Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 04, 2016, 06:29:35 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)  (Read 123070 times)

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,778
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #425 on: April 13, 2016, 06:17:40 AM »
With the Yahoo updates and current sWeather release (1.6.3b1) even the 10 day forecast is working fine now from my work-location. :Thmbsup:

The old API seems to have died completely for my work-location, not even the current weather is shown. :down:

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,664
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #426 on: April 13, 2016, 12:53:55 PM »
New API seems to work well this morning - in fact for the last day I've been having problems with the old one and only just noticed your message. Hoorah!
With the Yahoo updates and current sWeather release (1.6.3b1) even the 10 day forecast is working fine now from my work-location. :Thmbsup:

The old API seems to have died completely for my work-location, not even the current weather is shown. :down:

Yep, it looks like Yahoo! have completely killed access to the old API so I've uploaded a new build makes the new API the default.  I'll leave the API option switch in for the time being but will probably take it out in a future release (unless Yahoo! bring back access to the old API -- yeah, right).  That said, the performance of the new API has remained very good for me for the past week or so.

kriskret

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #427 on: April 19, 2016, 10:23:52 AM »
This 1.5.9. build 1 doesn't work correctly on Windows 7. For example : shows - 12 *C --> Feels like +15*C . Also, errors- no choice to choose metric temperature and hPa - instead, shows mie in mBa. I sent you e-mail long 2 weeks ago or so, still no answer.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,664
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #428 on: April 19, 2016, 01:28:00 PM »
This 1.5.9. build 1 doesn't work correctly on Windows 7.

Please update to the latest (v1.6.5 currently).

click-click

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #429 on: May 06, 2016, 04:44:50 AM »
I have the latest version of sweather 1.6.5.1 and it has stopped working since a week or so ago.
I no longer get any data and everything is n/a. Also when I try a refresh, sweather more or less
hangs and takes a long time to recover, but still no data. I don't see any error msgs from sweather
either. Any ideas how to troubleshoot this?

 

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,664
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #430 on: May 06, 2016, 09:00:22 AM »
Hi, click-click, and welcome to the DonationCoder site.

I have the latest version of sweather 1.6.5.1 and it has stopped working since a week or so ago.
I no longer get any data and everything is n/a. Also when I try a refresh, sweather more or less
hangs and takes a long time to recover, but still no data. I don't see any error msgs from sweather
either. Any ideas how to troubleshoot this?

sWeather seems to be working for me.  Anybody else having issues?

A couple of things:

1) Are you positive you're running 1.6.5.1?
2) Do you get N/A for all locations?


Brothbeard

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2014
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #431 on: May 06, 2016, 10:23:36 AM »
Working fine for me too.

kriskret

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #432 on: May 06, 2016, 10:34:01 AM »
Still shows (example) : + 3*C Feels like +32*C  <-- what the stupidity.  Use Metric option doesn't show atmospheric pressure in proper way. (Windows 7). Before your update it was O'K.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,664
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #433 on: May 06, 2016, 10:36:01 AM »
Still shows (example) : + 3*C Feels like +32*C  <-- what the stupidity.  Use Metric option doesn't show atmospheric pressure in proper way. (Windows 7). Before your update it was O'K.

Which version of sWeather are you using?  Go to Help > About in the menu.

click-click

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #434 on: May 07, 2016, 05:38:25 AM »

sWeather seems to be working for me.  Anybody else having issues?

A couple of things:

1) Are you positive you're running 1.6.5.1?
2) Do you get N/A for all locations?

filever on the exe file shows 1.6.5.1
N/A for all locations.

I'm in Germany and I see sweather accessing 98.137.200.255:443, but nothing happens and eventually times out. I'm also running Win7-32bit. Sweather worked fine for a while in the beginning after upgrading, but now it's more or less dead. I also tried without ssl in the options and sweather wentt to 188.125.93.100:80, but still no data

Another thing is if I try to access the GUI before sweather is finished trying to get data, the GUI won't show until the timeout occurrs and then I get the the GUI below. None of the buttons will work.
sweather.jpg

« Last Edit: May 07, 2016, 06:18:51 AM by click-click »

silat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #435 on: May 22, 2016, 07:44:10 AM »
I have not been able to download a viable zip file from http://skwire.dcmemb...om/fp/?page=sweather. I have been trying for the last 2 days.
"All that serves labor serves the nation. All that harms labor is treason."  - Abraham Lincoln

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,320
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #436 on: May 22, 2016, 08:54:20 AM »
I have not been able to download a viable zip file from http://skwire.dcmemb...om/fp/?page=sweather. I have been trying for the last 2 days.

could be that the download is saved in the browser cache, so you keep getting the same corrupted download.
Try with a different browser, or try clearing the cache.
Tom

silat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #437 on: May 22, 2016, 04:47:58 PM »
I have not been able to download a viable zip file from http://skwire.dcmemb...om/fp/?page=sweather. I have been trying for the last 2 days.

could be that the download is saved in the browser cache, so you keep getting the same corrupted download.
Try with a different browser, or try clearing the cache.

