Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • February 26, 2017, 03:26:44 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)  (Read 131180 times)

kevlar_heart42

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #500 on: January 10, 2017, 09:27:16 AM »
Welcome to 2017!

I am having intermittent problems as other have stated: sWeather goes "blank" at times, reporting NO DATA for all locations (even Codyville!). I have found that a few refresh attempts restores the data. As I have no working knowledge of the Yahoo API, I am wondering if the call out (polling) to Yahoo is persistent enough to insure connection. Hey, it's only a weather program (and a fine one too), but it's just a thought.

Many thanks for the effort.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,715
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #501 on: January 10, 2017, 09:29:51 AM »
I am having intermittent problems as other have stated: sWeather goes "blank" at times, reporting NO DATA for all locations (even Codyville!).

I've noticed this as well and it's a Yahoo! Weather API issue.   >:(  Unfortunately, I can't do anything about it.    :(

Dogmeat

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #502 on: January 13, 2017, 12:54:41 PM »
I am having intermittent problems as other have stated: sWeather goes "blank" at times, reporting NO DATA for all locations (even Codyville!).

I've noticed this as well and it's a Yahoo! Weather API issue.   >:(  Unfortunately, I can't do anything about it.    :(

Does the auto-refresh timer reset when you manually refresh? The data loads properly when you manually refresh, so thinking maybe the auto-refresh is not waiting long enough for Yahoo (or whatever it is going to be called) to send the requested data? I noticed that there is a very pregnant pause when you manually refresh.

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,866
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #503 on: January 13, 2017, 01:08:59 PM »
Well, the Yahoo service has been very flaky for several weeks now, where earlier sWeather just refreshed fine. I'm also hoping that Yahoo gets its act together and just serves the data stable.

kevlar_heart42

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2014
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #504 on: January 25, 2017, 09:34:12 AM »
As of 2017-01-25, my sWeather isn't updating and it's interesting that the header says Thursday, January 1, 0:00 AM...so it's gone back all the way to 2015. Interesting. I'll give reinstallation a shot
sWeather.JPGRelease: sWeather (tray-based weather app)

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,866
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #505 on: January 25, 2017, 09:44:53 AM »
It is still the Yahoo service playing havock with all its users >:(
It seems that the server hosting the service is in a bootloop, providing service for a few minutes and then restarting all over again :down:

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,715
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #506 on: January 25, 2017, 04:33:35 PM »
As of 2017-01-25, my sWeather isn't updating and it's interesting that the header says Thursday, January 1, 0:00 AM...so it's gone back all the way to 2015. Interesting. I'll give reinstallation a shot

As Ath said, this behaviour is the the result of the Yahoo! site acting up.  Please don't bother reinstalling sWeather as that's not going to fix things.  Rest assured that, if the API changes, I'll do my best to fix things but this isn't one of those times.  There is nothing you can do except be patient with the Yahoo! service.

Mimori

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2015
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #507 on: February 23, 2017, 11:50:53 AM »
I've spotted a particularly interesting issue. It goes like this:

  • If the program is started while the system display is set to '16-bit High Colour', then the icons for 'Powered by Yahoo!', 'Click to View the Next Location', 'Click to view the Previous Location', 'Click to Refresh Weather Data', and 'Click to Show the Expanded View', all have a solid black field around them (as depicted in the first attached image). No other icons exhibit that behaviour.
  • If the display is then changed from '16-bit High Colour' to '32-bit True Colour' while the program is still running, the problem described above still remains as it is until the program is closed and re-run, at which point everything is normal.
  • If the program is started while the system display is set to '32-bit True Colour', and it is changed to '16-bit High Colour' while the program is still running, the problem never manifests (as depicted in the second attached image). If the program is closed and re-run, the problem appears as described in the first bullet point.

Most people will probably never encounter this problem, but I thought it was worth pointing out since there are some circumstances (however rare that circumstance may be -- for example, maybe on Windows Embedded with a display adapter that uses shared video memory) where the program may be started while the display is at 16-bit depth, and then a person will see that problem.

Location in the example images is chosen randomly.

sWeather-16bitdepth-01.pngRelease: sWeather (tray-based weather app)sWeather-16bitdepth-02.pngRelease: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Last Edit: February 23, 2017, 11:59:48 AM by Mimori »

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,715
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #508 on: February 23, 2017, 12:44:03 PM »
This is due to the fact that sWeather uses 32-bit PNG and ICO files with transparency.  If the user's computer is set to 16-bit colour, they will not display properly (as you discovered).