Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 05, 2015, 05:20:20 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Windows error msg - "No Disk"  (Read 4751 times)

mickh

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Windows error msg - "No Disk"
« on: April 01, 2011, 12:13:40 PM »
Howdy-

During every initial boot of Windows and resulting start of H&S Screenshot Capture i get the following message:

"Windows - No Disk
Exception Processing Message c0000013 Parameters 75b6bf7c 4 75b6bf7c 75b6bf7c"  (see attachment)

i'm going to paste the message into Microsoft's Windows page to see if anything pops up.  But, i doubt i'll get anywhere.  The lack of utility in their on-line documents, help/support, and faq pages has dropped in direct proportion to the length of time since they produced printed documentation.  :down:

Any ideas?

Thanks,

mick



« Last Edit: April 01, 2011, 01:05:46 PM by mickh »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows error msg - "No Disk"
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2011, 12:43:52 PM »
Ok first question is whether we are talking about Clipboard Help+Spell or Screenshot Captor -- these are separate programs.

Second of all, i have seen this problem in another program and i do know how to fix it, BUT in the case of these two programs, it shouldn't be needed.  Assuming we are talking about Screenshot Captor, it probably means that one of the folders you have configured in the options is on a removable/missing drive.  go into options and try to change the bad path.

Now if you didn't actually change any of these settings and this is a default installation, this definitely shouldn't happen.  Let me know which operating system you are using.

And what path it configured as your screenshot path.

mickh

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows error msg - "No Disk"
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2011, 01:11:45 PM »
1) Oops.

i meant "Clipboard Help & Spell."

2) See above.
=========
It is a default install.  (And "Screenshot Captor" works just fine.)

mick

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows error msg - "No Disk"
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2011, 02:01:50 PM »
Which version of windows are you running? did you run the installer or unpack it manually?

mickh

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows error msg - "No Disk"
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2011, 02:51:44 PM »
- XP sp3

and

- Ran it from the installer.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows error msg - "No Disk"
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2011, 03:10:11 PM »
and if you exit CHS and restart it after the computer is booted -- no error messages then?

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,524
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows error msg - "No Disk"
« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2011, 04:00:55 PM »
is this any help:
http://answers.micro...ae-9801-6b169547e656

"your PC is looking for a USB device"

there was an app listed here (very) lately that sorted out problems with usb ports but I cant remeber the details...
Tom

worstje

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 567
  • The Gent with the White Hat
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows error msg - "No Disk"
« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2011, 04:19:13 PM »
I once had a nasty rootkit that made those No Disk messages pop up for a lot of applications. Took a lot of effort to get rid of, too. I hope that's not the reason you're getting it.

mickh

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows error msg - "No Disk"
« Reply #8 on: April 02, 2011, 02:25:20 PM »
Sorry i did not answer yesterday.  Got sidetracked.

CHS shows the error msg when comp initially boots.  It also shows the error msg after i exit the first instance of the program; double click to start it from an icon on the desktop.

But, this is where it may get a little weird in terms of figuring things out, i use a piece of software from MacroWorx called "Filing Cabinets."  When i start a second instance of CHS from a filing cabinet (clicking once), it starts w/out problem.  (i use Filing Cabinets to relieve desktop clutter and to organize where i go to start software (e.g., utilities, graphics, audio, etc. in different cabinets).

Thanks for all the help thus-far,

mick

mickh

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows error msg - "No Disk"
« Reply #9 on: April 02, 2011, 03:30:30 PM »
i looked to see what Windows thought it had plugged into USB ports.  All was correct; nothing fishy.

thanks,

mick

mickh

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows error msg - "No Disk"
« Reply #10 on: April 05, 2011, 10:01:09 PM »
Mr. Mouser,

i also tried finding rootkits, as Worstje suggested.  i used a piece of software named RookitReaveal.  But, i have no way to evaluate the results.  (see the attachment).  There was nothing in the list of items found by RookitReveal that clearly indicated a return being a rootkit.

i appreciate the help thusfar, and, if you are willing, any future help.

mick


steeladept

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,059
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows error msg - "No Disk"
« Reply #11 on: April 05, 2011, 11:35:58 PM »
If I were to take a wild guess, I would say it is a conflict with Filing Cabinets.  Have you tried disabling Filing Cabinets and starting it up, just to see if that was the cause?  At very least it would rule out that as a conflict.

mickh

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows error msg - "No Disk"
« Reply #12 on: April 06, 2011, 02:24:22 AM »
steeladept,

i did as you suggested.  Sorry to report, no help.

thanks,

mick

oblivion

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2010
  • **
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows error msg - "No Disk"
« Reply #13 on: April 06, 2011, 12:50:59 PM »
i did as you suggested.  Sorry to report, no help.
I've seen this type of issue several times in the past. I think it's a history thing: some bit of software checks through various locations that it's used in the past and panics if some relevant drive letter is unavailable. I'm not sure there's a simple fix, but it might be worth trying something with a history cleaner and/or a registry cleaner (CCleaner's a good free option, or jv16 Power Tools has a 60 day free trial.)
-- bests, Tim

...this space unintentionally left blank.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Windows error msg - "No Disk"
« Reply #14 on: April 13, 2011, 06:36:58 AM »
what oblivion says is exactly right -- it means that the program is checking some location that no longer exists.
if it really is happening in CHS, there are very few file locations that CHS actually checks.  go to the options and see if maybe you have a sound file path specified that does not exist.