Thanks.
Of course I tried all that before I posted:)
Still unable to get it.
2 different computers.
4 different browsers.
"All that serves labor serves the nation. All that harms labor is treason."  - Abraham Lincoln

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,320
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #438 on: May 22, 2016, 11:45:15 PM »
^ odd, the download worked fine for me yesterday.
Tom

Deozaan

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Points: 1
  • Posts: 7,713
    • View Profile
    • The Blog of Deozaan
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #439 on: May 23, 2016, 01:19:22 AM »
What's the MD5 hash of the file you're downloading? I just downloaded it and it appears to be working for me.

MD5: 77669563d6c10112c890bee0edcaaaaf

Size: 2.16MB (2,267,016 bytes)
Size on disk: 1.96MB (2,056,192 bytes)


Mal

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #440 on: May 24, 2016, 03:35:09 AM »
I downloaded the latest edition of SWeather.zip v1.6.5 build 1 but it doesn't have the "add" option.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,664
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #441 on: May 24, 2016, 09:43:08 AM »
Hi, Mal, and welcome to the DonationCoder site.

I downloaded the latest edition of SWeather.zip v1.6.5 build 1 but it doesn't have the "add" option.

The "add" what option?  If you mean adding a new location, do a search, and double-click the location you want to add.

Mal

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #442 on: May 24, 2016, 10:03:28 AM »
Hi, Mal, and welcome to the DonationCoder site.

I downloaded the latest edition of SWeather.zip v1.6.5 build 1 but it doesn't have the "add" option.

The "add" what option?  If you mean adding a new location, do a search, and double-click the location you want to add.
Thank you.

Yes, adding a location. The only options I see is Edit, Delete, Up, Down.

I'm working on Window 7 64 bit. Would that be a problem?

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,320
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #443 on: May 24, 2016, 10:10:07 AM »
^ not sure if it has changed,
but it's under:
menu: Options >Configure [F3]
Tom

Mal

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #444 on: May 24, 2016, 10:57:21 AM »
^ not sure if it has changed,
but it's under:
menu: Options >Configure [F3]
Whom are you responding to?

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,320
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #445 on: May 24, 2016, 11:29:00 AM »
^ not sure if it has changed,
but it's under:
menu: Options >Configure [F3]
Whom are you responding to?

sorry if not clear, the '^' meant I was responding to previous post, i.e. to you.
Once you've opened the configure dialogue, as skwire says:
"do a search, and double-click the location you want to add"
Tom

Mal

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #446 on: May 24, 2016, 11:46:19 AM »
^ not sure if it has changed,
but it's under:
menu: Options >Configure [F3]
Whom are you responding to?

sorry if not clear, the '^' meant I was responding to previous post, i.e. to you.
Once you've opened the configure dialogue, as skwire says:
"do a search, and double-click the location you want to add"
Oh, I get it. I thought I need the 'add' option to add a location. I went to the 'Lookup' option and typed in a city and it automatically listed all the cities in the world with this name and then selected it and don't even need the 'add' option. Wow! Lovely program. Thanks so much for your help.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,664
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #447 on: May 24, 2016, 12:47:33 PM »
Oh, I get it. I thought I need the 'add' option to add a location. I went to the 'Lookup' option and typed in a city and it automatically listed all the cities in the world with this name and then selected it and don't even need the 'add' option.

No worries, I can see how you the interface would be a bit confusing.  I'll find some time to integrate an add button.

Wow! Lovely program. Thanks so much for your help.

You're very welcome and thanks for your kind words.  Also, cheers to all who jump in on these threads to help me out.  =]

Mal

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #448 on: May 24, 2016, 01:23:18 PM »
Oh, I get it. I thought I need the 'add' option to add a location. I went to the 'Lookup' option and typed in a city and it automatically listed all the cities in the world with this name and then selected it and don't even need the 'add' option.

No worries, I can see how you the interface would be a bit confusing.  I'll find some time to integrate an add button.
I searched online how to use it and found some sites mentioning an "add" option above "edit". Because this option was missing, I mistakenly assumed that it doesn't work on my computer. But now everything is working fine and it's really a beautiful program. Thank you very much and good luck.

armus2112

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2016
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Release: sWeather (tray-based weather app)
« Reply #449 on: May 30, 2016, 11:02:50 AM »
Hi, I really love sweather. I had been using Mike Singer's 'Weather Watcher' for many years, but now that the older version no longer functions and the latest version requires is subscription model based, I was looking for an alternative.

I have one question please. v1.6.5.1.

See screenshot, I have the Refresh Time set to 15 min. I would expect the 'Updated:' to reflect a time within the last 15 minutes, but I am not seeing this. 'Updated' is showing a value over an hour old.

Thank you.sweather1.pngRelease: sWeather (tray-based weather app)