topbanner_forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Tuesday March 19, 2024, 6:43 am
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: SQL query newbie: Help me work through my first project?  (Read 3907 times)

superboyac

• Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Hi everyone, I've gotten my hands into programming now after not doing anything like this for maybe 10 years now.  I'm working with an Oracle database and I'm just starting to learn how to run SQL queries.  I've gotten the basics so far of the select, where functions.  But I'm trying to do a little more fancy things, and it's becoming difficult.  So I wouldn't mind getting coached throughout this thread.  Yeah?

First challenge:
I've been able to write a simple query using and/or statements.  Now, I want to group everything in a particular way to reflect the hierarchy that the database is representing.  So I need to somehow figure out how to group things according to the proper parents/children.  What I'm doing now is trying to figure out which columns control the hierarchy, because it's not clear, and I can't ask anyone here.

mouser

• First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQL query newbie: Help me work through my first project?
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2011, 10:17 AM »
I think you might need to be a little more specific and maybe give some example data.