Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 06, 2016, 08:15:39 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: automatically restart in Safe Mode?  (Read 1495 times)

DocSavage

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Legend in my own mind
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
automatically restart in Safe Mode?
« on: March 01, 2011, 05:47:03 AM »
The question is in my head & I am asking for education from my friends at DC.
Sometimes I am troubleshooting a problem & would like to restart in Safe Mode. Is it possible to add a selection to the shut-down options to "restart in safe mode?" or is it an action that happens so early in the process that it cannot be controlled until Windows is truly running? like at root level...
maybe the ability to hold at the screen where one chooses options, like safe mode or with networking...
Or is it something that only Windows developers could include in their OS?
From believing in Santa to not believing in Santa, from being Santa to looking like Santa, I will never be younger than I am today!

timns

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,211
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: automatically restart in Safe Mode?
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2011, 09:37:11 AM »
You can use msconfig for this.

Go to Run, and type 'msconfig' - then go to the Boot tab when it starts. One of the options is "Safe boot"


DocSavage

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Legend in my own mind
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: automatically restart in Safe Mode?
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2011, 07:15:29 AM »
Aww...
I knew that! Slaphead moment. I have used msconfig for troubleshooting for years, just haven't used it for this.
Thanks for the quick and spot on reply :Thmbsup:
From believing in Santa to not believing in Santa, from being Santa to looking like Santa, I will never be younger than I am today!