Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 19, 2014, 10:56:09 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Learn about the DonationCoder.com microdonation system (DonationCredits).
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Any Ideas whats causing the Kernelbase.dll error?  (Read 1007 times)
nite_monkey
Member
**
Posts: 692


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: August 08, 2014, 02:23:12 PM »

I just installed the sims 4 create a sim demo, and every time I try to open it, it pops up with window's cryptic, unhelpful error messages.

Quote
Problem Event Name:   APPCRASH
  Application Name:   TS4CAS.exe
  Application Version:   1.0.233.190
  Application Timestamp:   02003040
  Fault Module Name:   KERNELBASE.dll
  Fault Module Version:   6.3.9600.17055
  Fault Module Timestamp:   532943a3
  Exception Code:   c0000005
  Exception Offset:   00012b82
  OS Version:   6.3.9600.2.0.0.256.48
  Locale ID:   1033
  Additional Information 1:   5861
  Additional Information 2:   5861822e1919d7c014bbb064c64908b2
  Additional Information 3:   d1d9
  Additional Information 4:   d1d94a13d3609d6b740644c12508f581

Does any of that make sense to anyone? I did a little research before posting here, and a few others have this issue too. One suggested uninstalling, and then reinstalling it, which did nothing for me.
Someone also suggested that it might be due to a corrupt user profile, so I created a brand new local admin profile, and had the same issue with that profile.

I'm running windows 8.1 pro x64. My computer also more than meets the system requirements for the demo. I'd really like to get this problem fixed, because I already pre-ordered the sims 4 several months ago, and I don't want to have the same thing happen to it.

edit: just looked in the event viewer.
Quote
Faulting application name: TS4CAS.exe, version: 1.0.233.190, time stamp: 0x02003040
Faulting module name: KERNELBASE.dll, version: 6.3.9600.17055, time stamp: 0x532943a3
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00012b82
Faulting process id: 0x1cac
Faulting application start time: 0x01cfb33e9604ffbd
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\The Sims 4 Create A Sim Demo\Game\Bin\TS4CAS.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\KERNELBASE.dll
Report Id: d5bc457b-1f31-11e4-825c-e06995eb7d97
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
« Last Edit: August 08, 2014, 02:35:47 PM by nite_monkey » Logged

[Insert really cool signature here]
Cuffy
Participant
*
Posts: 358

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2014, 03:36:05 PM »

I'm running the same OS.
My kernelbase.dll is dated 3/19/2014 with a byte count 1087kb if that helps.
 huh
Logged
nite_monkey
Member
**
Posts: 692


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2014, 03:52:58 PM »

well thats just strange. Is there anyway I can get a new one? (the install disk maybe?) the one in the system32 folder is 1.06MB
Logged

[Insert really cool signature here]
Stoic Joker
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 5,261



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2014, 03:59:05 PM »

1,087 / 1024 = 1.0615234375

Logged
nite_monkey
Member
**
Posts: 692


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2014, 04:00:36 PM »

1,087 / 1024 = 1.0615234375


I'm terrible with filesizes, so sue me, lol.
Logged

[Insert really cool signature here]
Cuffy
Participant
*
Posts: 358

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2014, 04:26:56 PM »

If your computer shows that dll file as 1.06mb in system32 it's not so hot at math either  cheesy

sfc/ scannow should find a new one but that doesn't seem to be your problem.

I'd call an expert from out of town???  huh
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,363



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2014, 05:37:39 PM »

the error is just telling you what DLL file it occurred in.  it does not mean there is a problem with that DLL.  and simply replacing DLLs is a great way to mess up your system even worse.  only replace a DLL file if it's clear you have an out of date version and you have a trusted source for a new one, and there is no better upgrade process that will do it for you.
Logged
Cuffy
Participant
*
Posts: 358

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2014, 06:31:16 PM »

Quote
I did a little research before posting here, and a few others have this issue too

