Website Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 30, 2015, 02:58:48 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: What am I doing wrong?  (Read 5114 times)

MostBrownPlayer

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
What am I doing wrong?
« on: March 13, 2011, 06:07:19 PM »
So I just downloaded this today to keep space for my RocketDock, but now it isn't working.  I am currently running on Windows 7 but I installed and ran the program in Windows XP SP3.  I have it docked at the bottom of my screen set up and everything but when I maximize a window it just goes over it like nothing.  Help? Thanks.

Spimunk

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What am I doing wrong?
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2011, 04:52:52 AM »
I have the same problem as you and sadly have yet to find an answer.

Is anyone out there able to help? As this program is a great idea and I am sure it's just a little thing I am doing wrong as I've installed it with the XP compatibility as well, it does to either top bottom and either side fine and I can play with all the settings but it just doesn't stop the window going over the coral and my rocketdock at the bottom of my screen

Your help is greatly appreciated!

Spimunk

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What am I doing wrong?
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2011, 05:04:55 AM »
OK I've fixed it!

I found that when I used a background image (i picked the same one as my desktop background, makes sense really) it works! I then just dropped the opacity to one notch just before 0 and it works!

For your info, my settings are:

Transparent mode: Unticked
Preserve Desktop: Unticked
Start with Windows: Ticked

Docking Position: Bottom
Width: 100
Height: 60
Opacity: 1

Use background image: Ticked
File: My chosen desktop background
Title Radial button marked

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,926
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: What am I doing wrong?
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2011, 05:14:47 AM »
i tested it just now on Windows 7, without setting any compatibility mode, and it worked fine..

i wonder what is going on that it's not working for you guys -- anyone else with windows7 experience can report?
does the same thing happen whether its docked to any side of the screen?
do you have any other odd desktop management tools installed?
is it possible that some applications maximize over it and some dont?


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,926
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: What am I doing wrong?
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2011, 05:15:16 AM »
oh i see Spimunk has just posted a clue!  ok let me read and try to understand why it works in one case and not another.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,926
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: What am I doing wrong?
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2011, 05:19:07 AM »
strange.. i don't know why it would work in that case and not others..

can i ask you to do some more experimenting and see if you can find which settings work and which dont.

and can you make sure you have latest version installed (1.10 i think is latest -- check about box).

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,926
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: What am I doing wrong?
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2011, 05:31:42 AM »
Another thing i wonder if it has something to do with permissions and/or when the program is run.. if it doesn't work when run at boot time but does work when you launch it manually that would be good to know.

Spimunk

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What am I doing wrong?
« Reply #7 on: April 02, 2011, 03:53:58 PM »
Hi,

Just wanted to let you know that, with the settings I've set for myself, I've booted my PC on and off all day (5/6 times) and each time its worked fine. I did run it as XP SP3 compatible on Win 7 Home Premium

Spimunk

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What am I doing wrong?
« Reply #8 on: April 02, 2011, 03:55:39 PM »
Oh, and I don't have UAC on (I hate it! lol)

DocLotus

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What am I doing wrong?
« Reply #9 on: June 01, 2011, 08:03:29 PM »
I'm having similar problems in Win 7 (SP1).

I have my TaskBar on the top of the screen. Have always had problems with some ill-behaved programs not respecting the TaskBar location and sliding under the TaskBar like it is not even there. Seems these programs want to open to the very top of the screen.

I was hoping that Desktop Coral would once and for all resolve this problem but it does nothing in this case; some program still slide under the TaskBar.

Doc.

bgm1982

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: What am I doing wrong?
« Reply #10 on: August 29, 2011, 05:02:30 AM »
More information here, same bugs as above. DC runs at boot with admin privileges, not in compatability mode, on Windows 7 SP1. Not only is the dock not functional but I can't see it at all unless I Undock and reboot. Any news mouser?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,926
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: What am I doing wrong?
« Reply #11 on: August 29, 2011, 05:21:58 AM »
I'm just about to leave the door on a week-long trip -- but i will try to fix this when i get back -- there is no reason it shouldn't work fine on windows 7.