Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 24, 2014, 01:59:30 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Check out and download the GOE 2007 Freeware Challenge productivity tools.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 ... 12 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)  (Read 52878 times)
joiwind
Participant
*
Posts: 470


carpe momentum

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #75 on: May 09, 2011, 05:42:45 AM »

^ +2  Thmbsup
but still problems when coming out of sleep-mode...
Logged

.: I use K-Meleon - the browser you can control - but I love Pale Moon too :.
ewemoa
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,246



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #76 on: May 09, 2011, 04:16:29 PM »

but still problems when coming out of sleep-mode...
With respect to this, I've tested some code from:

  http://www.autohotkey.com/forum/topic21697.html

Some (lightly edited) relevant bits include:

[copy or print]
OnMessage(0x218, "DispatchOnResults")
Return

DispatchOnResults(wParam, lParam)
{
  If (lParam = 0)
  {
    ; PBT_APMSUSPEND or PBT_APMSTANDBY? -> System will sleep
    If (wParam = 4 OR wParam = 5)
    {
;
    }
    ; PBT_APMRESUMESUSPEND or PBT_APMRESUMESTANDBY? -> System wakes up
    If (wParam = 7 OR wParam = 8)
    {
;     
    }
  }
  Return
}

What is master skwire's opinion on this matter? Wink
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 3,912



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #77 on: May 09, 2011, 04:21:44 PM »

My opinion is one of, "is it really that big of a deal to manually refresh it?"  tellme Furthermore, just because a device comes out of hibernation doesn't guarantee that there is a network connection.
Logged

skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 3,912



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #78 on: May 09, 2011, 08:13:46 PM »

I just uploaded v1.0.8 build 2 with the standy/hibernate tweak.  I have it set so that, fifteen seconds after a resume from standby/hibernation, it will attempt a refresh.  After that, it will go back to the default hourly refresh.

joiwind/ewemoa, please let me know if this works.  Thanks.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2011, 08:14:40 PM by skwire; Reason: Fixed spelling error. » Logged

ewemoa
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,246



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #79 on: May 10, 2011, 09:18:11 AM »

Thanks for making this attempt.

I have 1.0.8 build 2 on two machines now and hope to report back with how it works before too long.


P.S. Sorry for taking a bit for getting back to you on this.
Logged
joiwind
Participant
*
Posts: 470


carpe momentum

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #80 on: May 10, 2011, 03:49:05 PM »

Thanks skwire - it works fine.
BTW I only mentioned the problem because it had been mentioned before ...  tongue
My opinion is one of, "is it really that big of a deal to manually refresh it?"  tellme Furthermore, just because a device comes out of hibernation doesn't guarantee that there is a network connection.
: perfectly true, it is no big deal but it is less annoying.
Logged

.: I use K-Meleon - the browser you can control - but I love Pale Moon too :.
ewemoa
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,246



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #81 on: May 10, 2011, 10:18:45 PM »

1.0.8 build 2 definitely feels nicer  Thmbsup

I'm puzzled though -- by the time the resuming from hibernation is complete and I can see the icons, they already seem to be updated.  Perhaps 15 or more seconds have already passed by that time...As I recall it, for previous builds, I'd often see an NA icon.  May be more observation / timing is in order on my end.

At any rate, thanks!


P.S. Perhaps the way I use PCs is a bit odd -- I've been putting them in to hibernation when I leave my seat and I don't have some ongoing network activity.  Resuming is something that typically occurs more than a couple times a day...
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 3,912



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #82 on: May 11, 2011, 12:58:46 AM »

Thanks for the testing and feedback, ewemoa & joiwind.  Much appreciated.  =]

Website | Download
v1.0.9 - 2011-05-11
    + sWeather will now attempt a refresh fifteen seconds after coming out of
      hibernation mode.  (Thanks, ewemoa & joiwind)
Logged

joiwind
Participant
*
Posts: 470


carpe momentum

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #83 on: May 11, 2011, 05:43:52 AM »

Perfectly working, thanks skwire.

