuxman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,566
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #53 on: May 04, 2011, 10:49:57 AM »
I just tried DOpus 10. Gosh, that's bloat.
Is there any way to make its look&feel more DOpus-9-like? Less giant bars, less context menu bloat design, less everything?

4wd

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,973
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #54 on: May 04, 2011, 03:20:59 PM »
Is there any way to make its look&feel more DOpus-9-like? Less giant bars, less context menu bloat design, less everything?

Load whatever toolbars you had set up from v9 and close the default ones - that's what I've done and it looks pretty much the same as v9 did.

Tuxman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,566
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #55 on: May 04, 2011, 03:24:27 PM »
Now where is the "view -> toolbars" menu then?

4wd

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,973
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #56 on: May 04, 2011, 03:30:08 PM »
Right-click on a blank spot of the toolbars and go to the Toolbars item or Settings->Customise->Toolbars.

Tuxman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,566
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #57 on: May 04, 2011, 03:38:31 PM »
Ah hm, thanks.

And can I disable that "styled" context menu? I always have to scroll.

mrainey

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 436
    • View Profile
    • Website
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #58 on: May 04, 2011, 08:41:55 PM »
I've been happy with version 9 for several years.  My only real complaint is the difficulty I have in figuring out how to access and change various settings (there are a LOT of settings).

I prefer XP to Windows 7.  Don't need no stinking libraries.

Given that, is there a compelling reason for me to shell out fifty-four bucks?
Software For Metalworking
http://closetolerancesoftware.com

hpearce

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #59 on: May 05, 2011, 12:28:57 PM »
I recommend people toggle on the MENU, OPERATIONS, and LOCATION toolbars (the new ones) and review the menus commands..... I copied some of the buttons/command to my defau;t confgig I'm using from version 9.

Some are new and others improved.
Windows 7 SP1 (TM) Home Premium 64-bit .. Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26 GHz / 2.27 GHz .. 4GB RAM .. NVIDIA GeForce 9800M GTS .. Gateway P-7805u FX

4wd

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 3,973
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #60 on: May 06, 2011, 12:17:31 PM »
Ah hm, thanks.

And can I disable that "styled" context menu? I always have to scroll.

Nudel might have to answer that since I'm only running on my XP netbook for the next 3.5 months.

The install just picked up my existing v9 settings and I didn't really do anything other than select the toolbars I wanted and deselect the default ones.

Nudel

  • Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
    • << Pretentious Name >>
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #61 on: May 07, 2011, 01:46:52 AM »
And can I disable that "styled" context menu? I always have to scroll.

Not sure what you mean. Which context menu?

Tuxman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,566
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #62 on: May 07, 2011, 07:26:28 AM »
The one that pops up when you perform a right click. With your mouse. And stuff.

edbro

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #63 on: May 07, 2011, 09:27:36 AM »
Ah hm, thanks.

And can I disable that "styled" context menu? I always have to scroll.
You can certainly edit the context menu.
Go into Customize then select the Context Menu tab.
Click on "Lister Context" and select "Show".
Now you can right click on any menu item and remove or edit it.

<img src="http://i.imgur.com/dbkkK.jpg" alt="" title="Hosted by imgur.com" />

Tuxman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,566
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #64 on: May 07, 2011, 11:48:03 AM »
Ehm, I meant the menu that appears when right-clicking a file... and not its items. :)

edbro

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #65 on: May 07, 2011, 12:05:50 PM »
-Settings
- File Types
- double click on "All Files and Folders"
- Select the Context Menu tab

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,030
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #66 on: May 26, 2011, 09:23:23 AM »
If I upgrade and I already have usb and ftp, is that reflected in the upgrade price or am I going to have to pay for those again?

cthorpe

  • Discount Coordinator
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 725
  • c++thorpe
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #67 on: May 26, 2011, 09:24:59 AM »
It was included in the price for me.

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,030
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #68 on: May 26, 2011, 09:47:42 AM »
It was included in the price for me.
Great.  Thanks!

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,030
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #69 on: May 31, 2011, 10:39:42 AM »
Man, I know DOpus is pretty expensive, but it does everything!  I spend more time in DOpus than any other application by far.

Tuxman

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,566
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #70 on: May 31, 2011, 02:00:45 PM »
That's not what a file manager should do, right?