Don't give away my secrets, please. cheesy

Since he's not the sole user with the same problem my query about the byte count was solely to determine if he had installed the "Spring update" for Win8.1.???
No update, many with the same issue, many haven't installed update, a clue perhaps?
sfc replaces any bad system files it finds. If you run sfc and allow it to replace files from a corrupt source you may wind up with more than one bad dll and you may crash your system. Your advice is sage, Grasshopper!  Thmbsup
Logged
nite_monkey
Member
**
Posts: 692


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2014, 10:39:51 PM »

I've ran sfc twice now, and it says it found corrupt files, but couldn't repair some of them. The log file makes about as much sense to me as the actual error. I'll post the log file tho if it will be helpful. I am usually pretty good about keeping my computer updated, but windows 8 is very unobtrusive about informing you that you have updates available. I'm not entirely sure what the spring update is tho. I have the start button at the left of the start bar, and the metro apps now have the minimize and x button on them, as well as showing up in the start bar. Is that from the spring update?
Logged

[Insert really cool signature here]
nite_monkey
Member
**
Posts: 692


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2014, 11:02:54 PM »

Well slap my Teletubby dvds (bonus points if anyone knows where that line is from) I ran it under xp SP3 compatibility with run as admin checked, and it works now. Which is interesting, because one of the first things I tried was selecting windows 7 compatibility with run as admin checked, and that didn't work. The sims 4 CAS demo is brand new, why is it that it will only run on xp, and not windows 8?
Logged

[Insert really cool signature here]
Shades
Member
**
Posts: 1,654


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: August 09, 2014, 12:10:58 AM »

Directx 10 is not supported in the game?

XP doesn't support Directx 10, so selecting that mode would revert back to Directx 9 allowing the game to run.

That would be my best guess.
Logged
nite_monkey
Member
**
Posts: 692


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2014, 12:32:56 AM »

Directx 10 is not supported in the game?

XP doesn't support Directx 10, so selecting that mode would revert back to Directx 9 allowing the game to run.

That would be my best guess.
That actually makes sense. I just relooked as the system requirements, and it said it needed a directx 9 compatible card.
Logged

[Insert really cool signature here]
Cuffy
Participant
*
Posts: 358

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: August 09, 2014, 12:37:36 AM »

http://www.zdnet.com/micr...spring-update-7000026632/


Windows 8.1 Update for x64-based Systems (KB2919355)

Installation date: ‎4/‎16/‎2014 1:47 PM

Installation status: Succeeded

Update type: Important

Windows 8.1 Update is a cumulative set of security updates, critical updates and updates. You must install Windows 8.1 Update to ensure that your computer can continue to receive future Windows Updates, including security updates. For a complete listing of the issues that are included in this update, see the associated Microsoft Knowledge Base article for more information. After you install this item, you may have to restart your computer.

More information:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2919355

Help and Support:
http://support.microsoft.com


Quote
Topic: Windows 8 Follow via: RSSEmail Alert
26
Comments
Microsoft officially acknowledges Windows 8.1 'spring' update
Summary: Microsoft execs have acknowledged publicly what's been rumored for months: An update to Windows 8.1 is coming to users this spring.

Mary Jo Foley
By Mary Jo Foley for All About Microsoft |   February 23, 2014 -- 13:01 GMT (05:01 PST)

For the first time publicly, Microsoft officials are acknowledging that the company is working on an update to Windows 8.1 that will be out this spring.

win81update1winsupersite
While we Microsoft watchers have been writing about the so-called Windows 8.1 Update 1 for months, and builds of the

If you ain't got the update you won't get future patches.

 Cool
Logged
nite_monkey
Member
**
Posts: 692


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: August 09, 2014, 12:55:00 AM »

Yeah, I'm all up to date now. I checked shortly after I got home from work. I only had one small update.
Logged

[Insert really cool signature here]
Cuffy
Participant
*
Posts: 358

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: August 09, 2014, 03:33:19 PM »

It appears that Shades has come up with your answer. Are you in the same forum, same ballgame, same ballpark or at the same latitude as the other users that reported the same, or a similar, problem?
Maybe you could verify with other uses what the problem was, or perhaps they found something additional that no one here discovered??
Just a thought!
 huh
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.042s | Server load: 0.1 ]