Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 17, 2014, 10:39:07 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2011! Download 30+ custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: How to capture window client area  (Read 3308 times)
LasseT
Participant
*
Posts: 3


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: February 21, 2011, 03:11:55 AM »

I really like Screenshot Captor but am missing a capture mode. Or maybe I just can't find it.
It's about capturing the window client/content area, i.e. without borders, menues etc.

I'm using the fixed size region mode to do it but its tedious. Its common in other capture programs to be able to do this so I'm a bit surprised to not be able to find it in such a rich capture program.

So, how do I find it? Or, if its not there, do you have any plans to add it?
Logged
Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,212



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2011, 03:15:11 AM »

I'd try 'Grab windows Object or Scrolling window (<your hotkey>)' to select the object you want, and press Ctrl-Primary-mouseClick to grab that. Depending on the type of Windows form/control it is or isn't able to select the object you want...
Logged

LasseT
Participant
*
Posts: 3


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2011, 05:10:55 AM »

Thanks. Just tried it but it didn't work in my case.
I suppose it means that it's the "...isn't able to select the object you want..." part of your reply that applies.

I hope it will be added to the program
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,089



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2011, 06:55:11 AM »

I really like Screenshot Captor but am missing a capture mode. Or maybe I just can't find it.
It's about capturing the window client/content area, i.e. without borders, menues etc.

you will have to enable redbox mode to capture those. refer screenshot below to see how it can be enabled.

Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,356



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2011, 09:26:05 AM »

As Lanux says, RedBox mode for object capture should be the solution.
Logged
Ath
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 2,212



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2011, 10:22:11 AM »

Well, on a lot of applications I can't get it to grab just the client area.
I can grab the separate controls like toolbars, listviews etc., and ofcourse the entire window, but not the complete area inside the window-border. AFAICS, that's what LasseT is asking for.
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,356



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2011, 10:46:18 AM »

can you guys give an example perhaps? of a program window you want to capture client area of, and what SC can grab and what you want it to grab?
Logged
LasseT
Participant
*
Posts: 3


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2011, 01:26:49 AM »

I already had redbox mode enabled.
It works fine if I capture e.g. Notepad. Just the client area.

I'll give you an example when it doesn't work.
I'm using Xming server and Putty to remotely control a device. The UI of the device is shown in a Xming window. This is the window I want to capture, without the Xming part, i.e. only the client area.
I've attached three captures.
The first (Project Options 001) is an object mode capture (ctrl-click). It shows the complete active window.
The second (Project Options 002) is a scrolling window mode capture (ctrl-shift-click). It shows a somewhat broken active window.
The third is a capture I've done with the PicPick Editor program. It succeeds in capturing the client area only.

I tried to insert the images in the text but they didn't show up in the preview so I skipped it. I hope you can see them



* Project Options 001 %2207.png (12.31 KB, 253x206 - viewed 110 times.)

* Project Options 002 %2207.png (10.29 KB, 247x173 - viewed 113 times.)

* Image 010.png (5.12 KB, 230x173 - viewed 119 times.)
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.037s | Server load: 0.02 ]