Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 23, 2014, 11:34:02 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2014! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Windows error msg - "No Disk"  (Read 4164 times)
mickh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: April 01, 2011, 12:13:40 PM »

Howdy-

During every initial boot of Windows and resulting start of H&S Screenshot Capture i get the following message:

"Windows - No Disk
Exception Processing Message c0000013 Parameters 75b6bf7c 4 75b6bf7c 75b6bf7c"  (see attachment)

i'm going to paste the message into Microsoft's Windows page to see if anything pops up.  But, i doubt i'll get anywhere.  The lack of utility in their on-line documents, help/support, and faq pages has dropped in direct proportion to the length of time since they produced printed documentation.  thumb down

Any ideas?

Thanks,

mick




« Last Edit: April 01, 2011, 01:05:46 PM by mickh » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,580



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2011, 12:43:52 PM »

Ok first question is whether we are talking about Clipboard Help+Spell or Screenshot Captor -- these are separate programs.

Second of all, i have seen this problem in another program and i do know how to fix it, BUT in the case of these two programs, it shouldn't be needed.  Assuming we are talking about Screenshot Captor, it probably means that one of the folders you have configured in the options is on a removable/missing drive.  go into options and try to change the bad path.

Now if you didn't actually change any of these settings and this is a default installation, this definitely shouldn't happen.  Let me know which operating system you are using.

And what path it configured as your screenshot path.
Logged
mickh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2011, 01:11:45 PM »

1) Oops.

i meant "Clipboard Help & Spell."

2) See above.
=========
It is a default install.  (And "Screenshot Captor" works just fine.)

mick
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,580



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2011, 02:01:50 PM »

Which version of windows are you running? did you run the installer or unpack it manually?
Logged
mickh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2011, 02:51:44 PM »

- XP sp3

and

- Ran it from the installer.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,580



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2011, 03:10:11 PM »

and if you exit CHS and restart it after the computer is booted -- no error messages then?
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,607



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2011, 04:00:55 PM »

is this any help:
http://answers.microsoft....e8-46ae-9801-6b169547e656

"your PC is looking for a USB device"

there was an app listed here (very) lately that sorted out problems with usb ports but I cant remeber the details...
Logged

Tom
worstje
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 555



The Gent with the White Hat

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2011, 04:19:13 PM »

I once had a nasty rootkit that made those No Disk messages pop up for a lot of applications. Took a lot of effort to get rid of, too. I hope that's not the reason you're getting it.
Logged
mickh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: April 02, 2011, 02:25:20 PM »

Sorry i did not answer yesterday.  Got sidetracked.

CHS shows the error msg when comp initially boots.  It also shows the error msg after i exit the first instance of the program; double click to start it from an icon on the desktop.

But, this is where it may get a little weird in terms of figuring things out, i use a piece of software from MacroWorx called "Filing Cabinets."  When i start a second instance of CHS from a filing cabinet (clicking once), it starts w/out problem.  (i use Filing Cabinets to relieve desktop clutter and to organize where i go to start software (e.g., utilities, graphics, audio, etc. in different cabinets).

Thanks for all the help thus-far,

mick
Logged
mickh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: April 02, 2011, 03:30:30 PM »

i looked to see what Windows thought it had plugged into USB ports.  All was correct; nothing fishy.

thanks,

mick
Logged
mickh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: April 05, 2011, 10:01:09 PM »

Mr. Mouser,

i also tried finding rootkits, as Worstje suggested.  i used a piece of software named RookitReaveal.  But, i have no way to evaluate the results.  (see the attachment).  There was nothing in the list of items found by RookitReveal that clearly indicated a return being a rootkit.

i appreciate the help thusfar, and, if you are willing, any future help.

mick


* RootkitReveal.txt (4.9 KB - downloaded 294 times.)
Logged
steeladept
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,056



Fettucini alfredo is macaroni & cheese for adults

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: April 05, 2011, 11:35:58 PM »

If I were to take a wild guess, I would say it is a conflict with Filing Cabinets.  Have you tried disabling Filing Cabinets and starting it up, just to see if that was the cause?  At very least it would rule out that as a conflict.
Logged
mickh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: April 06, 2011, 02:24:22 AM »

steeladept,

i did as you suggested.  Sorry to report, no help.

thanks,

mick
Logged
oblivion
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 354


see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: April 06, 2011, 12:50:59 PM »

i did as you suggested.  Sorry to report, no help.
I've seen this type of issue several times in the past. I think it's a history thing: some bit of software checks through various locations that it's used in the past and panics if some relevant drive letter is unavailable. I'm not sure there's a simple fix, but it might be worth trying something with a history cleaner and/or a registry cleaner (CCleaner's a good free option, or jv16 Power Tools has a 60 day free trial.)
Logged

-- bests, Tim

...this space unintentionally left blank.
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,580



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: April 13, 2011, 06:36:58 AM »

what oblivion says is exactly right -- it means that the program is checking some location that no longer exists.
if it really is happening in CHS, there are very few file locations that CHS actually checks.  go to the options and see if maybe you have a sound file path specified that does not exist.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.218s | Server load: 0.06 ]