Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 25, 2016, 03:55:32 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...  (Read 7782 times)

AEN007

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Imagination is more important than knowledge
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
17February2011
Today I updated my (portable) 1.0.4.9 to 1.0.5.29 by only copying in the new Trout.exe - which has "solved" this problem that I have had with Trout in all releases since 1.0.4.9. What could be wrong with any of the other files in the release?

1.0.4.9 never skips on any of my mp3s whether at 32-24 or 128-48 ... but every Trout release after 1.0.4.9 has had an unacceptable playback "skip" problem. By only copying in the new Trout.exe, I seem to have "solved" the problem; but what could be wrong with any of the other files in the release?

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2011, 08:35:23 AM »
I'm going to bet it has something to do with the update to BASS v2.4.6.0 back at Trout v1.0.4 build 96.  I've just updated Trout to the latest BASS and all other plugins.  Give it a try and see if you still have the same issues.

AEN007

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Imagination is more important than knowledge
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2011, 04:41:35 PM »
It seems the new bass.dll (even with 1.0.5.30) is indeed guilty. I only play mp3s in Trout, so I don't/wouldn't know if any of the other dlls are flawed ... Is there some way you could contact the bass.dll people to bring this to their collective attention?
I could provide some mp3 files that generate the problem.
I do not think the mp3 files are the problem because no other mp3 player (whether software or a "pocket" mp3 player) "skips" when playing those mp3 files ...
In any case I hope that somehow this problem with Trout will become a thing of the past ... so I can stay fully current with Trout releases ...

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2011, 05:47:15 PM »
I could provide some mp3 files that generate the problem.

Can you post them somewhere?  Even though I don't seem to experience the problem, I can try to take a look.  When you say the song skips...what happens exactly?  Does the song just glitch for a moment and then keep playing?  Does it skip to the next track?


AEN007

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Imagination is more important than knowledge
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2011, 07:42:17 AM »
Here is a download link to one 51 minute mp3»
http://www.divshare....ownload/14107073-ff2
(Right now I have a lousy internet connection where I am staying, so I can't do better right now than posting this one mp3) Like I mentioned (in my post at your website I guess) this skip problem is NOT on every(all) mp3(s) ... only a some/many ... For example, the posted mp3 is part of a playlist with 30 mp3s and nearly all of them "skip" with the new bass.dll.  It is not easy to describe the "skip" sound, but it is unmistakable. It is not skipping to the next track... Trout with bass.dll 2.4.2.3 does NOT skip during this mp3 but with bass.dll 2.4.6.0 does (always) "skip" during this track ...
I do not think the mp3 files are the problem because no other mp3 player (whether software or a "pocket" mp3 player) "skips" when playing those mp3 files ...

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2011, 08:40:47 AM »
Here is a download link to one 51 minute mp3»
http://www.divshare....ownload/14107073-ff2

I cannot seem to find an actual download link on that site.  I can stream it via their Flash player but I can't download it.  Do I need to create an account to be able to download it?

worstje

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 571
  • The Gent with the White Hat
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2011, 09:18:09 AM »
skwire, I found a download link under Share/Embed options. Does that work?

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2011, 09:22:06 AM »
Thanks, worstje.  I found that as well but it's the same link as the one provided in the post.

AEN007

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Imagination is more important than knowledge
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2011, 11:24:15 AM »
SORRY ... I had to uncheck the "Do not allow downloads" in my user settings at that account ... the link should allow downloading now!

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2011, 11:39:16 AM »
Thanks, I have the file now.  Does it skip at the same time each playback?  As much as I like Santana, fifty-one minutes is a long time to listen...  =]

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2011, 01:16:07 PM »
I listened to the whole track but didn't hear anything out of the ordinary.  However, try the latest build (1.0.5.36) and see if that fixes anything.  If you'd like, feel free to contact me via instant messenger since it might be easier to troubleshoot this in realtime.

http://skwire.dcmemb...wb/pages/contact.php


AEN007

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Imagination is more important than knowledge
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #11 on: February 20, 2011, 03:15:56 AM »
20Feb2011
Greetings.
My "multimedia machine" (MM) is now my PII 233mHz 160mb RAM laptop from 1998 (now with XPP and a 250gb HDD). I have been working for the last few years to squeeze every bit of functionality out of it - and can't believe how much progress I have made! I play MM files on it while I work on my more modern/powerful XP laptops.

I use SpectrumLab http://www.qsl.net/dl4yhf/spectra1.html
as my spectrum analyzer - now with Trout as my mp3 player.
Trout's features with low CPU usage are great; however, I only use Trout on my PII because the PII's CPU usage limits require low CPU usage software.

I played the mp3 sample on my P4 1.8gHz 1gb RAM laptop with XPP (and two internal HDDs ...). When I played the mp3 in Trout with bass.dll 2.4.6.0, I heard the "skip" at 1:40 & 1:55 & 2:10 & 2:28; HOWEVER, when I played the mp3 in Trout with bass.dll 2.4.7.1, I did NOT hear the "skip"! so ... that seems to be GOOD NEWS. I played the mp3 again in Trout with bass.dll 2.4.6.0 and heard the "skip" again at the same times ... in case you are curious to try that ...