One thing that has happened before here is that if the 'Start minimized' option is checked when loading the app then the main window appears only as a small vertical slice of the title bar - if unchecked then the window loads normally. But this may well be, and probably is, a local glitch !
Logged

.: I use K-Meleon - the browser you can control - but I love Pale Moon too :.
joiwind
Participant
*
Posts: 470


carpe momentum

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #84 on: May 13, 2011, 04:33:35 PM »

v 1.0.9 build 1 : doesn't seem to update the weather automatically...
Logged

.: I use K-Meleon - the browser you can control - but I love Pale Moon too :.
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 3,912



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #85 on: May 13, 2011, 07:22:07 PM »

Seems to work here fine.  Are you seeing this after a hibernation?  ewemoa, are you seeing this as well?
« Last Edit: May 13, 2011, 10:38:25 PM by skwire » Logged

ewemoa
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,246



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #86 on: May 13, 2011, 09:22:13 PM »

AFAICT, seems to be working fine here...at least I have not seen the NA icon in some time.
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 3,912



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #87 on: May 13, 2011, 10:38:46 PM »

AFAICT, seems to be working fine here...at least I have not seen the NA icon in some time.

And it seems to be updating hourly even after a hibernation, right?
Logged

ewemoa
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,246



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #88 on: May 14, 2011, 02:36:14 AM »

it seems to be updating hourly even after a hibernation, right?
I believe so.  Took screenshots of sWeather's main window once an hour four times, and they all showed different info.
Logged
joiwind
Participant
*
Posts: 470


carpe momentum

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #89 on: May 14, 2011, 10:03:52 AM »

skwire - it seems to happen only when the pop-up window is open and no difference if the window is in focus or not.
Logged

.: I use K-Meleon - the browser you can control - but I love Pale Moon too :.
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 3,912



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #90 on: May 14, 2011, 03:50:37 PM »

Hmmm...I cannot reproduce the issue.  I've left it open all day and it's updating just fine.   huh
Logged

joiwind
Participant
*
Posts: 470


carpe momentum

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #91 on: May 14, 2011, 05:00:16 PM »

I have to revise what I said - it does update but not regularly, but no big deal, please don't lose any sleep over this skwire... cheesy
Logged

.: I use K-Meleon - the browser you can control - but I love Pale Moon too :.
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 3,912



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #92 on: May 14, 2011, 05:25:27 PM »

Maybe you're experiencing the behaviour I describe in this post?

http://www.donationcoder....25940.msg243928#msg243928
Logged

joiwind
Participant
*
Posts: 470


carpe momentum

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #93 on: May 15, 2011, 04:17:11 PM »

I don't know skwire.
The pop-up window has been open on the desktop all day, it is now 23h15 here and the last update noted on the pop-up says 8h29 pm (i.e. 20h29).
Again, don't get grey hair over this !
Logged

.: I use K-Meleon - the browser you can control - but I love Pale Moon too :.
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 3,912



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #94 on: May 15, 2011, 04:20:10 PM »

And, if you refresh it manually, it updates?  (I have enough grey hair to go around  cheesy)
Logged

joiwind
Participant
*
Posts: 470


carpe momentum

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #95 on: May 15, 2011, 04:24:46 PM »

Sure, straightaway.
If you need any more grey hair just let me know, I've got enough too  cheesy
Logged

.: I use K-Meleon - the browser you can control - but I love Pale Moon too :.
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,700



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #96 on: June 19, 2011, 12:27:29 AM »

still loving sWeather  thumbs up

minor request: option to start up minimized to tray.
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 3,912



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #97 on: June 19, 2011, 12:36:15 AM »

still loving sWeather  thumbs up

minor request: option to start up minimized to tray.

Thanks, mouser.  As to your request, it's already in there. Check out the options dialog.   cheesy
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,700



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #98 on: June 19, 2011, 12:50:58 AM »

this is embarassing.. i'm several versions behind!

new version works great.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2011, 12:54:55 AM by mouser » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,700



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #99 on: September 26, 2011, 03:26:11 PM »

I'd like to request a small feature:

Add a menu item called "Change the Weather" and allow me to change the weather where I live.  Normally I will only be using this to eliminate rain, so I don't care too much about being able to generate rain and snow.  But it would be nice to be able to decrease the temperature in summer months. Thanks!
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 ... 12 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.041s | Server load: 0.06 ]