Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 02:20:07 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: How to cleanse a playlist, for dublicates?  (Read 4006 times)

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,091
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
How to cleanse a playlist, for dublicates?
« on: February 10, 2011, 10:50:43 AM »
I totally blame our Darwin for this new problem of mine! He lured me into removing a lot of programs, and now I need to re-install one of them - I just cannot remember which one! Hmm... maybe Darwin is not really the one to blame, after all. Well, to be honest, Darwin is not to blame for this. Sorry, Darwin!
--------------------
>>>

I made a playlist, but forgot where I was and accidentally added a lot of the same files twice. Windows Media Player doesn't offer to find any duplicates, so now I have to ask you guys, what program can I use to cleanse a playlist, for duplicates, please?! I really don't want to install a lot of players just to see if they can do it...

:tellme:

m3u or wpl, preferable.

Vista 32-bits

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,666
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to cleanse a playlist, for dublicates?
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2011, 11:18:32 AM »
I know Winamp had this feature, but now days, I am a Trout user, which also has this feature, although I don't think it works for m3u or wpl.

ha14

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 275
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to cleanse a playlist, for dublicates?
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2011, 11:42:46 AM »

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,091
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to cleanse a playlist, for dublicates?
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2011, 11:53:52 AM »
It is just me being brain damaged. Open the playlist in jetAudio, click "sort according to title", and slowly scroll down the re-sorted list: any one listed twice?
Sorry I took your time.  :-[

I have a license for WinAmp Pro 5, so Thank You, ha14, for the link, but I don't want to install WinAmp again on this computer. Besides, >The requested URL /customize/component/2010/4/8/P/plCleaner2.0.exe was not found on this server.< Do you have a copy?
« Last Edit: February 10, 2011, 11:55:54 AM by Curt »

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to cleanse a playlist, for dublicates?
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2011, 07:11:03 AM »
if you haven't solved the problem yet, you can use Skwire's PlayTime. Load an m3u or wpl, sort, remove the duplicates and save.


http://skwire.dcmemb...oftware/playtime.php

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,091
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to cleanse a playlist, for dublicates?
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2011, 08:40:09 AM »
PlayTime is almost ingenious, but not quite for this job. It doesn't offer to auto-remove duplicates, and it will only list file names, not track names. So, if I have the same number added from two different folders (Original Album, and Best Of), it will not be spotted. But, Thank You ;-)

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to cleanse a playlist, for dublicates?
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2011, 09:10:55 AM »
my pardon to be wide off-mark but allow me to try again. :) you may have noticed app's mentioning of Trout, which is Skwire's magnum opus. you can load a playlist (tpl,m3u,pls,wpl), choose to remove duplicates and save the playlist. hth..


http://www.donationc...ex.php?topic=16157.0

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,666
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to cleanse a playlist, for dublicates?
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2011, 09:13:18 AM »
my pardon to be wide off-mark but allow me to try again. :) you may have noticed app's mentioning of Trout, which is Skwire's magnum opus. you can load a playlist (tpl,m3u,pls,wpl), choose to remove duplicates and save the playlist. hth..

Unfortunately, it removes duplicates based off of path and it doesn't save to m3u or wpl so I don't think it would help Curt much.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to cleanse a playlist, for dublicates?
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2011, 10:30:55 AM »
lol, shows how much i know about the program.. :-[

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,666
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to cleanse a playlist, for dublicates?
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2011, 10:38:15 AM »
lol, shows how much i know about the program.. :-[

Well, to be fair, I really ought to add at least M3U writing support.  =]  Trout can read most major formats like M3U, WPL, ASX etc.  It only writes to its native TPL format, though. 

ha14

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 275
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to cleanse a playlist, for dublicates?
« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2011, 10:45:23 AM »
Hi Curt

Quote
I have a license for WinAmp Pro 5, so Thank You, ha14, for the link, but I don't want to install WinAmp again on this computer. Besides, >The requested URL /customize/component/2010/4/8/P/plCleaner2.0.exe was not found on this server.< Do you have a copy?

Sorry dont have it, possible winamp forum can be of help; i searched through the net and cant see it anyware.