I have another question here»
http://www.hydrogena...wtopic=83558&hl=

One of the MM players I use is JetAudio.
I really like the (OLD) 122C custom GUI/skin someone made.
It has a nice spectrum analyzer. (I have always had to have spectrum analyzers when I play audio - in my old HiFi, in my cars & now on my PCs...). Anyway, every mp3 player (except JA) has less CPU usage with mp3 at lower bitrates. (That is not, however, why I made - years ago - many mp3s at lower bitrates. I have found that keeping the sample rate at a minimum of 24khz is important. 22050 is noticeably worse than 24kHz ... Lower bitrate mp3s at 24kHz ofter require low-pass filtering when encoding. I use Lame Front-End http://www.pazera-so...ucts/lame-front-end/)
Anyway, on my PII JA plays 128/44.1 mp3s at about 50% CPU usage but plays 96/32 or 48/24 or 32/24 mp3s at 100% CPU usage - which causes playback lockup.

I'm not sure why JA does that? I can only guess that JA resamples the 32/24 kHz mp3s to 44.1 which causes the much higher CPU usage?  I would like to "solve" this problem somehow/sometime ...
Any ideas?

Many thanks & kudos in any case ...
Regards,
AEN
Æ

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #12 on: February 20, 2011, 04:20:07 AM »
I played the mp3 sample on my P4 1.8gHz 1gb RAM laptop with XPP (and two internal HDDs ...). When I played the mp3 in Trout with bass.dll 2.4.6.0, I heard the "skip" at 1:40 & 1:55 & 2:10 & 2:28; HOWEVER, when I played the mp3 in Trout with bass.dll 2.4.7.1, I did NOT hear the "skip"! so ... that seems to be GOOD NEWS. I played the mp3 again in Trout with bass.dll 2.4.6.0 and heard the "skip" again at the same times ... in case you are curious to try that ...

Confirmed.  I can hear the skip in BASS 2.4.6.0 and not with BASS 2.4.7.1.  So, issue solved?

Anyway, on my PII JA plays 128/44.1 mp3s at about 50% CPU usage but plays 96/32 or 48/24 or 32/24 mp3s at 100% CPU usage - which causes playback lockup.

I'm not sure why JA does that? I can only guess that JA resamples the 32/24 kHz mp3s to 44.1 which causes the much higher CPU usage?  I would like to "solve" this problem somehow/sometime ...
Any ideas?

I really have no idea, sorry.  I'm far from being some super audio expert or some super professional programmer.  The fact that Trout has such low CPU usage is more a testament to Chris Mallett and Ian Luck than my programming skills.  They're the authors of AutoHotkey and the BASS library, respectively.  I'm glad Trout has found a niche role on your older laptop; I've had several reports from users that they're able to use Trout in that way as well as on machines running Windows 95 and 98.

Thanks for your testing, feedback and patience.

AEN007

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Imagination is more important than knowledge
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #13 on: February 21, 2011, 03:01:10 AM »
So, issue solved?
It seems to be solved ... for now anyway.
Does anyone know what the problem/fix was?
I hope this problem doesn't resurface later!

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #14 on: February 21, 2011, 07:37:11 AM »
Does anyone know what the problem/fix was?

The new BASS DLL fixed the issue.

AEN007

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Imagination is more important than knowledge
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #15 on: February 21, 2011, 02:46:50 PM »
but does anyone know what was wrong with the intermediate bass.dlls?

Ath

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,751
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #16 on: February 21, 2011, 02:54:28 PM »
but does anyone know what was wrong with the intermediate bass.dlls?
They (development team) screwed something up. What's not clear yet? For more details you'll probably need the VCS logs or the original dev audio-recordings when they fixed it...

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #17 on: February 21, 2011, 03:38:27 PM »
but does anyone know what was wrong with the intermediate bass.dlls?

Yes, there was a thread on the BASS forums describing your issue.  Ian Luck, the BASS developer, fixed the issue.

AEN007

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Imagination is more important than knowledge
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #18 on: February 22, 2011, 11:01:46 AM »
I took a look (for the first time) at the BASS website/forum.
I could not tell at first glance which thread is relevant to this thread.
Wouldn't mind if someone could/would post the hyperlink ...
Thank you.
Regards,
AEN
Æ

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member

AEN007

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Imagination is more important than knowledge
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #20 on: February 22, 2011, 11:23:30 AM »
THANKS ... AGAIN
When I click on the link in Firefox, the un4seen BASS forum starts to load the thread then goes to the un4seen home page. I had to switch to Opera ... again ... Is there some compatibility problem(s) between Firefox & dc.com? forum?

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,629
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #21 on: February 22, 2011, 11:28:34 AM »
THANKS ... AGAIN
When I click on the link in Firefox, the un4seen BASS forum starts to load the thread then goes to the un4seen home page. I had to switch to Opera ... again ... Is there some compatibility problem(s) between Firefox & dc.com? forum?

Not that I'm aware of.  I use FF almost exclusively...

bob99

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 339
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #22 on: February 22, 2011, 11:33:54 AM »
I'm running FF 3.6.13 and having no problems bringing up links posted on the site.  In regards to your other thread and you not being able to post with an attachment using FF.  I have not encountered this problem either.  Hopefully someone will have some suggestions to assist you with this.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #23 on: February 22, 2011, 11:34:13 AM »
I don't think this is related to DC, if you copy and paste the link, the link on the URL bar also changes to their homepage (even though the page is correct)

AEN007

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2011
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Imagination is more important than knowledge
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Trout 1.05x playback now "skips" often; 1.0.4.9 never did/does ...
« Reply #24 on: March 01, 2011, 01:38:50 PM »
20Feb2011
Greetings.
I have another question here»
http://www.hydrogena...wtopic=83558&hl=
1March2011
It seems I may have found the/a resolution to this 100% CPU usage problem with mp3s at less than 128&44.1 ...
... but then again maybe not ...
« Last Edit: March 08, 2011, 09:32:04 AM by AEN007 »