Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site November 26, 2014, 04:08:26 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Learn about the DonationCoder.com microdonation system (DonationCredits).
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Settings are not saved.  (Read 6303 times)
timmiejboy
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: April 27, 2011, 03:34:19 PM »

I have been using DesktopCoral for a while now to reserve space for my Rocketdock. I am very happy about this beautiful piece of software.

I just have a slight problem with it ever since I installed a fresh install of Windows 7 x64.
Once I set all the preferences for the dock (eg. at the bottom, 62px height, startup with windows and transparant),
all is fine and it works perfectly.

Sadly, every time I reboot my computer the DesktopCoral dock loads itself undocked in the standard format somewhere in the middle of my screen with 100% opacity.

I am getting a bit tired of keeping to redock and reset all the stuff every single time I start up my computer.

Can anybody help?

Cheers,

Tim
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,699



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2011, 06:39:45 PM »

first question:

If you start Desktop Coral, configure it how you want it, and then exit program.  and then Restart it.

Does it remember your settings when you restart it?

And then does it remember your settings when you reboot after that.
Logged
timmiejboy
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2011, 11:27:16 AM »

If I start Desktop Coral, configure it how I want to, and then exit the program. It will once again be completely default after restarting it.

So it does NOT remember my settings after a restart.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,699



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2011, 11:31:26 AM »

do you have a file called ConfigDir.ini in it's directory? can you rename that program and restart, and see if it saved your program on the next restart?
Logged
timmiejboy
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2011, 05:45:05 AM »

Thanks for the heads up. I got it fixed.

The ConfigDir.ini was a complete comment.
So // went prior to every line in the document, while the document said there should be one line that was not commented.

So I removed the comment before the default directory path and now it's fixed.

smiley

Cheers
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,699



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2011, 01:38:19 PM »

That's great to hear you got it solved, and thank you for taking the time to let us know how -- i'll bet that will help someone else too.

But it's troubling that you needed to do that -- perhaps i need to add an additional step to my generic code that decides where to store config files based on the operating system, which actually confirms that files can be saved where it decides it should save them.
Logged
timmiejboy
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2011, 03:50:24 AM »

Quote
// NOTE: you have to *remove* the // in front of one line below to activate it
// This will effect the location of both settings files AND the database files

// CONFIGDIR = .
// CONFIGDIR=%MYDOCUMENTS%


// This file (ConfigDir.ini) defines the directory where all configuration
//  files for the program will be stored.
// There should be only 1 actual line in this file that has any meaning,
//  the CONFIGDIR assignmane above.  Everything else here is just comments.

(...)

This is a part of the ConfigDir.ini as it was before I fixed it.

Quote
// NOTE: you have to *remove* the // in front of one line below to activate it
// This will effect the location of both settings files AND the database files

CONFIGDIR = .
// CONFIGDIR=%MYDOCUMENTS%


// This file (ConfigDir.ini) defines the directory where all configuration
//  files for the program will be stored.
// There should be only 1 actual line in this file that has any meaning,
//  the CONFIGDIR assignmane above.  Everything else here is just comments.

(...)

I removed the comments in front of the red line. Which places the settings in the actual program directory according to Tip 2.

Cheers
Logged
Squirrelnut
Participant
*
Posts: 1


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2013, 09:54:53 AM »

Thank you so much for this thread, I was having a ton of trouble and this fixed it perfectly for me.  I have been running Desktop Coral on my Windows 7 32bit system for over a year combined with Rocket Dock for a nice launch area on my second screen.  Recently my computer crashed and when I came back in Desktop Coral had messed up settings (filling my entire screen) and would not save setting changes so I had to redo them every time I restarted my computer. 

This fix of opening the "ConfigDir.ini" file and removing the comment on the line 4: "// CONFIGDIR = ." to simply be "CONFIGDIR = ." resolved the issue perfectly for me. 

Thanks!
Logged
barleybones
Participant
*
Posts: 3

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: November 21, 2013, 01:50:01 PM »

Having the same problem, none of my settings are sticking....I tried removing the // as suggested above, closed program, ,then restarted, however, I am still having the same problem - losing my settings....any other things I can try?

Have also tried uninstalling and reinstalling....no help with that....

Brad
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,699



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: November 25, 2013, 06:29:40 AM »

Hi Brad.

Can you give us a little more information?  What operating system are you using? Are you running the program portably or?
Logged
barleybones
Participant
*
Posts: 3

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: November 25, 2013, 08:55:32 AM »

Sorry about that......

OS is windows 7 and i am running screenshot captor on my computer locally....brad
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,699



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: November 25, 2013, 09:26:55 AM »

Did you run the installer, or did you download the portable version and unzip it manually?

ps. Are we talking about Screenshot Captor or Desktop Coral?
Logged
barleybones
Participant
*
Posts: 3

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: November 25, 2013, 10:01:24 AM »

I ran the installer - for screenshot captor...
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.029s | Server load: 0.36 ]