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,516
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #71 on: May 31, 2011, 03:21:59 PM »
Man, I know DOpus is pretty expensive, but it does everything!  I spend more time in DOpus than any other application by far.

While I'm a fan of Dopus (& enjoying having the 'usb' version), I'm unhappy with the viewer. I made a few suggestions a while back that I hoped would be implemented in 10.
Especially this one:
you're looking at images in the viewer and you see one you want to open in your image editor - you have to take note of the name, go back to the main window, find the file. A simple open [current image in viewer] in external app, or even just copy filepath would solve this.

Problems zooming into images - on my machine I often cant get over 200%, I have no problem with the same images in other viewers. I have yet to report this officially (but it was reported in the forum in 2009).
If anyone can confirm this as a bug could you please post in that thread?!

Also problems with one bit Tiffs only showing as an enlarged thumbnail. Again, yet to be reported officially but reported in the Dopus forum here.
Tom

Dormouse

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,012
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #72 on: May 31, 2011, 05:51:38 PM »
you're looking at images in the viewer and you see one you want to open in your image editor - you have to take note of the name, go back to the main window, find the file. A simple open [current image in viewer] in external app, or even just copy filepath would solve this.

I just checked in the viewer. I right click and one of the options is open. You would need to have set your editor up as the default program for that file type, of course.

Problems zooming into images - on my machine I often cant get over 200%, I have no problem with the same images in other viewers. I have yet to report this officially (but it was reported in the forum in 2009).
Checked this too. No problems going up to 800% with any of the images I tried.

Also problems with one bit Tiffs only showing as an enlarged thumbnail. Again, yet to be reported officially but reported in the Dopus forum here.
Haven't checked this.

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,302
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #73 on: May 31, 2011, 08:09:41 PM »
Especially this one:
you're looking at images in the viewer and you see one you want to open in your image editor - you have to take note of the name, go back to the main window, find the file. A simple open [current image in viewer] in external app, or even just copy filepath would solve this.

Would it work for you to set the thumbnails value to 256x256 for image browsing? If so, a simple double-click will launch the image in whatever you have set as the default system viewer.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,516
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Directory Opus 10
« Reply #74 on: June 01, 2011, 02:41:36 AM »
you're looking at images in the viewer and you see one you want to open in your image editor - you have to take note of the name, go back to the main window, find the file. A simple open [current image in viewer] in external app, or even just copy filepath would solve this.

I just checked in the viewer. I right click and one of the options is open. You would need to have set your editor up as the default program for that file type, of course.
hmmm, I missed that :-[
I have DOpus viewer as default programme for all images, but can it be the case that I dont have to, in order for the viewer to be the default image viewer from within dopus?
Will experiment. I suspect a Catch22 situation but may well be wrong. ~ note to self: must stop having negative expectations ;-)

Problems zooming into images - on my machine I often cant get over 200%, I have no problem with the same images in other viewers. I have yet to report this officially (but it was reported in the forum in 2009).
Checked this too. No problems going up to 800% with any of the images I tried.
thanks for the report Dormouse,
Leo doesnt have the problem either :( no-one else has reported yet.
Because every other viewer I have works fine, I'm presuming this is a dopus problem - even if it is a dopus problem with my hardware (or maybe just with my OS: XP SP3)



Especially this one:
you're looking at images in the viewer and you see one you want to open in your image editor - you have to take note of the name, go back to the main window, find the file. A simple open [current image in viewer] in external app, or even just copy filepath would solve this.

Would it work for you to set the thumbnails value to 256x256 for image browsing? If so, a simple double-click will launch the image in whatever you have set as the default system viewer.
I could also use the Viewer pane (as opposed to the standalone viewer).
I'm slow to do so cause zoom is not very usable there. Whether I'm looking at drawings, scans, or photos I want to be able to zoom in and read the text &/or check the quality before I actually open in photoshop. If I'm working on a batch of photos I'll use another app than dopus, but if I just want to quickly find & open a photo/scan/image it's a file manager I want. I work a lot with scanned images but again, it's a file manager I need. Dopus is almost there as "perfect" for the job, but just because of that, I can tend to get a bit über-frustrated with it's drawbacks :-[
Tom